We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Newport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Newport to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Newport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Goat Island, Newport, RI 02840   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Newport
GreenLeadersBronze level
Providence, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“beautiful views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

Spent a night for a girls weekend. Front desk personnel were extremely helpful and accomodating. Bar waitress not so much. Requested connecting rooms and received them. Shuttle to town, nice service. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

921 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    310
    182
    87
    46
See reviews for
224
382
22
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windham, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

Checked in for New Year's Eve celebration with a group of friends. Friends took advantage of an email 'upgrade' offer and were placed in Owner's Suite for minimal money. While still a one- bedroom suite, there was a kitchen/bar area with living room with multiple sofas and chairs. Great place to ring in the new year! Valets were very attentive for the $5.00/day charge. Hotel also offered shuttle service to downtown every half hour. My only comment would be that the indoor pool water temperature was a little on the cool side for me . . . . other than that we can hardly wait to go back in spring/summer time frame!

Room Tip: Stay away from Room 405 as there are mechnicals (HVAC) and ice machine right outside your door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

Seeking a destination for our family to celebrate Christmas day and spend two nights, we selected Newport, Rhode Island. My husband and I enjoy the mansion tours, are now Newport Historical Society members, so we wanted to take our two daughters and our little dog for a family trip. Selecting the ideal hotel was important. A pet-friendly place with two separate rooms and perhaps an ocean view would be great. After reviewing all hotels I chose the Hyatt Regency, made a reservation with the hotel for connecting rooms, upgrading to the tower (8th floor) and we were delighted with our rooms upon arrival. The view of the bridge at night was lovely from our corner room.
Our Christmas dinner in the Windward Restaurant exceeded our expectations. Normally "hotel food" is not gourmet dining, but this was quite good. The scallops and the lobster dish were delicious, as was the Cobb salad. That was our only meal there, opting to go to downtown Newport for coffee breaks and lunches. The three mansion tours were fun and we took Lola on the Cliff Walk near the Breakers, taking photos of our family along the way.
Now our dog knew the rules: no barking, no entry into hotel's restaurants or pool area. She exceeded our expectations, was alone in our room just during that Christmas dinner, and enjoyed her daily promenade in the lobby and outdoors. We will definitely return with her, knowing that we'll enjoy our getaway with our family pet included. There were other dog guests and I only heard one bark for a minute when the owner returned to her room. If you want to visit Newport and other hotels say "no pets", the Hyatt is welcoming to responsible pet owners.
The pool was full of happy kids on holiday vacation, yet I was able to swim with only two others at 6 pm one evening. The small fitness room was open 24-hours and never crowded.
Finally, the staff was courteous and friendly. Holly at the front desk was smiling and pleasant to me. Thank you, Newport Hyatt. We're now Hyatt Gold Passport members.

Room Tip: Corner room view was good from room #813. The wind off the ocean was the only sound.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

My husband and I have been coming to Newport, RI for over 30 years. Back in the day, this location was not only the only game in town, but also very nice. We would stay in the Captain's Quarters where most of the rooms have small balconies overlooking the bay. Over the years, this hotel has become more and more like the chain hotel it is. We switched to the charming Chanler at Cliff Walk, which is only slightly more expensive and so much more worth it. This past Fall when the Chanler was booked, we went back to the Hyatt Regency. I reserved a bay front room in the Captain's Quarters. The first disappointment was the first floor room which felt more like a basement, since we had to step up to the balcony. The "view" of the bay was blocked by a solid wood front which we later discovered was to protect our room from pedestrian traffic and service trucks which passed all day and night. We couldn't change our room since the hotel was booked. These first floor "rooms with a view" were as expensive as the better rooms on the higher floors. Worst of all is the depressing motel-like decor and the excessive dampness which made us uncomfortable and sleep impossible. Despite the renovation, time has passed this place by. Stay at The Chanler where the room you want is garanteed and can be viewed on-line with no disappointing surprises. If you don't mind a chain hotel atmosphere at sky high rates, this place is tolerable. So sorry to see such a lovely location wasted. The only positive: We hated our room so much, we hung out in town more than we might have because we didn't want to "luxuriate" in the "resort" room.

Room Tip: This is a massive chain hotel. The chances of getting the room you want is about 50/50 and not garan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

Writing this from my second room of our trip. The paper thin walls here gave me the pleasure of listening to our neighbor coughing and blowing her nose all night. To make matters worse, this hotel is pet friendly so w got woken up by a howling dog in the room above us. The front desk told me they would take care of it but obviously no one was there when they called the owners. I went to the desk and got a new room. I was angry having to pack up everything I had just unpacked. Also, don't even think about using the pool because it is constantly filled with screaming splashing kids right up until 9pm when it closes. What about people like me who choose not to be around children? Why can't I enjoy the pool? Totally unacceptable and not fair.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnKarchner, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Newport, responded to this review, January 3, 2012
Dear TripAdvisor Guest:

We appreciate that you have shared your recent guest experience on this TripAdvisor site.

My apologies that you had a bad experience at our swimming pool. We were hosting a kid’s hockey tournament during your visit with us and when they were not playing hockey they apparently all congregated at our indoor pool. Our security staff did monitor this area frequently to keep them under control. I also apologize that barking dogs were very disruptive to you as well. The Hyatt Regency Newport is a pet friendly hotel and I regret that your stay was affected so negatively by their presence. We are disappointed that guests would leave their pets unattended which is against our policy. If a dog’s barking becomes an issue our front desk contacts the owner immediately to take care of the situation. Please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconveniences you experienced.

Thank you again for your posting and I hope to have addressed all of your concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haskell, NJ
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

We decided at the last minute to visit Newport to see the Mansions before Christmas. We stayed at the Hyatt Goat Island. The staff was warm and welcoming on arrive. The room was a little on the small size but fine for the amount of time we stayed in it. As members of AAA, we were provided a breakfast meal ticket. The breakfast was nice a choice of a buffet, or regular menu. The food was good and hot.

I had received an email to upgrade to a waterview room for an additional for an additional $9.00, which I took advantage of, all rooms are waterview only difference is the floor you are located on, the higher the floor number the better the view. Our view included the island, and parking deck with the water to each side. I also do not think I should have been charged for the resort fee given the time of year, December.

If I go back for another visit would definitely stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Coffee maker in room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

On a spur of the moment, last minute trip to beautiful Newport, we took a chance and called the Hyatt Regency to see if they had any rooms. Literally on the road we called! And yes, they had availability. The woman on the phone said they had a special for $98, king with water view. So we thought about it for a nanosecond and took it!

We stayed at this hotel several years ago, but apparently they had renovated it a few years back. Nice lobby, extremely friendly staff, all around great experience! The room was modern and very comfortable. We had a view of the harbor and the city of Newport. (The hotel is actually situated on a small island called "Goat Island" just off shore and connected by a road into the town.

This hotel gets very expensive in the high season, so I highly recommend a visit here the week before Christmas. When everyone else is shopping and wrapping and stressing, you can wander the ancient streets of Newport, tour the mansions all decorated for the holidays, and dine at any number of charming restaurants.

We'll be back again next year!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Newport

Address: 1 Goat Island, Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Newport
#4 Spa Hotel in Newport
#5 Business Hotel in Newport
#6 Luxury Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Newport 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An island retreat, surrounded by water views, just minutes to downtown Newport. 257 elegantly appointed guestrooms. Activities Department, indoor pool and only outdoor hotel pool in Newport, fitness center, full service Stillwater Spa. Van shuttle and seasonal water taxi to heart of Newport. Year round waterfront dining, seasonal restaurant and lounge area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Newport Hotel Newport
Newport Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Newport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.