We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Newport

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Newport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Newport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Goat Island, Newport, RI 02840   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #11 of 20 hotels in Newport
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ramsey, New Jersey
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Bottom Line: We really loved this hotel and the location on Goat Island but probably would not stay here in high season as the room rate is triple what the off-season rate is, not to mention that the "resort fee" jumps from $20 to $35 just to park your car and get internet service.

Tip: Do not stay in rooms 2101 or 2102 as they are directly across the hall from the indoor pool.

Details:
We stayed here for two nights following Thanksgiving and were pleasantly surprised by how great the location was. You are within walking distance to downtown even though you are on Goat Island. Our waterview room was a little tight but we had an incredible view of the Pell Bridge and the water. The outdoor pool was closed for the season but I could see how great it would be with its spectacular views and location. The indoor pool is small and shallow but nice for kids. The fitness area was one of the best of any of the hotels I've stayed in and was fully equipped with a wide variety of machines. There is valet service available but the self park was very easy.

Negatives:
1) The pool was supposed to be heated but my daughter and everyone else who was there found the water to be absolutely "freezing."
2) The doors are self locking like every other hotel door but these seem much louder. Everyone who leaves sounds like they are angrily slamming their door. I thought the people next door were fighting and constantly going in and out of their room but when I looked, it was actually an elderly couple going in and out of their room quite a few doors down from us.
3) The $20 "resort fee" which basically covers parking, internet and 2 bottles of water is bearable in the off-season but at $35 for the regular season it is tough to take.
4) The TV in our room may be hands down the worst I've ever experienced. The SD picture on an HDTV was incredibly fuzzy and had tons of static. During our second night, HBO was pretty much unwatchable through the static and the limited channel selection was disappointing.

Room Tip: Do not stay in rooms 2101 or 2102 as they are directly across the hall from the indoor pool. I hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

769 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    239
    263
    148
    79
    40
See reviews for
194
324
19
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

First of all, it is difficult not to be influenced by the gorgeous view in the Newport area. But what impressed us the most was the service. From acknowledging the request we have listed on the reservation during the check in to remembering our names during the short stay, the service was one of the better Hyatts we have seen in the North-East region. Believe it or not, the comment field on the reservation, is generally ignored by most Hyatts we have been stayed in the region. Since we have start staying @ Hyatts, only Hyatt Regency Princeton and this Hyatt took consideration of the allergic condition of my wife. Besides the service, this Hyatt is located in the beautiful Newport area. Try to get a higher floor room; you will enjoy the view. The hotel itself is a bit aged, but still on par with the US Hyatt's standard. We are already starting planning the return trip in 2013.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnKarchner, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Newport, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Trip Advisor Guest,

I read the reveiw you posted in regards to your recent stay here at the Hyatt Regency Newport and I just wanted to say thank you for your positive remarks. It is our goal to take care of our guests from check in to check out and it was good to read that we did that during your stay. Thank you again and we look forward to having you back.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainview, New York
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We had not stayed here since the renovation and were pleasantly surprised. The hotel had a fresh new look to the lobby, The dining area was very clean and the buffet was excellent including great omelletes and fruit which we enjoyed for all three days. The rooms were clean and were very quiet. We were missing a few towels one evening and it took a second call to get them. Scott, the Manager called immediately and was quite apologetic for the oversight and made sure we were satisfied with everything during our stay. Great place to stay and we will be returning shortly!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnKarchner, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Newport, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Trip Advisor Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at the Hyatt Regency Newport. We truly appreciate you taking the time to express your satisfaction with your stay. We hope to see you back very soon. Happy Holidays.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ct
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The Hyatt Regency Newport ,Rhode Island, is a wonderful place to get away for a few days and be pampered. No matter what the season there is something going on at all times. They have redone the rooms and a western exposure is what to ask for. Their Spa is fantastic, they have a great gym and pool. Their Thanksgiving dinner was excellent, they have a bar and lounge with comfy large areas of couches and table and chairs to have light fare, drinks and watch a game. there is even a fireplace, what a sensational place to watch the Super Bowl!!!! Easy walking to Americas Cup Way where Newport is hopping with shops, dining, boat rides and much more by car. two hours from Greenwich Ct with good traffic and an easy ride.
Kerrin Coyle,

Room Tip: water exposure
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnKarchner, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Newport, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Trip Advisor Guest,

Thank you for your review of the Hyatt Regency Newport Hotel and Spa. We truly appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your recent stay. Thank you again and we hope to see you back again. Happy Holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed four nights and loved the location of this property but the people made it special...Aime at the front desk was a delight, Robin helped us several times get situated, Havala, Dana and Isabelle took are of us continuously during our stay even though the hotel was busy with a medical conference. We will stay again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnKarchner, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Newport, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Trip Advisor Guest,

Thank you very much for your review and your kind words about many of our team members. I will be sure to share your comments with all of them. Thank you again and have a Happy Holiday.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somers, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I have stayed here several times. I always get a room upgrade. There room service is excellent. There dinner menu in the main dining room is amazing. Every time the menu is different and I can get a quiet seat by the window. Bathroom and Linens are clean. Its also really close to the town of newport so it saves money on parking. The fee is worth it for the all the amenities and the great service. I am going again in January.

Room Tip: request an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnKarchner, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Newport, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Trip Advisor Guest,

Thank you very much for your review of the Hyatt Regency Newport. We love to hear when our loyal customers have a great stay. We look forward to seeing you again sometime in the near future. Happy Holidays.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This was a lovely property to use as a base of operations for our recent visit. We did lots of family visiting & site-seeing and the Hyatt on "Goat Island" was the perfect location from which ti do it. Even in the "off season" the grounds and the staff were simply delightful. From our check-in with front desk agent Aime Lykins to our turn-down service by Dana - we received warm & gracious service. Aime Lykins even provided us with a map & helpful instructions for a walking route that allowed us to maximize our "historic tour" of Newport. When we requested extra service and wake-up call, Robin was prompt and courteous. We also appreciated the housekeeping and room service staff: Havala & Isabelle who were very friendly. Our King-suite in the "Captain's Quarters" section allowed us to relax and welcome visitors in comfort. The view from our room was wonderful. We made good use of the well-appointed fitness center, enjoyed top-notch dining and were SO GLAD to have Starbucks available right in the hotel lobby!

Room Tip: Our King-suite in the "Captain's Quarters" section allowed us to relax and welcome vis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnKarchner, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Newport, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Trip Advisor Guest,

Thank you very much for your review of the Hyatt Regency Newport Hotel and Spa. We always love to hear when our guests had a great time. We hope to see you again sometime in the near future. Happy Holidays.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
Charming, Pool...
Show More
0.8 mi away
The Vanderbilt Grace
The Vanderbilt Grace
#1 of 20 in Newport
4.5 of 5 stars 412 reviews
Luxury, Quiet...
Show More
1.0 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#7 of 20 in Newport
4.5 of 5 stars 851 reviews
Romantic, Charm...
Show More
0.5 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#10 of 20 in Newport
4.0 of 5 stars 686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free internet...
Show More
1.6 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
Romantic, Free...
Show More
0.9 mi away
Forty 1 North Hotel and Marina Resort
Quiet, Mid-rang...
Show More
0.7 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Newport

Address: 1 Goat Island, Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Newport
#4 Spa Hotel in Newport
#6 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#7 Business Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Newport 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An island retreat, surrounded by water views, just minutes to downtown Newport. 257 elegantly appointed guestrooms. Activities Department, indoor pool and only outdoor hotel pool in Newport, fitness center, full service Stillwater Spa. Van shuttle and seasonal water taxi to heart of Newport. Year round waterfront dining, seasonal restaurant and lounge area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hyatt Regency Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Newport Hotel Newport
Newport Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Newport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.