We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Francis Malbone Is Our Home Away From Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Francis Malbone House Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Francis Malbone House Inn to your Saves list
Francis Malbone House Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   392 Thames St., Newport, RI 02840   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Midweek January - March
Ranked #2 of 100 Newport B&B and Inns
Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The Francis Malbone Is Our Home Away From Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We have been coming to Newport from Connecticut for nearly 30 years and once we found the Francis Malbone our search for our go-to Inn was over. It is beautiful and comfy and a great home base for all things Newport. It is walkable to every where and there is plenty of parking and if you know Newport there isn't much of that.
There is a wonderful tea every afternoon and there is a scrumptious breakfast that comes with the room every morning. The courtyard is beautiful in which to enjoy a glass of wine.
Our daughter was engaged here too, no question how wonderfully special this place is to us.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    684
    31
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
56
487
5
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Gracious, clean, cozy, delicious breakfast, location, location location....just a few words to describe this phenomenal Inn. This is our 50th time in Newport, and sadly our first at the Francis Malbone House. I wish we had knew about it years ago. On the advise of friends, we booked our room. Will, the host, makes you feel welcome the moment you walk in. I would recommend this Inn to everyone! Rooms are impressive, the beds comfortable, the breakfasts were impeccable. The location is right in the heart of Newport which made dropping off my wife's shopping bags easy. Free parking and never had to use the car while we were there. It's relaxing atmosphere made me hate how fast time flies. Easily would have stayed 2 months if we could. Do yourself a favor, and make a great decision.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Newport Tourist information bureau sent us here, what a wonderful choice for us. Beautiful, we did not want to leave! I would rate the afternoon tea in the garden as one of the highlights of our visit to New England. This hotel is wonderful and I would recommend anyone visiting Newport to stay here.

Room Tip: We stayed @ the very top, room smaller than some of the others, but quiet, clean and sooo comfy. Al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I have visited the Francis Malbone House 3 times in the past year and love, love, love it! My last visit was an extended stay (2 weeks) and I hated to leave. Will and his fabulous staff truly understand that details matter! From the moment you arrive, you feel welcomed and at home. You can't wait to go to breakfast and afternoon tea is worth planning your day around. I have a daughter at university in Newport and I'm thrilled that for the next 4 years the Francis Malbone House will be my home.

Room Tip: I've stayed in 5 different room and every one is charming, clean and inviting
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeper02840, Owner at Francis Malbone House Inn, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for the kind words Sharman! You are now part of our Malbone family and if your daughter ever needs anything while she is at Salve makes sure she knows she can rely on us!!
Hope you had a safe trip home-

Regards,

Will
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We would like to echo the many positive reviews for The Francis Malbone House. We just celebrated our 25th Wedding Anniversary so we wanted a special getaway. I was nervous coming from Philadelphia as we knew nothing about Newport, RI, but Anne Maria made me feel so comfortable on the phone that I decided to make The Francis Malbone House our choice. We just spent the weekend there and it really is a wonderfully charming historical little hideaway. It is so relaxing and peaceful. The staff, including the innkeeper, Will are so generous with their time. They enjoy listening to your experiences and were so helpful in providing information about the places to see and the Newport Mansions. The made dinner reservations for us at Jo's Bistro. We had so much fun there with the staff and owner. They too, made our evening memorable.

We sat in the "red room" each morning to read the paper and enjoy several delicious cups of coffee. We then moved to the courtyard garden where french doors go out to a garden with beautiful wrought iron tables and a trickiling fountian with litlle birds taking in water. Breakfast was delicious and all the staff greets you when they walk by but quietly. The location is the best. We walked everywhere. Our room was quaint and I think the smallest but it was still wonderful. It is very clean and well kept. We took a peek around at some of the other rooms when we were leaving and we can't wait to return. Thank you to everyone at Francis Malbone House for truly making our stay so wonderful!!

It is really a wonderful place. You will not be disappointed. Newport, Rhode Island is a beautiful place. The weather was picture perfect to visit the mansions and to stroll along the Cliff Walk.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeper02840, Owner at Francis Malbone House Inn, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Jill,

Thank you for the nice comments about the Malbone House. I'm glad you were able to relax and enjoy the inn for your anniversary. The owners of Jo's Bistro said they had a nice conversation with you both! Glad you liked our suggestion. Enjoy this beautiful Fall weather and we look forward to hosting you again!

Will
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The afternoon tea, I miss immediately once back to regular life. The amazing full breakfast in the morning, the luxurious bathrobes, the fireplace in each room. It is all so perfect and amazing. This particular visit, we chose a courtyard room that had french doors opening out to the beautiful couryard. We spent so much time relaxing in the open air, yet secluded from the rest of the world. We are steps away from the restaurants, so we do not have to worry about driving or parking. The staff are very friendly and helpful. I hope to never stay anywhere else while relaxing in Newport.

Room Tip: Each room is beautiful and different. The Harborview rooms and the Courtyard rooms are the roomiest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Quaint, clean and the beautifully kept grounds are second only to the atmosphere, attitude and professionally friendly staff. Don't judge the outside; within the walls will transform your thoughts. Absolutely loved it here.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Francis Malbone House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Malbone House Inn

Address: 392 Thames St., Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Francis Malbone House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Colonial Mansion in the heart of downtown Newport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Tingo so you can book your Francis Malbone House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Francis Malbone House Hotel Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Francis Malbone House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.