We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden information after confirmation.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Architect's Inn - George Champlin Mason House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Architect's Inn - George Champlin Mason House to your Saves list
Architect's Inn - George Champlin Mason House
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   2 Sunnyside Place, Newport, RI 02840   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 99 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Madrid
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Hidden information after confirmation.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Be aware they have 3 different locations and rooms are extremely different. Before giving your credit card make sure what room you are paying for. We had the standard room and it was the last part of the atic, with no height, most of the time you need to be bow down, if you are a guy there is no way you can pee on your feet. There are lots of narrow stairs to get to your room; no bed light (you have to walk to the door to turn the lights on/off), no closet and NO SHOWER (very nice tub but prepare for your free pilates lesson), and don't worry about your shoes, you have to leave them outside.

After you confirm they ask you to called them 2 hours before your arrival to tell you where your room is going to be (which of the 3 houses). We've e-mailed them aprox. 4 hours before and they didn't respond, we've pay an international call to know where to go. Unprofessional.

On their behalf, I'll say the bed is comfortable and our location was good.

Room Tip: Don't take the standard room it is uncomfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Architects G, Owner at Architect's Inn - George Champlin Mason House, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
That so unfair to say we are unprofessional for not responding to an email that comes in at 5:45 am. They were going to arrive way before a normal check in time and a room was not even ready for us to assign a room to them. Our mornings are more focused on serving breakfast to our in-house customers and providing a lovely experience rather than glued to our computers. That is why the confirmation email clearly says to call or text 2 hours before arrival. It says nothing about email.

Their room is a single occupancy room. Their bathroom has a claw foot tub with hand held shower. It is lovely and the room is charmingly decorated in a nautical theme. It is our smallest room designed for one person and when they booked the room is tells them it is a single person room. Yet they showed up with two people and decided to make it work. We didn't charge extra for it or anything because we felt bad that they seemed completely clueless.

And why someone wants to pee on their feet is bizarre. Were they stung by a jellyfish or something? Maybe its a weird cultural ritual.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    14
    13
    6
    3
See reviews for
20
107
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

First the good - the Inn is lovely. The public area is beautifully decorated, very Victorian, very much in the style of an empty vertical surface is a challenge to be overcome.
The negative - this is NOT a B&B if you book througth a reservation service, which is not clear from the booking. So we did not learn that our hotels.com booking was without breakfast - or even a cup of coffee - until arrival. Also, they have not sign up (or at least not when we stayed) and the Inn is on a corner, with the entrance on a different road than the street address, so may take time to find the first time. Good parking, very quiet location, a pretty 5 minute walk away from the nearest thing to see, and 10-15 minutes from the waterfront.
Next, this was unlike any other B&B that I have stayed at in the past 30 or more years in the number of rules they ask you to follow. From when you try to enter to see a 'remove your shoes' sign, which was enforced even on the lovely, sunny day we arrived, and they did not want people to wear shoes in the Inn at all. Then the pamphlet, which in addition to containing useful area information instructed us not to turn off and on the lights except by the switches, not to unplug anything, so to and on and on and on. I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Try for the second floor - the third is reach through an exceedingly narrow stair, and the rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Architects G, Owner at Architect's Inn - George Champlin Mason House, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
We apologize for having the business sign off the house. We just completed a murder mystery weekend and we took it down to fit the storyline of the show but then decided to have it refurbished.

I have no idea what is meant by**an empty vertical surface is a challenge to be overcome**. Did she get that off a fortune cookie? What does that mean? Is this a brain teaser?

We are an Inn...hence the name of our business...which means we offer rooms with or without breakfast. She booked a room without breakfast and we offered her to add it to the room when she arrived. Did we do something wrong??? Is there something else that we could have done to make this better for her?

The shoes off in the house has to do with preservation of the house and to encourage people to feel like that are house guests staying with family or friends. It has nothing to do with the weather.

Since when is common sense considered a rule?? Is this a Gen Y thing? Of course you can't turn off the lights in the house as you please. They are on timers for the safety of other guests. If this woman turned off all the lights in the house, how would it be if other guests walked in to a dark house and tripped over something? That is just common sense. Would that be considered **a rule**?? What else? Would it be **a rule** if I told them not to pull the sprinkler alarm and scream FIRE?? Of course not. It is just common sense and social norms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Stayed here for a holiday weekend and have mixed feelings about the place. The positives: beautifully decorated common areas in Victorian style, possibly a little too frou frou if your tastes are minimalist; location is convenient to town and parking is readily available; Brian and Nick are very well informed about area and make thoughtful recommendations; extensive pamphlets for those looking for activities; building is ultra clean and floors glowed; Brian is especially warm and goes well beyond the call of duty to be helpful and accommodating; breakfasts are substantial.

The negatives: "house rules" requiring guests to remove shoes and to access porch by walking outside in evenings instead of through the interior connecting door do not belong in a commercial inn accepting paying guests. These rules were burdensome and annoying, especially when you were carrying things, which you had to place on floor, as the front door lock was sticky and required two hands to open door.

Rooms: The rooms are variable, most are big. Rooms on third floor are accessed by a narrow, steep stair case, typical of 19th century homes. Our first room was carved out of the attic. The eaves sloped down to within 1.5 ft of the floor, and an adult could not stand upright in most of the room. The bathroom suffered from both the steep slope of the roof and a tub on legs, which required acrobatic moves to get in and out of the tub---a grab bar is there to make it possible. The room was nicely appointed and had a sky light. This room is not pictured or described on inn's web site. Our second room was essentially a suite; décor was pleasant white wicker. Other rooms were decorated with period furniture. Our Rooms both had a flat-screen T.V with poor reception.

Misc; The porch was not large enough to accommodate all guests at once, and you had to sign up for one of two breakfast times. This annoyed my husband, but didn't bother me at all.
Summer houses of the Victorian era are dark, and the common areas at the Architects Inn don't have a/c (I don't remember if our room did) , so on summer days the inside air can be humid. If you require ample lighting or a/c, then go elsewhere.

Room Tip: Third floor requires climbing a narrow, steep stair case, which can be awkward if you are big or car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Architects G, Owner at Architect's Inn - George Champlin Mason House, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
I kinda like this review but really confused by it. This guests says some nice things about our home but I think she missed the point about the house being a National Historic Property. Historic Preservation is our niche`. We provide modern amenities like flat screen tv's, free wifi, etcetera; however, we pride ourselves with having perfectly restored, historically, period furnishings and decor to match the house. A great majority of our customers seek us out for that reason and this is makes us unique.

One inaccuracy in this review is that the common area does not have air conditioning. This is completely not correct. We DO have air conditioning in every corner of the house. It is true that the house is dark. Victorian houses were built in a time period before air conditioning so they developed natural ways to cool the house and one main thing is to reduce the amount of direct sunlight on the southern side of the building. It makes the house darker and thus cooler.....but it is not like we don't have lights you can turn on. If it is too dark, just flick a switch and a magic ball of light appears. Problem solved.

She stayed in two beautiful rooms but by no means did she break the bank. They are considered our most economical rooms. She did not stay in the biggest rooms in the house but they still get ALL the same amenities of a terrific location, beautiful common areas, fantastic breakfast, same warm welcome, amazing concierge service and access to the pantry. For some people this would be enough if traveling on a tight budget. For special occasions we always recommend our larger rooms and suites. This was all told to them when they book or in their confirmation email so it is not a surprise when they arrive.

She is upset that she has to walk outside the front door to access the porch in the evenings. The reason for this is guest security and she should be happy to be able to feel comfortable knowing the house is a safe home to relax in. That is like complaining that there are locks on the room doors. That is silly,

Regarding breakfast....We care about guest comfort but more importantly we care about good food. Our chef wants the food to come out fresh for the customers and by having two breakfast sittings allows for more attention to detail for a gourmet breakfast. Brian works his magic in the kitchen and wants it presented just as fabulously.

We don't have much regarding rules. The front door locks automatically. It is the original front door of the mansion from the 19th Century so of course it needs two hands to open the door. It is 9 feet tall!! lol What do people expect?? automatic sliding glass doors in an historic house??? The main request we ask is to take your shoes off in the home to preserve the antique rugs and beautiful shining parquet floors. It is completely custom when visiting someone's home to do this and we want all of our guests to feel the comforts of home when they stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weare, New Hampshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

I selected the Architects Inn after looking through numerous Murder Mystery options in the New England area. I was planning a promotion for my sales teams based on a live Clue game. The only disappointment I can think of is that Tripadvisor only allows a 5 star rating, this place deserves 10! Nick, immediately made us feel right at home (our group was spread over a couple of Inn's Bliss and Pilgrim house being the other 2) Our room was lovely and the architecture is incredible. Our group spanned the age ranges from early 20's to 77 so I was very concerned that everyone would enjoy themselves. Oh, They did! comments after the event ranged from "one of the best weekends of my life" to "the food was incredible". Brian's cooking cannot be matched and his french toast souffle will make you cry! I begged for recipes :) Chatting with Brian in the mornings (I am an early riser) while everyone was sleeping was a great highlight. When we left, we honestly felt like we were leaving old friends. I can't say enough positive things about the location, home and wonderful people that run it. We are already planning another trip back and plan to make many more! You cannot compare with the personal touch, care and great laughter that Nick and Brian provide.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are unique! Nick mentioned he was designing a Steampunk inspired room that I can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

My husband and I rented this Inn for our wedding weekend. The wedding was elsewhere but being a large wedding there was plenty of activity around the house the whole time. The place is furnished with period antiques and beautifully arranged. The house was built for entertaining and every time people came in, they just sort of melted into the surroundings. There are ample places to sit and enjoy a snack or a bottle of wine and just soak up the atmosphere or engage in one of the lively conversations that always seemed to be going on.
The rooms upstairs are well appointed, parking is ample, bathrooms are updated and were equipped with quality towels and toiletries, linens were first class. All in all, we could not have asked for anything more. We loved it.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms on the second floor are top notch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Architects G, Owner at Architect's Inn - George Champlin Mason House, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
This was an amazing group of people. It was a wonderful weekend full of wit, laughs, romance and friendship. The wedding was beautiful and we were glad to be invited to the festivities. We really connected with them and felt like hosting family. Congratulations again. Text us with the pictures when they come in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

My partner and I stayed for just one night at Nick and Brian's beautiful bed and breakfast, but it will not be our last visit FOR SURE. The experience we had was amazing. Our bedroom was spacious and elegant. The bed was so soft and cozy I could have stayed there all day despite the lure of Newport and it's mansions. The breakfast was soooo good and so beautifully presented. The tub in our HUGE bathroom was such a treat after a long day of tromping about town. I soaked until I looked like a prune. (well, more like one anyways) The hosts are fun loving and attentive. Nick helped orient us to the events, sights and sounds of Newport. I could not recommend this Inn more highly.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coatesville, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at this elegant home. The entrance was warm and inviting, the living and dining rooms were comfortable and maintained with the grace and style of the late 1800’s. Breakfast was delicious and well served. But most of all, the service related to our reservation with late arrival and timely breakfast allowed us to begin our day on schedule. The process was smooth and convenient . In the evening we were able to walk to downtown Newport to enjoy the sights, shops and restaurants. Then we walked back to the quiet neighborhood for a relaxing rest. Great job! I would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: Ask the owners for their recommendation. They are very helpful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Architects G, Owner at Architect's Inn - George Champlin Mason House, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Great people. We would love to host them again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Architect's Inn - George Champlin Mason House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Architect's Inn - George Champlin Mason House

Address: 2 Sunnyside Place, Newport, RI 02840
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Architect's Inn - George Champlin Mason House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
History, Art, Architecture and Antiques adorn this fabulous Guesthouse. Located directly in the center of Newport in the sophisticated "Top of the Hill" neighborhood where the oldest mansions are still thriving as private homes. This mansion has quaint tourist rooms to large gorgeous romantic rooms. Something for everyone and a great breakfast to make your trip perfect. Massage therapists can come to your room for a relaxation session. Wireless printer and WiFi make it great for working while you enjoy tea in your room or on the verandah. The Innkeepers are born Rhode Islanders who can advise you to all the best restaurants that are off the beaten path. In the shoulder season, become a child again and play in Interactive Murder Mystery Weekends (all inclusive) where you are a character that gets wrapped up in a crazy, murderous plot as if you were in the movie Clue. Whatever the occasion, this Inn will sure be leaving an impression and warm memories to share with friends and family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Architect's Inn - George Champlin Mason House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Architects Inn - George Champlin Mason House Hotel Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Architect's Inn - George Champlin Mason House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.