We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spa day!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Newport

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Newport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Newport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Goat Island, Newport, RI 02840   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #11 of 20 hotels in Newport
GreenLeadersBronze level
Providence, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Spa day!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This hotel is very nice, great location and wonderful spa. I have stayed in the past; however, this past weekend was just for the spa. It was very nice, my esthetician Maria, wonderful! I would recommend the spa during a stay or just day trip. My daughter was allowed to swim in the indoor pool while my husband waited with her, the pool was fun - small and not many chairs to sit on, but overall nice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith C, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Newport, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Hello Stacey,

Thank you for spending the day at The Stillwater Spa. We hope you and your family will return as the weather gets warmer. I recommend an outdoor seaside treatment on our spa deck under a private cabana. While you're relaxing and listening to the sounds of the Atlantic Ocean, your family can dive into our outdoor pool and/ or have lunch at Pineapples On The Bay.

Keith Chouinard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    223
    236
    133
    73
    36
See reviews for
173
298
18
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

It's located on a small island by Newport, RI. It's close to everything from restaurants to must see in the area. The hotel offers transportation to the center of town.

Be aware of additional $20 per night property fee. If you have children, be aware that the indoor pool is small.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith C, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Newport, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Hello Joseph, We appreciate your loyalty and look forward to welcoming you back to Goat Island in the near future. Thank you for your review and feedback. We understand the $20 resort fee adds an additional cost to your stay but hope you took advantage of some of the inclusions like parking, daily in-room bottled and wireless internet in addition to the shuttle to and from town. Soon our outdoor ocean front pool will be open to give guests two swimming options. We are currently in the process of adding a "kids club" to keep our youngest guests smiling.

Keith Chouinard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yokohama
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Had family staying in town for a week and opted for the Hyatt Regency Newport. Stay could not have been more fantastic! Check-in with Jaclyn was seamless and welcoming as well as our subsequent interactions with front desk agents Marie & Jessica. We did self park, but did utilize the complimentary shuttle and were very pleased with the service Nate, Eric, and Rob gave us. The Windward staff were prompt, courteous, and attentive! We had spa treatments one of of the days of our visit and Kathryn & Tyler could not have been more welcoming! The spa's relaxation room was tranquil, clean, and well stocked with refreshments. We did have some business in town and received an informative, helpful tour from Mr. John Allen when inquiring about event space for a future business meeting. Overall, a great stay- our top pick in Newport, RI! We'll be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith C, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Newport, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Hello, Thank you for listing so many of our employees that impacted your week long stay. Positive feedback regarding the resort is great, but it is our staff that truly sets us apart from other hotels in the area. Be assured your review will be shared with the team and individuals mentioned.

Keith Chouinard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Rhode Island
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I have only stayed at this hotel due to weddings being held next door at Belle Mer. The Hyatt is conveniently located on goat island and is close to the shops and restaurants but you will need to drive to get to them. In the summer months parking can be challenging so keep that in mind. The rooms are clean and spacious. We had a corner room so I’m not sure if it is bigger than other rooms but it was a good size and the bathroom was large as well. The staff were friendly and helpful. I haven’t used the spa but I have heard good things about it. The pool is very nice. Get out there early to ensure yourself a chair. Towels are provided to you once you give the pool attendant your room number. The outside bar/restaurant by the pool was fun. The drinks were good, food was average. I would recommend the Hyatt but expect to pay around $300 a night especially in the summer. Also on Friday and Saturdays there is a 2 night min.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith C, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Newport, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Hello and thank you for your review. We hope to have you back in the near future to enjoy the Stillwater Spa. If you return this summer, I recommend outdoor spa treatment under a cabana on our private spa deck. Also, the hotel owns two 10-passenger shuttles and a water shuttle that bring guests into downtown Newport throughout the day and night. This will save you money, time and the hassle of finding parking.

Keith Chouinard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

First newport is a great town for get away. The hyatt is nice and views are awesome. Though hotel staff is very accommodating unfortunately it is missing the wow. Don't take me wrong it was nice just missing details. Sense of arrival once you get over bridge is lacking and rooms feel like a shore town vs expectations i have of hyatt. Experience is more like jersey shore than newport. Staff was very nice but walked past a minimum of three managers on different occasions and they never even looked or said hello. Would I stay again probably just with different expectations. If I can suggest adding a greater sense of arrival at entrance etc.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith C, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Newport, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Hello, thank you for your kind words and specific feedback. April showers bring May flowers. You will see a drastic change in color and sense of arrival with the change of seasons to compliment our ocean views. Our managers lack of eye contact and greeting is unacceptable. Sorry. Our guests are the most important area of focus. Be assured that your feedback will be shared with the staff so we ensure our focus is on you. We look forward to having you back to Goat Island in the near future. Please ask for me upon check-in.

Keith Chouinard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hartford, ct
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I got an incredible deal off of Priceline at this waterfront hotel in Newport. The lobby/front desk were incredibly helpful and due to my situation (my band was performing in town) they opted to waive the daily hotel fees since I would not be partaking in any of it. The hotel layout is a bit odd as there are many strange little nooks here and there where the rooms are. My room was very nice, albeit a bit hard to find, with a little balcony overlooking the water. The bed was ultra comfortable and the room clean and well maintained. Staying in Newport is ridiculously expensive, but if you can snag a deal here it is definitely worth it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith C, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Newport, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Hello, thank you for your review and feedback. I hope your show was a success (in part to the goodnight sleep you had at the resort). We have 3 sections of guest rooms, all provide unique views of the ocean and surrounding landmarks. I hope the Hyatt Newport will be home to you and your band during your next performance in the Newport area.

Keith Chouinard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood, NJ
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We won a two night stay ao we chose to come during the off season. Keep in mind if you come in April it may be cold and there won't be much to do since a lot of things are still closed.

The hotel was nice. The staff was very friendly. There's a great coffee/snack area that I loved. There's also a bar and fireplace with lots of seating. It was very cozy!

There is a great fitness room with towels and a pool. I was surprised to see the pool was so small. It did not have a view of anything and it had no jacuzzi. I think it would have been nice but I am sure the outdoor pool is very nice.

It was cold out but they had nice chairs by the water and a cool fireplace. They also had an outdoor bar that was not open but looked great.

The room we were in had a pretty view of the water. It was a little small but we weren't in it much. It had a nice selection of toiletries.

Our trip was free so I really cannot complain. But I know they have great specials for the off season and people want things to do when they get back to the hotel. A pool with a view would be nice and maybe a hot tub. That would help sell the place as a hotel and spa. The spa was pricey and the prices were not listed in the room

Overall we had fun but it was cold we missed out on the fun outdoorsy things they have in May. The staff was great.

Keep in mind there is a $20 per night fee plus a $50 per night fee to hold the room. They will credit it back, but it's good to know ahead of time. The breakfast was a tad pricey at $19 per person but it had a great buffet so it filled us up and we did not need to buy lunch anywhere.

Room Tip: Our room was 515 right by the laundry room. It was a tad noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Regency Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Newport

Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Newport Hotel
Hyatt Regency Newport Hotel Newport
Newport Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Newport
Newport Hyatt
Address: 1 Goat Island, Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Newport
#6 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#7 Business Hotel in Newport
#8 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#9 Family Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Newport 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An island retreat, surrounded by water views, just minutes to downtown Newport. 257 elegantly appointed guestrooms. Activities Department, indoor pool and only outdoor hotel pool in Newport, fitness center, full service Stillwater Spa. Van shuttle and seasonal water taxi to heart of Newport. Year round waterfront dining, seasonal restaurant and lounge area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, Amex, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hyatt Regency Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Newport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.