We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our third time here,and it only gets better each time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Architect's Inn - George Champlin Mason House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Architect's Inn - George Champlin Mason House to your Saves list
Architect's Inn - George Champlin Mason House
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   2 Sunnyside Place, Newport, RI 02840   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 100 Newport B&B and Inns
Connecticut
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Our third time here,and it only gets better each time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

This trip,was the third time staying here. In the past I only traveled to Newport for the day,but after staying here at this Inn for a short stay, realized how much better it is to not rush home in the evening,but stay for awhile and really see Newport. There is so much to do here in this town,impossible to see much in a day visit.Once we stayed here,it all became clear that with the close walking distance from this place to the whole town,this was the best place to choose for a overnight stay,or longer stay.We twice spent four nights here,and I was never bored at all.This mansion is spectacular,a very Newport feel to the place.The owners are great,the breakfast is amazing,the rooms comfortable.I plan another visit here in Dec,hope they have rooms for me!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    14
    13
    6
    3
See reviews for
20
107
3
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for a night this weekend, as she was heading to Newport to get a tattoo done at Anchor Steam. We stayed the night at Architect's Inn, and immediately wished we had booked a longer trip - owners and the other staff were great, as was the breakfast. We had a great time talking with everyone. We'll definitely look to stay there next time we're in Newport.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

Just came from a weekend stay in Newport at the Architect's Inn. Beautiful Victorian inn (built 1873) with nicely appointed rooms. We stayed in the Perry Suite which was two rooms and a beautiful private bathroom. I had an opportunity to see two other rooms - and each looked really nice.
The innkeepers were really helpful with their knowledge of Newport and made great recommendations when we were undecided about how and where to spend the few days we had.
Being an historic property, the owners ask you not to wear shoes inside the house - so it might be helpful to know to bring slippers or something - but I was not at all put off by this and once you see the beautiful floors in the house, you'll no longer wonder why they ask this of guests.
Since parking at the mansions in town is plentiful and they are fairly far from the inn, it's advisable to drive to the mansions, but then park at the house for dinner in town as parking is difficult - and expensive. The walk back to the house is short - and beautiful.
Breakfast each morning was delicious and they offered a selection of juices and coffee / hot water for tea.
Really enjoyed our stay in Newport - and I'd highly recommend the Architect's Inn. I checked other places on the island and they were outrageously expensive. This was a really nice place to stay, very comfortable and a great value for the quality of the house, rooms and breakfast each morning.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

My husband and I spent a weekend at this inn for our 35th anniversary and were disappointed. Except when breakfast is served, the inn has no visible staff. To reach a manger, you have to call his cell and wait for a return call. The common rooms were dark and the small porch was pretty shabby.

Although the Inn knew it was our anniversary, there was no acknowledgment, such as fruit or flowers, that we have usually received. We stayed in the Perry suite, which was fine, except cots and other items were stored at the end of the hallway of the suite.

Shoes are required to be left at the Inn entrance, which gave off a sort of funky smell after the first day.

We bought the package with an extra each day, like a massage or boat tour, but would have paid the same or maybe a little less had we just paid the room rate.

On the plus side, the Inn is within walking distance of town, the breakfasts were spectacular, as were the cookies left out in the afternoon. The masseuse who comes right to the room was marvelous.

Newport itself was great but we would not choose this Inn again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pipersville, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

My husband and I chose Newport for our first vacation in 3 years, and we wanted to stay somewhere special for our 5-day trip. We were not disappointed! We stayed at the Architects Inn in the Belmont Room, which was beautifully decorated, clean, comfortable, and charming. It made us feel like went back in time. The bed was incredibly comfortable and we slept soundly for the most part. What we really appreciated, aside from the general atmosphere of class and Victorian charm, was the attentive, warm service we received from both the owner and the housekeeper. They were always on hand to answer questions, help with activity suggestions, and give directions. Breakfast was elegant and tasty, and we really enjoyed the extra touches like the afternoon snack and spring water on hand. We also enjoyed relaxing in the lower level of the house and the nice garden outside. What we really liked was that the B&B was within walking distance of pretty much everything we wanted to do in Newport, including the beach, mansions, and shops--which saved us money on parking! It was definitely a much-needed fairy-tale getaway and worth every penny.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2011

My family and I visited the Mansion during one of their Murder Mystery Weekends and I must say it was GREAT!! The whole extravaganza was so well put together and the people (which include the Mansion as well as the Murder Mystery company) put a lot of thought into the event. Every single detail was thought out and worked perfectly with everyones interest and personality!! It was so much fun. The Mansion was well very well kept and the food was great even the vegan/vegetarian dishes were to die for! The owners/innkeeper Nick, David and Brian are very accommodating, hospitable and funny, I love them. I would definitely recommend this place!

Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2010

First of all I would like to say that this Inn was the best place we have stayed in a very long time. We travel quite a bit and most places just hand you a key and want you to leave. We were only staying there a couple nights but there was enough information provided to stay a week or more. My husband was just amazed at the time the innkeepers put into making sure we were informed about the area regardless of what silly guide books say. I liked that they were also very talkative when we wanted but never hovered about like other live in guesthouses you typically find. I felt comfortable and it was never a bother. Breakfast smelled terrific though we never got up to eat in time because of the time change. We left with a smile and well rested.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Architect's Inn - George Champlin Mason House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Architect's Inn - George Champlin Mason House

Address: 2 Sunnyside Place, Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Architect's Inn - George Champlin Mason House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
History, Art, Architecture and Antiques adorn this fabulous Guesthouse. Located directly in the center of Newport in the sophisticated "Top of the Hill" neighborhood where the oldest mansions are still thriving as private homes. This mansion has quaint tourist rooms to large gorgeous romantic rooms. Something for everyone and a great breakfast to make your trip perfect. Massage therapists can come to your room for a relaxation session. Wireless printer and WiFi make it great for working while you enjoy tea in your room or on the verandah. The Innkeepers are born Rhode Islanders who can advise you to all the best restaurants that are off the beaten path. In the shoulder season, become a child again and play in Interactive Murder Mystery Weekends (all inclusive) where you are a character that gets wrapped up in a crazy, murderous plot as if you were in the movie Clue. Whatever the occasion, this Inn will sure be leaving an impression and warm memories to share with friends and family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Architect's Inn - George Champlin Mason House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Architects Inn - George Champlin Mason House Hotel Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Architect's Inn - George Champlin Mason House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.