We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious & Relaxing !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Breeze Cafe

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Ocean Breeze Cafe
580 Thames St, Unit 6, Newport, RI 02840-6742
401-849-1750
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #95 of 203 restaurants in Newport
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations
NY
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Delicious & Relaxing !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Just spent 5 days in Newport and went to Ocean Breeze Cafe everyday for breakfast. Everyday we had something different to eat and everything was delicious. The atmosphere during the week is very relaxing and nobody pushing you out the door. Weekend was busy as expected. Found this delightful cafe 7 years ago when we last visited Newport. Staff extra friendly.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

57% Recommend
    19
    26
    18
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very Good for Muffins”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Kind of hard to judge a place on muffins alone, but that's what we had--muffins & coffee. Blueberry muffins were yummy, I recommend getting it toasted and having it with butter. Kids had chocolate chip cream cheese muffins and were very happy--there actually is some yummy cream cheese when you bite in. Waitress & service was fine. They do close at 3pm.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Not Customer Focused”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Ate here two years ago and was very satisfied. What a difference a couple of years has made, and not in a good way. Receptionist put our name on the list and then disappeared for 20 minutes. A waitress found us a table. Another waitress took our order. She brought coffee we didn't order, but forgot the water we asked for. My husbands eggs were cooked as ordered, but they forgot the bacon. Finally brought it after we finished eating. The pancakes had an off taste. I don't mind paying a little more for breakfast when the food and experience are worth it, but in this case, it was a major disappointment.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Ok breakfast on a cold Monday morning”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Went to Ocean Breeze on the recommendation from some on line resources. Expected the best but got an ok breakfast. Service started out slow but greatly improved. Needed to send back bacon due to it not being well done as requested. Cinnamon french toast was a disappointment, no cinnamon flavor and the bread was only coated not soaked in the egg mixture.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delicious muffins of all kinds”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

I had the Greek omelet. It was well made with fresh ingredients. And quite large. The muffins are delicious and extensive in variety. Probably the best cranberry nut muffin I have ever eaten. The muffins were also quite large.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Breeze Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Ocean Breeze Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Breeze Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.