We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Scone!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mad Hatter Bakery

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Mad Hatter Bakery
64 Broadway, Newport, RI 02840
(401) 847-0354
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 8 Bakeries in Newport
Restaurant details
Marion, Indiana, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome Scone!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Before heading out to Brenton Point, my wife and I stopped in to grab a blueberry scone. We had recently been to Hawaii and had some of the best scones ever. This one was as good as any we have had. It was moist and full of flavor!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    9
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Farmingdale, Maine
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Mad Hatter's is fantastically good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

On our first day in Newport we were getting a sandwich at the Deli. When we noticed this bakery we went inside.What did we find? A piece of heaven. The people were as friendly as can be and the display of baked goods was amazing. We bought banana bread, lemon danish and a blueberry scone. It was all so delicious we can't wait to go back. This bakery is a "10" in our book.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Bakery!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We found this place online before our trip up to Newport last week. We ended-up buying several things as gifts to people there (e.g., cupcakes, scones, etc.) as well as we brought home with us an excellent loaf of Irish soda bread! Fantastic place and super-friendly staff/owners!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
544 reviews 544 reviews
301 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 148 cities Reviews in 148 cities
245 helpful votes 245 helpful votes
“Average cupcakes”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Stopped in to Mad Hatters because we had heard good things about them, but ultimately, it was an average cupcake. We split a red velvet which was on the small side, and had way too much frosting. The cocoa flavor was there, but it was a little dry. The vanilla again had way too much frosting, perhaps because it too was a little dry. Overall, average cupcakes.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Framingham, MA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Choose the Local Mad Hatter Bakery over Commercial!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Forget the typical commercial baked goods, as Mad Hatter Bakery is THE place for a cupcake, cookie, or baked good. Everything looked amazing in the glass cases. The creamed horn was so delicious, as was the death by chocolate cupcake and Oreo cupcakes. Lots of variety to choose from so you will not be disappointed. Two women were working and were helpful, friendly, and engaging to talk to. As a tourist it's always nice to walk in to a place like his. I regret not trying the coffee, but they have a daily flavored and regular/decaf to choose from. If we weren't leaving to go home I would go back that afternoon for another decadent treat. Forget dunkin donuts, Don't miss out on this local, yummy bakery!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mad Hatter Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Mad Hatter Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mad Hatter Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.