We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good because the setting is excellent.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Safari Room

Safari Room
65 Ridge Rd, Newport, RI 02840-3717
+1 401-849-4873
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Safari Room is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #86 of 177 Restaurants in Newport
Price range: $15 - $42
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Harrison Avenue
Transit: Seasonal
Description: The Safari Room is located on the famed Ocean Drive, set against the cliffs of Narragansett Bay. The Safari Patio is open seasonally from May through October, providing you with an open-air dining experience with exceptional service. Enjoy fresh local seafood and a variety of hand crafted entrees while dining among sunsets, starlight and the UN-paralleled views of the bay. Our culinary team utilizes only the finest ingredients to make each dish distinct, creating a unique sense of culture and place in every bite. Relax with a sunset cocktail, and redefine romance while telling us of your travels. The Indoor Safari Dining Room is open for weekend dining October through May, and open year round for special events.
New London, Connecticut
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Very good because the setting is excellent.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Could not be a better place in Newport to watch the sun set over the water and enjoy a cocktail. Service is excruciatingly slow. Food is mediocre. Lobster bisque is not great but the lobster is. Cheese board not bad, ample. Rib eye ok. All of this matters little because the setting is awesome.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    18
    8
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Redding, CT
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

My wife and I visited Newport recently and dined at the Safari Room one of the four evenings of our stay. Despite some flattering reviews we were very disappointed with the food and the service. We ordered a civiche appetizer, for example. Ceviche is supposed to be made of citrus marinated seafood, but all we received was a wine glass full of sour chopped peppers, onions and palm hearts. Oh, there were about three tiny pieces of some kind of fush each about the size of a pea. One of us ordered tuna. It was tasty and sizeable, but the presentation simply dumped on a bed of lettuce, was poor. An order of salmon was plopped on a mountain of some kind of tasteless cheese risotto. When asked what kind of cheese it was the uninformed server said it was "risotto cheese".
The service was impersonal on the part of the waiter (on the contrary, the hostess was very nice). A starter drink was provided , but when the glass was empty and dinner served the waiter never returned to ask if a refill was desired until after the main course was finished. I sat with an empty glass during the entire main serving. Clearly, the wait staff needs training and the chef should be informed that ceviche requires seafood and that accompaniments are just as important as the meat or fish on a plate.
The ambiance of the location is a major plus, but the noise levels were high and the overall service was poor. This place can be good, but leaves much to be desired. There are many much better alternatives in Newport.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great Food and Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The fish and lobster mac&cheese is delicious. As are the wine selection and drinks. The bartenders were very informative and quick to serve us. Great seats on the patio by the water.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Great view & drinks, and all else average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

This place has the most fabulous view going. Ended up here on graduation weekend after not being able to able to get reservations at one of our usual haunts. The Sunday brunch menu looked great but the food was average. Would have preferred to be able to choose off the standard menu. Our server had deer in the headlight look throughout our meal. Not sure if he was new or what - but service was spotty. Drinks were great - one of the best Bloody Mary's I have ever had - so that was a plus. Probably not go here again. Better options available.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RI
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Drinks”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Only the bar was open not the restaurant. We ordered 4 drinks. 2 gin and tonics, a beefeater martini and a beer. The beer was the only one poured correctly. The gin and tonics were made with soda not tonic. The martini came with a slice of lime no olives! Yikes. I hope the bartenders in the summer are better trained.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Safari Room also viewed

 

Been to Safari Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Safari Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.