We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value in walking distance of historic Newport” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Newport

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Newport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Newport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Goat Island, Newport, RI 02840   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #11 of 20 hotels in Newport
GreenLeadersBronze level
Beacon, New York
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Good value in walking distance of historic Newport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Stayed here a long weekend, short stay to check out the local "cottages" and stroll around the historic districts in Newport.
This hotel is situated on a small island known as Goat Island, and as such is somewhat "away from it all", but mostly in a good way.
Service was good, there was wine tasting in the lobby, always a good thing, the hotel is in walking distance of some great historic streets, an a few blocks more there are plenty of dining choices, as well as fudge shops, ice cream shops, seafood & more.
Overall a fun destination.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith C, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Newport, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Guest:

We appreciate your recent review on TripAdvisor. Indeed we are an island retreat within downtown Newport. Everything is steps away from our location and guests truly enjoy our complimentary shuttle service to the heart of downtown. The wine tasting you refer to in your review is part of our Activities line up which is complimentary to our guests.

Thank you again for your great feedback and please come back again soon!

Keith Chouinard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

807 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    248
    280
    155
    83
    41
See reviews for
205
341
19
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This was my third time staying at this hotel. It was last renovated in roughly 2008 but it is still a nice, modern hotel with excellent service. It is not as close to the city as some hotels but it makes up for it with the ocean front location, pool (with cabana bar) and numerous activities. It also has a shuttle that goes into town but it only runs twice an hour (Forget trying to get a cab, it is not easy)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith C, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Newport, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Hello, We really appreciate it when repeat guests post on TripAdvisor, we are so pleased that you chose us for a third visit!

Our shuttle service to the downtown areas is a great amenity for our guests and you are correct, taxis are very difficult to procure, especially on weekends. We tell our guests to plan ahead because of this common problem with the taxi companies. Pedi cabs have become quite popular so many of our guests utilize them.

It is a pleasure to have you as our guest and thank you again for the repeat business.

Keith Chouinard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

They were so understaffed for the long weekend that the service was abysmal (excepting for the valets and front desk). We had to wait by the bar for a half hour, then waited on the deck for a half hour for a drink and finally went back to the bartenender. Waitresses kept walking by without looking up. The pool area was just as bad with the staff upset that you thought you may want a drink by the bar because we heard "Do you realize there are people ahead of you?" Service and courtesy training,which we are accustomed to, were non existent. Disappointed to say the least!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith C, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Newport, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor. Needless to say I was disappointed to read that service was less than satisfactory during your stay with us. Because of the great weather we had the weekend following July 4th, our outdoor pool and bar was extremely busy. While we had ample staff on hand there was still a wait for guests for both bar and restaurant service. It seems like everyone wanted to dine outdoors that day! We take these comments very seriously and share with all of our staff so we can make things better.

It was a pleasure hosting you and hope you have the opportunity to return soon!


Keith Chouinard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

While the facility was very nice and on par with what I have come to expect from Hyatt, the service was not up to usual standards. Check-in and check-out were frustrating. We had to wait a long time, it seems due to confusion with several guests' reservations. When it was out turn, we found out our room was not yet ready. No problem since we were early. However, when we came back, they seemed to have no recollection of our previous check-in and we were put in a different room than the one we reserved (hypo-allergenic). It took two different people to clear up the confusion. Check-out had similar problems. We received the wrong bill (for another guest) and it took about 10 minutes to resolve.

On the plus side, all of the staff were friendly and accommodating. The food in the restaurant was very good, as was the service.

We would stay here again, but caution travelers to check your reservation and your bill.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith C, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Newport, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for your compliments towards our staff and restaurant food and service, that is greatly appreciated!

I do apologize for the delay during check-in. It appears from your comments that guests in front of you had some issues with their reservation. Most often we have a fully staffed front desk so I am surprised for the wait. It sounds as though you had a similar wait at check-out due to a billing error; again my apologies.

Feedback like this is very important as it helps us to make improvements where necessary, thank you again for taking the time to submit your posting.

Keith Chouinard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Our first impression was of a friendly staff giving extra effort to accommodate. The hotel itself struck me as being State of the Art 1970's styling. Most rooms have been renovated. Our room was in the Captain's Quarters part of the hotel- medium higher end - (we were told of 2 level suites but they were not available). We had a bay view- felt like looking off the balcony of a cruise ship (narrow walkway below and then water all around.) The mattress was comfy- multiple pillows with different textures on the bed.

Breakfast was included with the room we booked. Though a menu is available to order from, the buffet is well maintained with a nice selection including fresh fruit & tasty Berries. Nova Lox! Omelette and waffle prepared to order, appetizing muffins and pastry- very friendly staff & surrounded by water with view of little sailboats anchored all around.

The resort fee ($35/day) went towards shuttle, Internet access, 2 bottles of water & usage of equipment such as bicycles- most days we used those bikes which were decent and well maintained-very convenient! The shuttle drivers were very friendly & helpful with local information. The 2 seat taxi-bikes, scattered around town, are no charge except gratuity. [we didn't use our car once during our 4 night stay- it was parked in the garage the whole time-no charge-- no need to valet it - though that's only $5 per day]

The business center was like a private office to me. Odd that they include free wireless in room but charge $6 per 15 minutes + about 75 cents per printed page to use computers in the business center. (when I asked why they charge in the business center I was told there is an outside vender that maintains this room](boarding pass printing is free).

The pool looked family oriented. We preferred to sit in well padded furniture on a nearby deck.(considered part of the lounge so you must eat or have a cocktail to spend time in this comfy seating area- an umbrella or other source of shade would have been appreciated during the hot, sunny afternoon.)

For $15 I had access to the spa locker & shower area with sauna, throughout the whole stay- helps to maintain marital bliss. My wife used the room's shower and dressing area. I cleaned up my act in the spa area's 8 x 8 foot shower with hand held. Use of a restful quiet room and private deck was included in the fee ($10 per day, but if staying for a few days, the $15 is a great investment.) Heated towels and robes included.

Though some aspects of the hotel could be updated, the convenience, friendly & helpful staff, use of bikes, & beautiful water views combine to make this a top choice for a hotel stay while visiting Newport. (If you want to experience Newport sailing and the view from the water- the Aquidneck schooner is the way to go)

Room Tip: Water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith C, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Newport, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Hello, Thank you for your very impressive posting on TripAdvisor. Your comments were very concise and to the point offering great descriptions of our services! This serves as a great tool for future guests reading these postings; thank you again!

Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, USA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We spent a couple of days here in June on our summer road trip vacation. The service was friendly,concierge good at recommendations. Shuttle to downtown was very convenient. Restaurant at breakfast was a little disorganized on both days. Food ran out, staff didn't know what to do. Great views of the water from the room as well as the pool and outdoor bar.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith C, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Newport, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Hello, Your recent comments are greatly appreciated following your visit to the Hyatt Regency Newport Hotel & Spa. My personal thanks for commenting on our friendly concierge and convenient van shuttle to downtown.

My apologies for the service at breakfast. Our hotel was very busy following the July 4th weekend and we did our best to keep up with the influx of guests we had for breakfast that weekend. Thank you for the feedback!

Thank you again and I hope you return to our City by the Sea again soon!

Keith Chouinard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

The Hyatt is a decent hotel in a great location on the bay. While it is a short ride to downtown, it's location on the bay is spectacular. We stayed a couple of days. The staff was nice, the valet was great, the shuttle drivers were very personable and polite, and the restaurant staff was super. We ate out on the porch one night and the food was good. I had the flat bread pizza and my wife had a salad with scallops and shrimp. The shrimp and scallops were large and grilled nicely.

My overall impression of this hotel is while it's a little worn it's a nice place to stay in Newport if you can get a good price.

Room Tip: Ask for a water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith C, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Newport, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to rank our hotel and submit your feedback about your stay. Our views are part of what makes the Hyatt Newport special. Dining on our back porch is a great way to treat your taste buds while taking in the sunset, lit up Newport Bridge and passing sail boats. Please come back and visit again soon.

Keith Chouinard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Newport

Address: 1 Goat Island, Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Newport
#4 Spa Hotel in Newport
#6 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#7 Business Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Newport 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An island retreat, surrounded by water views, just minutes to downtown Newport. 257 elegantly appointed guestrooms. Activities Department, indoor pool and only outdoor hotel pool in Newport, fitness center, full service Stillwater Spa. Van shuttle and seasonal water taxi to heart of Newport. Year round waterfront dining, seasonal restaurant and lounge area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Hyatt Regency Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Newport Hotel Newport
Newport Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Newport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.