We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't imagine anything nicer!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Francis Malbone House Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Francis Malbone House Inn to your Saves list
Francis Malbone House Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   392 Thames St., Newport, RI 02840   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Midweek January - March
Ranked #2 of 100 Newport B&B and Inns
Derry
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Can't imagine anything nicer!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2009

The location is the best. The rooms are the best. The food is the best. The bed is soooo comfortable. You name it, you expect it in a B & B, you've got it here!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    684
    31
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
56
487
5
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Harrison, NY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2009

My husband and I have been coming to Newport for the past 5 years. Recently, we had the opportunity to stay at the Francis Malbone House for July 27th and 28th. It was exactly what we had wanted and expected from reading the other reviews. In the past, we have been disappointed with some of the hotels being not as clean or as updated as they should be for the price of the rooms. I wanted something a little different and special but most of all, I did not want to be disappointed. After obtaining quotes from other hotels and establishments, I soon discovered that the Francis Malbone House was a well-kept secret. The cost of our room was the same as at the hotels except that we also received free-parking and an unbelievable breakfast in the morning. If that was not enough to convince me, there was also the afternoon tea time with colds drinks and the most delicious homemade pies, cookies, along with fruit, cheese and crackers. The minute that we walked into the house we knew that it was going to be great! Since parking is a big problem in Newport, we were able to park our car in the large parking lot behind the house which was so convenient. We stayed in the new section which was very clean and decorated according to the time period of the house. But, I would not hesitate to stay in the original section. Our king size bed was very comfortable and high so there was a step-stool available to climb into bed. It was also interesting being able to walk through the rest of the house or to sit in one of the rooms to relax. Each bedroom did have an air-conditioner and a fireplace which must be awesome in the winter. As other reviewers have stated, the gourmet breakfast was amazing. Every morning we had the choice of two creative hot selections (eggs, pancakes, etc.) and there was cereal, homemade scones, and yogurt with fruit. We ate our breakfast in the courtyard filled will beautiful planters and a small water fountain. After eating such original tasty homemade food, it was rather disappointing when we went out to other places and did not find the same quality. But, what makes this a wonderful place to stay is its location. It is perfectly located near the harbor and all of the action. I do plan on returning in October with another couple. This is obviously not a place for young children but a place that any couple can enjoy. I know that the owner Will and the staff will do everything possible to make sure that you have a wonderful time in Newport!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derry nh
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2009

We stayed in the Francis Malbone House for 2 nights on July 27 &28th. We selected it from the reviews on Trip Advisor. It exceeded our expections in location, rooms and food. I cannot understand how there are other inns in Newport that are higher on the list. Malbone is on Thames street in the heart of the shopping area and on the harbor. All the restaurants are easy walking distance as well as most of the sights.
The room we had had a sitting area and a private courtyard. It was a perfect room. Breakfast is outstanding in selection of offerings and presentation. They go way over what they have to for breakfast and I would go back just for the breakfast alone. Afternoon tea is another food treat with fresh baked pastries, iced coffee, iced tea and lemonade.
If you are going to Newport call Will Dewey for a room and you will be doing yourself a favor. The Francis Malbone House is a gem.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2009

I stayed here for a long weekend with friends and really recommend it. The place is a little pricey but prices are in line with other B&B's in the location. The main street location is perfect and there is no issue with it being noisy at all (my bedroom window faced the street and I never heard any outside noise). The breakfasts are AMAZING as is the afternoon tea time with lots of delicious appetizers and sweets. The staff is wonderful and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2009

All I can say is total PERFECTION...from check in to check out.
The Inn has 2 sections- we stayed in the newer section since it had king beds and a double jacuzzi.. The innkeeper/owner , Will, was wonderful the entire time we were there..from helping with numerous directions,changing restaurant reservations,and advising us on dining options.. The room was VERY pretty- with a working fireplace that we did not need in July. The bed is a plantation bed and you need a step to get up..it is a little slippery from being so waxxed so be careful. The BEDDING is totally luxurious-made in Italy and felt like silk as the thread count was so high..the MATTRESS was one of the MOST comfortable mattresses I have ever been on in a hotel/inn. We wanted to strap it to the roof of the car and take it away. Our ONLY negative was the jacuzzi..it is extremely DEEP but since it had a sliding glass door on it, it was hard to get in and out of..A BAR on the wall to hold onto would sure help. I am 5'6" and I felt like I needed a stool to get in and out of it. Breakfast every day had a huge variety- scones,coffee cakes,breads,ceral,yogurt and 2 Cooked to order choices daily...The cinnamon waffles with pears and raspberry sauce was WONDERFUL as was the Poached eggs with spinach,bacon and english muffin. The 3 pm tea was ideal every day- Ann Marie's Chocolate cake with chocolate ganache was FABULOUS and she does give the recipe.
We did the tea everyday and it was alway different..and a nice way to relax in the courtyard with the fountain running. The inn is DIRECTLY IN TOWN which makes it an IDEAL place to stay-esp. if you walk to walk to shops,the wharf,and restaurants.
Make sure you let Will book a tour for you of the Doris Duke Mansion- Rough Point. It is FANTASTIC and our guide was wonderful. We had dinner at Tucker's Bistro,Bouchards And Castle Inn..It was an anniversary weekend and we totally splurged- look under each restaurant for our reviews ! All I can say is PERFECTION---Go- enjoy this inn- we want to come back in the Fall just to use the fireplace for a romantic weekend.!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown Square, PA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2009

This is our second visit to the B&B. We felt like we were returning home. The facility is top notch. The staff very friendly and accomodating. Breakfast and teatime was imaginative and delicious, and can be taken in a charming courtyard with a tinkling fountain. The location was perfect, close to many attractions and restaurants. The innkeeper is very approachable, knowledgeable and very accomodating. We wil be back next year

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2009

We stayed here for it's good ratings on Trip advisor and were not disappointed. Very clean and service was excellent. We moved on to the Taj in Boston afterward (5 stars) and were disappointed after being spoiled at FB. Daily full breakfast and afternoon tea was terrific and saved us $$ in this quaint but expensive area of Newport. Also, they had their own parking which without it would be a major hassle. High threadcount sheets, whirlpool tub, TV, very comfortable. We stayed in newer wing "Will," the owner, was very helpful pointing out what to do and where to go. Have stayed in B&B's before with little old bathrooms and "homey" feel before with late night creaking floors. But we are trying to get away from home! This place was great.

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Francis Malbone House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Malbone House Inn

Address: 392 Thames St., Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Francis Malbone House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Colonial Mansion in the heart of downtown Newport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Tingo so you can book your Francis Malbone House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Francis Malbone House Hotel Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Francis Malbone House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.