We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a very nice spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Newport

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Newport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Newport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Goat Island, Newport, RI 02840   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #11 of 20 hotels in Newport
GreenLeadersBronze level
Staten Island, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“It's a very nice spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

One of the nicest hotels in Newport area. Restaurants are very good. Rooms are spacious and clean. Leave car there and take taxi's around town, but be careful about return times. I love Newport and was very happy with this property. I would stay here again (not my first time here at this hotel). The right room gets you a nice view of the harbor and the bay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith C, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Newport, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Guest~

What a wonderful review! Thank you for taking the time to post your compliments on TripAdvisor and most of all thank you for being a return customer, we appreciate it!

Regards,

Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    246
    276
    154
    82
    41
See reviews for
202
339
19
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Our hotel room was smaller than we would have liked and the carpet could have used a shampoo. However, the room was quiet, the location excellent, the service very good, and the breakfast superb! The breakfast waitress, Kate, was the best!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith C, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Newport, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Guest~

Thank you for commenting on the breakfast served at the Hyatt Regency Newport Hotel & Spa and especially for singling out Kate, your waitress. She will be thrilled to read this; thank you again!

I am sorry you felt the room was on the small side; however, based on availability our staff is always receptive to relocating guests upon request but it is unclear from your positing if that request was made.

Thank you again for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor!

Regards,

Keith Chouinard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Fantastic stay in Newport. The hotel is clean and comfortable and has all of the resort amenities. The outdoor saltwater pool overlooks the bay( what a view) great lunch at pineapples outdoor bar. The breakfast buffet was great especially the baked goods. The corner hotel room had a 180 degree panorama of the bay from bridge to Newport. AAA breakfast package was a great value! Don't stay anywhere else in Newport!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith C, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Newport, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Guest~

What a wonderful posting! Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience with other readers, it is greatly appreciated.

Regards,

Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wenham, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

We were really excited to stay in a great room at this resort. Had reserved a bi-level suite but changed rooms when we arrived. The bedroom on 2nd floor had a view of the Hyatt sign. Living area on first floor had ocean views but had a very strange layout. Overall room had the feel of an outdated ski condo. Downgraded to a deluxe waterview balcony room and we were able to enjoy great water views... But the room just wasn't very nice. BUT, the spa was fantastic. Great lounge to await your treatments. I had an amazing massage (cured my tennis elbow!) and then a great mani-pedi with gorgeous views of the water. Overall, great property... Just not a great place to stay. Ill stay in town next time and travel over to the spa.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith C, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Newport, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Guest~

Thank you for your recent posting on our Stillwater Spa. We do get rave reviews regarding the spa services offered to our guests and I will certainly share yours with the Spa staff, they will be thrilled to receive this.

I am sorry that your room did not meet your expectations. We do have numerous bi-level suites in various sections of our hotel and many have different views. I am sorry you were disappointed in the first one you occupied but pleased that you did change rooms and enjoyed great waterviews after all.

Your comments are appreciated and I thank you for taking the time to submit this posting.

Regards,

Keith Chouinard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Hyatt Newport the location and view from room was great, pulling up to the front entrance was not easy it has a small traffic circle for cars to pull up but not a lot of room to move can be tricky to get around. The noise from the hallway seems loud especially when guest are opening and closing doors, the doors slam shut. the room itself was nice and clean, bathroom was nice and clean but the bathroom has a wall with 2 frosted glass panels which are about 12 inches wide and 3 ft long that are on the wall which separates the main room front bathroom not sure if all rooms have this on the bathroom wall. When someone is in the bathroom you can see the. Movement and when someone goes into the bathroom at night the whole room light up from the light coming through the glass panels,

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith C, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Newport, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Guest~

Thank you for your recent posting on TripAdvisor; it is appreciated. Your comments regarding the front entrance have been noted. Especially during busy check-ins, this area can get crowded; however, our valet staff does a great job in receiving our guests and clearing the area rather quickly.

Many of the guestrooms do have the frosted glass panels which separates the bedroom from the bathroom. When we do renovate again in the future we will certainly take this feedback under advisement with regards to the light; thank you for sending this along.

It was a pleasure hosting you and hope you have the opportunity to visit us again soon!

Regards,

Keith Chouinard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sausalito, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband, one-year-old and I just spent a few nights here at the end of a long vacation with our extended family. It was exactly what we needed: swimming pools, really good hotel food and close to the sights of Newport.

Some highlights for us were:
*The outdoor swimming pool - we spent a day here just relaxing and eating lunch poolside.
*The indoor swimming pool - our son loved this pool. Had a quick dip everyday before his nap.
*The food - what a pleasant surprise that every meal was good! We had breakfast twice, lunch
by the pool once, dinner on the deck twice and dinner on the patio at Pineapples once.
*The sunsets and scenery - gorgeous!
*The activities - this was another unexpected bonus. My husband enjoyed the bike outing.
*The front desk staff - so helpful when checking in. We really appreciated the help from a young woman with reddish hair. (Wish we had her name).
*The boat taxi across the water - This was so relaxing! What a great way to get to town. Kudos to Ralph for being a great 'taxi driver'! Unfortunately the boat was out of commission the 2nd day we tried to take it.

We personally had a 5-circle experience. The only reason I don't rate it a 5 is because the room showed a slight bit of wear and tear. I also wouldn't necessarily recommend it to everyone, such as a couple looking for a quiet, romantic getaway. But it is a wonderful place for families with kids of all ages!

Room Tip: We had a room in the 'Captain's' section that overlooked the water. It is further away f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branford, Connecticut
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This property is not what I have been used to when staying at a Hyatt property. This is an old hotel that was updated by Hyatt. I think it was a better hotel when it was a Sheraton property.
Even though the hotel was not as nice as i was expecting the location is very nice and most of the staff was pleasant. The manager, however, needs a few lessons in "customer service".
I probably wouldn't choose to stay at this property again.

Room Tip: Be sure to make a request for a view of the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Newport

Address: 1 Goat Island, Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Newport
#4 Spa Hotel in Newport
#6 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#7 Business Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Newport 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An island retreat, surrounded by water views, just minutes to downtown Newport. 257 elegantly appointed guestrooms. Activities Department, indoor pool and only outdoor hotel pool in Newport, fitness center, full service Stillwater Spa. Van shuttle and seasonal water taxi to heart of Newport. Year round waterfront dining, seasonal restaurant and lounge area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Amex, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Hyatt Regency Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Newport Hotel Newport
Newport Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Newport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.