We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room with a view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Newport

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Newport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Orbitz.com
and 6 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Newport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Goat Island, Newport, RI 02840   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #11 of 20 hotels in Newport
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hoover, Alabama, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Room with a view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great views. Great location. Went to price line and got room for a really good price Service was excellent and I was offered an upgrade without asking. Hotel is starting to age a little and could use a little upgrading. Our stay was enjoyable and we would stay there again.vand did I say the views and location was fabulous!!!

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the water with a great view of the lighthouse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    224
    239
    138
    74
    37
See reviews for
173
307
18
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ma
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great location and so beautiful. You are right on the water and the views are amazing. They have a free shuttle to Newport which is great, no taxi and driving. The bar in the hotel has really good food and drinks. It is a very relaxing hotel. I have been to the spa about 4 times here and the massages are so good. I highly recommend it if you have time. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Get a bi level suite with a balcony so nice and roomy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnKarchner, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Newport, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to fill out this review. We always love to hear when our guests had a great time. We look forward to hosting you again during your next visit to Newport.

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duxbury, MA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Arrived on Friday at 4:00pm after Sandy and it was pretty quiet when we arrived. No one other than 2 staff members and the doorman at the reception when we come in. We had booked online for 1 nights via Hotwire for what we thought was a great deal for a last minute trip overnight celebrate our wedding anniversary. Check in was lackluster, staff was distracted and not really friendly. We had 5th floor and our room was located so we looked out on the parking lot into town. Was okay. We called down to ask to be changed because we where near the ice machine which hummed very loud and we had been given two double beds - were told there was no other rooms available. Thought the room was very okay, but not great. Found change on floor from other people.....there was no attention to the detail. When we left for the evening no one noticed, just huddled together at reception chatting. Opened the door myself every time I came or left even though there was a doorman. Surpise charge an extra $20 per day.for a parking facility? Not quite the experience we were hoping for, especially for a 3.5 star hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnKarchner, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Newport, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear TripAdvisor Guest~

I have received your recent posting concerning your stay at the Hyatt Regency Newport Hotel & Spa.

Your comments concerning our “lackluster” staff was very disappointing. We take pride in the service we offer to our guests, especially in the arrival process. Our front desk staff is the first point of contact and it is so important to make that positive first impression; my apologies for the unfriendly service you received. Your review will be shared with everyone to ensure this does not happen to future guests.

Unfortunately due to business levels we were unable to relocate you to another guestroom. Had occupancy permitted, we would have certainly found you a room more to your liking.

I appreciate your sharing this posting and I hope you have another opportunity to visit with us again and I assure you that your arrival experience will certainly be a better one!

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

OK...so it was a day or two after "Sandy" had made landfall and the Hotel had a little roof damage...and it was pretty quiet when we arrived. We had booked online for 3 nights for the price of 2 as part of our 10 day trip to the US from the UK to celebrate our wedding anniversary. (When it came to the bill, they initially forgot the 3 for the price of 2 booking; but rectified it on enquiry!) They had previously sent the offer of an upgrade if available...but I had to ask for it on arrival. And this was the feel of the place and the tenor of the stay: a staff that did not quite have a handle on the detail. Thought the room was very comfortable, there was no attention to the detail. When it came to wanting a swim (in the indoor pool) there were no changing rooms. (At Reception, the staff swore blind that there were; but the lady in the Spa said otherwise...and she was right.) There were no towels at the poolside...though they were provided when we went semi-naked to Reception. The food was good, and the man at the Bar (in the general area) was very helpful and amiable when taking our order and serving it. It seems a little strange (to say the least) to charge an extra $20 per day...just because we were on Goat Island...for a parking facility, wifi and a shuttle over the causeway. Surely these should be gratis as part of the stay? After all, it is not a cheap hotel! Friendly staff in the Bar and Restaurant areas; thought the ladies on Reception appeared not to have a complete handle on it...and were a little humourless...not happily admitting to when they got it wrong.OK...but not quite the experience we were hoping for.

Room Tip: A sea view makes all the difference to the room experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnKarchner, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Newport, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear TripAdvisor Guest~

Thank you for your posting concerning your stay at the Hyatt Regency Newport Hotel & Spa.

My apologies for the confusion with the particular package that you reserved. As these postings are anonymous I am at a disadvantage to do any further research; however, I can only assume that you booked the package that gave you the third night free. That credit is posted on the guest folio at checkout. Aside from self-parking, our Resort Fee includes, in-room internet, shuttle van service to downtown Newport, complimentary bottled waters and newspapers daily, unlimited local phone calls, 24-hour access to our fitness center and numerous activities sponsored by our Activities Department that include yoga, bike tours, etc. Many hotels charge for these services separately; however, we have bundled this which is certainly more cost effective.

Thank you for your comments indicating our bar and restaurant staff was very friendly; greatly appreciated!

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookhaven, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I have stayed at the goat island Hyatt many times and its out standing. I have just read some of the reviews and see some people are never pleased. Every experience at the hotel have been great. The hotel is immaculate, The staff is very accommodating and very pleasant, the breakfast is great and i have been given the complimentary breakfast and up graded to rooms without charge when they are available. It is quiet and away from the noise in the town, The views are beautiful. In addition to all that the price is affordable, Now to top it off i have been awarded a discount due to my government ID making the stay even better. There is nothing in Newport that compares to it. I have been there on business and also with by lady, Every time we have enjoyed the stay. I will be returning this fall and winter too. Hyatt ! keep up the great work.
Bruce Rubino (Captain)

Room Tip: Show your military I-D and ask for a compliment breakfast, Its excellent Also upgrade to Captains qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnKarchner, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Newport, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you for posting this great review. It's always great to hear from our loyal customers. We loook forward to seeing you during your future visits this fall and winter.

Thank you again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

just been there for 4 days. the hotel is on a little island ad has very nice views from the guest rooms. got a free night of stay because it was off-season, and also got coupons for breakfasts which was nice. downtown restaurants are in walking distance crossing a small bridge that connects the mainland to the front door of the hotel.

Room Tip: one might not want rooms on the lower three floors if sensitive to noises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnKarchner, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Newport, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear TripAdvisor Guest:

Thank you for your recent posting concerning your stay at the Hyatt Regency Newport Hotel & Spa.

It is always refreshing that guests also take the time to post positive comments and for that we are very appreciative. It sounds like you booked a package that included a free night’s stay and complimentary breakfast. While the hotel is walking distance to downtown, I hope you took advantage of our complimentary shuttle van to the downtown area.

Thank you for your posting and I hope you visit with us again soon!

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Nice location, good food but the most poorly designed room I have ever slept in. My husband and I had a room with a King size bed, ONLY one nightstand on the left side. No place for me to put a glass of water, my glasses - nothing! But to make matters worse, there was NO light at all on the right side. Now if they could not put a nightstand there they could have at least put a light on the wall or on the headboard. It was so dark I could not read. These sound like small things but they are huge when visiting a hotel. (room 315)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnKarchner, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Newport, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear TripAdvisor Guest~

Thank you for your recent posting on TripAdvisor.

Due to the design of this building rooms vary in configuration depending on the location. For example, room size and location of furniture in our main tower differs from the size and furniture placement in our Captains’ Quarters wing. Of course, our front desk staff is always willing to relocate guests to another guestroom upon request. As these postings are anonymous, I have very limited information available to me so I do not know if that request was made. In any event, your feedback is very well received and I will personally look at the guestroom you occupied to see if we can make some changes.

I appreciate the time you have taken to submit this posting, thank you again.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Regency Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Newport

Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Newport Hotel
Hyatt Regency Newport Hotel Newport
Newport Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Newport
Newport Hyatt
Address: 1 Goat Island, Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Newport
#6 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#7 Business Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Newport 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An island retreat, surrounded by water views, just minutes to downtown Newport. 257 elegantly appointed guestrooms. Activities Department, indoor pool and only outdoor hotel pool in Newport, fitness center, full service Stillwater Spa. Van shuttle and seasonal water taxi to heart of Newport. Year round waterfront dining, seasonal restaurant and lounge area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, Venere, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Newport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.