We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ice cream” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ben & Jerry's

Ben & Jerry's
33 Bannister's Wharf, Newport, RI 02840-3049
401-841-0777
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 207 Restaurants in Newport
Price range: $1 - $20
Description: For all the euphoric flavors you can't get enough of – especially the ones you can't get in ordinary stores – nobody scoops Ben & Jerry's better than we do at our scoop shops.
Restaurant details
Description: For all the euphoric flavors you can't get enough of – especially the ones you can't get in ordinary stores – nobody scoops Ben & Jerry's better than we do at our scoop shops.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great ice cream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Ben and Jerry's always has the best tasting ice cream. A couple of scoops of butter pecan in a chocolate covered cone, so tasty! There was a line, but they work hard to keep the line moving and the wait at a minimum.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    15
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Right in downtown on bustlingThames Street is the ever-popular Ben & Jerry's. The staff is very friendly and patient (they let us try some samples and were very helpful in narrowing down the overwhelming choices). Personally, I prefer Haagen Dazs over Ben & Jerry's (gasp!) BUT ice cream is ice cream and, on a hot summers day, this definitely does the trick. Beware of long lines! ;)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darcey France
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best ice cream!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Super choice of ice creams - so what's new!! - but very pleasant friendly staff and I even bought a Newport RI Ben and Jerry's Tshirt!! And of course, the ice cream's just the best (personal opinion!).

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious~”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The Ben & Jerry's ice cream did not disappoint! The cones were fresh and the ice cream was creamy and delicious.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Excellent ice cream”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here for ice cream last night and it was very good. 5 bucks for 2 scoops on a waffle cone seemed reasonable for this area. We will return before we leave the area.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ben & Jerry's also viewed

 

Been to Ben & Jerry's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ben & Jerry's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.