We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Newport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Newport to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Newport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Goat Island, Newport, RI 02840   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Newport
GreenLeadersBronze level
Westchester County, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful Property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Hyatt Regency Newport is a great hotel on a beautiful property. The staff was friendly, the room was clean and nice. The hotel offered transportation to and from Bowen's Wharf by boat and shuttle bus. We used the indoor pool and outdoor pool during our stay. The outdoor pool area was beautiful with waitress service to order beverages and food. The hotel offered several kids activities throughout the day. The Hyatt Newport had several weddings going on during our stay, but it never interfered with our stay. We would definitely come back again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    293
    169
    85
    43
See reviews for
211
360
22
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I stayed at this hotel as I was in town for a wedding held at the hotel. I stayed two nights and was thankful that I was checking out after only two days. I travel for about 16 weeks per year for work. My expectations are not high as I am 24 years old and would not consider myself to be high matainence, however this hotel wouldn't meet the standards of a super 8 motel. When checking in we were surprised with a "resort fee" that covered wi-fi that didn't work, replenish able water bottles that were not replenished and a shuttle to shops that were within walking distance. The valet service, while only $5 a day was a waste of money as it took 45 mins to get my car. The front desk was kind of rude when I brought it up. While enjoying the fireplace on the outdoor patio with friends after a great wedding, an employee walked up and said "It's midnight I have to turn this off." It was only 11:45 and we were paying guests. This hotel is a joke and does not live up to the standards of any respectable resort nor any respectable hotel. For $300 a night, plus a "resort fee" I expect a decent stay. To top off my stay, I found a cockroach in my bathroom. Maybe because the room wasn't cleaned until 6:00 pm? Still haven't heard from the hotel in response to my feedback.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We had an enjoyable 3-day stay at the Hyatt Newport in early June. The Goat Island ( yes, there were goats on the island at one time) location is excellent, providing views of Narragansett Bay and the impressive Newport (Pell) bridge on one side, and the harbor on the other.

Marie at the front-desk was warm and friendly and started our visit off on the right foot by giving us an upgrade to a top-floor room, affording magnificent views. Throughout our stay, we were very impressed by the warmth and efficiency of the staff. While we did not have multi-course meals at the restaurants, the snacks and drinks that we had ticked all the boxes. One afternoon, the resident mixologist served up zingy jalapeno cilantro margaritas in the lobby, very welcome indeed.

The shuttle from the hotel to Bowen's Wharf runs every half-hour, the drive takes 5 minutes. An easy walk to town would take about 15-20 minutes depending on how far you are going.

The hotel grounds are well-maintained, with a walking path around the water's edge with benches where one can look out over the bay. The only drawbacks, prompting a 4 rather than a 5 rating, are the rather tired-looking rooms ( particularly the pokey bathrooms), and the fact that many of the complimentary amenities on offer were not in fact available.

We would certainly come back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainsboro, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Huge thanks and kudos to Steven James, the best Senior Catering Sales Manager who along with his staff including Kendal, Megan and Jane, and Banquet Managers, Gretchen and Kelly, made our daughter's and her husband's wedding a dream come true! We also want to thank the staff at the Stillwater Spa; Kathryn, Kristyn, Nicole, Marcia and Katia for taking such good care of the bridal party and making us feel and look so beautiful! Thank you to Kate L. who made all the room reservations and took care of getting all those Welcome Bags delivered to our guests! The staff at the Windward Restaurant was friendly and efficient. Our thanks to Suzette, Kate and Donna!! We cannot forget the unbelievable service with the many trips with our luggage and wedding items that Eric, Scott, Matt and Chris handled for us! Job well done and most appreciated! We and our guests enjoyed everything about our stay, including the accommodations, beautiful location, delicious food and the most friendly, professional staff. We would definitely recommend the Hyatt and can't wait to return for another visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I just had a three day conference here at the Newport Hyatt and WOW what a hotel! The rooms are big, the facilities great - food was amazing - and the staff ... TOP NOTCH! I have also had the pleasure of staying here for personal/vacation and found it just as terrific. We will be back! Yahoo!

Room Tip: I always try to get a room with a view - the water views are so peaceful and watching the sailboats...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We had a wonderful two night stay that was completely enhanced by the staff. They went above and beyond with all requests. The gentlemen on the service/shuttle desk, Scott and Nick, as well as others were great. We would definitely return.

Room Tip: Marina view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith C, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Newport, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

What a great review – thank you so much! It is such a pleasure to read your comments as it confirms we are achieving our goal – great customer service!!!!

Keith Chouinard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Great location with views of the bridge and the bay. Helpful staff and friendly bartender at the lobby bar. We stayed at the captains quarters which is a bit larger so the room size was great and there was a great balcony. Stayed in the off season so there was no issue with noisy guests etc. shuttle driver was very cool and informative about where to go/eat in Newport.

Room Tip: Captains quarters area has larger rooms and nice balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith C, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Newport, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Hello, We appreciate the time you have taken to post your comments on TripAdvisor following your visit to the Hyatt Regency Newport Hotel & Spa. Our Captains’ Quarters rooms have superb views of the bridge and Narragansett Bay, I was so pleased that you were in a balcony room which our guests rave about!

Our shuttle drivers are our experts when it comes to activities and restaurants for our guests; I was pleased that you were happy with their recommendations. Thank you again for your posting and please come visit us again soon!

Keith Chouinard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Newport

Address: 1 Goat Island, Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Newport
#3 Spa Hotel in Newport
#6 Business Hotel in Newport
#6 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#8 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Newport 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An island retreat, surrounded by water views, just minutes to downtown Newport. 257 elegantly appointed guestrooms. Activities Department, indoor pool and only outdoor hotel pool in Newport, fitness center, full service Stillwater Spa. Van shuttle and seasonal water taxi to heart of Newport. Year round waterfront dining, seasonal restaurant and lounge area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Newport Hotel Newport
Newport Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Newport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.