We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Fair Price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Inns on Bellevue

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Inns on Bellevue to your Saves list
Inns on Bellevue
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   30 Bellevue Ave., Newport, RI 02840   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 100 Newport B&B and Inns
Hartford, Connecticut
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great Location, Fair Price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I'll put this as simple as possible. It's four separate old houses converted into Bed and Breakfast style hotels. The room I had was standard small and dated. Could be a bit cleaner. Tiny bathrooms. Some have larger rooms. Bland breakfast in the morning. Quiet area and walking distance to downtown area. This is not a fancy hotel, but if you want to be close to the downtown area and just need a place to sleep and shower for a very fair price, this may be a good choice. I would stay there again. The staff was pleasant also.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    49
    46
    25
    47
See reviews for
34
132
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We had a 3 nite stay at the Inn and overall was not bad. Room was decent and clean but bed was extremely hard. Did not get a decent nights sleep whole time there. Location is perfect and front desk personnel very helpful with any questions you might have. We stayed in room 1. For a weekend stay this was not a bad choice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This was my second stay at inns on bellvue. The first experience was not so great but for the price we decided to give it a second try. First, we did not get the room that we paid for and were put in a shady, creepy room in the back that was surrounded by construction. THEN when we came back to our room after going out for dinner on our first night, we saw ants EVERYWHERE. All over the sink, the floor...up the wall....They were completely taking over! Then at midnight they switched our room to get us away from the ants. THEN we come back from the beach the following day to freezing cold water, the kind that takes your breath away. We did not have hot water for almost 3 days and had to take painfully cold showers. We complained a few times and were basically told oh well... finally upon check out they took a whopping $100 off of our bill. Worst B&B experience EVER. I am a very fair and understandable person and I truly despise this place.....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innsonbellevue, General Manager at Inns on Bellevue, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
As the General Manager of the Inns on Bellevue, I am disappointed that your stay did not meet your expectations. We are a group of four inns in Newport, with accommodations and room rates to meet most budgets.
When this reservation was reserved, it was made for an "economy" room, which is a room on the 3rd floor at Bellevue House. Bellevue House is a historic building, built in the mid 1700's. It sits one block off of Bellevue Avenue on historic hill.
The guest was given the room he reserved. We do offer virtual tours of all of our rooms on our website to give a very accurate image of the accommodations reserved. The guest did report ants in the room during his stay, and we moved them immediately. We later found that the guest left a piece cake or bread on the floor which attracted the ants.
With the room location on the 3rd floor, it does take a moment for the hot water to come up. I should note that there are 6 rooms on that floor, and we were filled to capacity that holiday weekend. We received no other complaints about hot water.
That being said, I would be happy to welcome these guests back and personally handle their reservations to ensure they are reserved in a room and location best suited for their needs.

Paul W. Galluscio
General Manager, Inns on Bellevue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Inn on Bellevue at the Bellevue Manor late august 2013. We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite with another couple. Upon checking in at the main lobby we were welcomed and explained about the surrounding areas, breakfast, and other points of interest. We walked into our room, a Victorian style room with beautiful antique furniture. The common area in the room was spacious and comfortable and the bedrooms were clean and cozy. The next morning we woke up and went to what we expected to be a continental breakfast, but to our surprise amazing french toast, pancakes, quiche, fresh fruit, and patisseries were awaiting us. The service was great and the food fresh.
I would like to thank all those at the Inn on Bellevue who made our stay a pleasant one.
Great inn, great price, and great people.
Melissa

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We spent Friday and Saturday nights at the Brinley Victorian Inn. Large room with fireplace. Small bathroom (think Europe) but adequate. Hot water took a few minutes to get to us but no problem. Just let the shower run a bit before getting in. Breakfast was a feast. So many options cold and hot. French toast and/or pancakes made to order beside the breakfast casserole and ham already on the buffet. Location was FABULOUS! You can walk everywhere, which is wonderful, as parking is scarce and wicked expensive if you do find a spot. The Brinley is an historic property so do not go expecting new and modern. It is old and quirky which gives it much charm. Our only complaint was that the mattress was horribly uncomfortable to us.

Room Tip: We were in room number 6.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We went to the Bellevue House for our one year anniversary with our dog Chunk and the staff were very nice. Our room was clean and we had a flat screen in our room. I read alot of bad reviews, but we had no issues that weekend. The location is EXACTLY where you want to be in Newport, not on Thames or any of the busy streets, but walking distance to everything. There was even parking right in front of the inn.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rumson, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a two night stay at this inn. Let me just start with the fact that this inn has a great location but thats were it ends. When you open the door the first thing you notice is the dirty carpet. We checked in to our "King Suite" to start the door handle was falling off, and the air conditioner was LOUD. The room appeared clean but worn out. We figured since we didn't plan on spending too much time in the room and for what we payed we would just stick it out. Please don't plan on eating breakfast - the gentleman who serves breakfast was the same gentleman sent up to our room during breakfast to plunge the toilet. All in all its very sad because it really is a great location and I am sure at one time this inn was a great place to stay unfortunately it appears to have seen better days.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Inns on Bellevue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inns on Bellevue

Address: 30 Bellevue Ave., Newport, RI 02840
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Inns on Bellevue 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Inns on Bellevue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On Bellevue Hotel Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inns on Bellevue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.