We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great b&b, friendly staff, perfect location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Francis Malbone House Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Francis Malbone House Inn to your Saves list
Francis Malbone House Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   392 Thames St., Newport, RI 02840   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 101 Newport B&B and Inns
1 review
“Great b&b, friendly staff, perfect location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

We had a great experience staying at this b&b. The staff is extremely, friendly and helpful! It was very regal inside and relaxing! We enjoyed all Newport had to offer. Great restaurants, a sunset sail aboard the Aquidneck, and all the great sights on cliff walk. I would definitely recommend this b&b and I am sure we will stay here again in the future!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeper02840, Manager at Francis Malbone House Inn, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you, thank you.
What a lovely review. Will and I really enjoy welcoming all of our guests to the Inn and making them feel at home, we are very fortunate to have such beautiful surrounding to work in and of course we get to meet such wonderful people!

We look forward to welcoming you both back to the Inn.

Kind Regards
Anne Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    672
    31
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
53
481
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
ridgefield ct
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I have been trying to find new words to describe our stay at The Francis Malbone House but its all been said! What makes this Inn outstanding is the attention to detail.Will greets everyone at breakfast and he obviously listens to his guests.I commented on a dish that I enjoyed . I got the recipe and a surprise........Will left a bowl of it in our room fridge!!, so funny.
We arrived in a heavy rainstorm but all was forgotten when we walked through that beautiful blue door and met Anne Maria and her warm welcome.Our trip was a gift in so many ways! Thanks Will and Anne Maria.

Room Tip: All are good but we enjoyed the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

This place is amazing!! The staff were super friendly and helpful, the property is beautiful and the food was great. We weren't thrilled about the breakfast on sunday but that's really more of a personal preference. Afternoon tea was a nice bonus and eating in the garden was truly lovely. We stayed in a room right off the courtyard and while you might think noise would be an issue, it wasn't and we loved it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We had a fantastic stay at Francis Malbone House, 3 nights of a 16 night road trip taking in The Adirondacks and Cape Cod as well.
Our stay at Francis Malbone was one of the highlights, warm and friendly staff.......thanks Elizabeth for the restaurant recommendations and the reservations, beautiful accommodations and superb food, they never stop feeding you! The Malbone Monte was superb, I have never tasted anything like it, my compliments to Sue who gave us excellent breakfasts.
Finally, the location is second to none. We entered through the parking lot and quiet courtyard garden not imagining that we could fall out of the front door onto a bustling street right in the heart of things, yet it was never noisy, we were never disturbed and the house retained its own quiet charm.
I only wish we could visit Newport more often but from the UK it's a bit far for the weekend! Rest assured, however, we will return!

Room Tip: We chose a garden side room which was perfectly big enough for 3 nights and there was enough storage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Rock, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

The Francis Malbone house is spectacular! It's one of the best B&B's anywhere. The staff is friendly. The customer service is fantastic. Breakfast is amazing inside or in the beautiful courtyard garden. The afternoon tea is wonderful. The rooms are beautiful. The place is immaculate and well-kept. It's located within walking distance of all the shops and restaurants. We loved everything about it. Make your reservations today, because the placed will be booked tomorrow. We can't say enough about it. Will, your place is incredible. We hope to come back many times. We will recommend this place to everyone we know.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeper02840, Manager at Francis Malbone House Inn, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Robert,

Thank you so much for such a great review, it makes our day! After having a wonderful summer season we are looking forward to the fall - it is always one of my favorite times of year for baking. Pumpkin rolls, apple pies and warm cider, what's not to love?

I look forward to welcoming you both back to the Inn.

Kind Regards
Anne Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simsbury, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

The Francis Malbone House is a destinisation in itself! The accommodations, food, and host were all exceptional! We look forward to making this Newport B&B part of our itinerary each fall after we drop our youngest off at college!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeper02840, Manager at Francis Malbone House Inn, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you! Enjoy your "quiet time" at home - they will be back with laundry in tow before you know it!

Kind Regards
Anne Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Francis Malbone House did not disappoint, especially because of the fantastic service. After coming off a quick business trip I needed a place to 'camp out' for an afternoon to complete some work and get laundry done. Without hesitation the Malbone team got me squared away on their network and completed my laundry (for a small fee). Their courtyard is a great 'office for the day'! Breakfast each morning was as advertised and ease of access to everything along Thames street (and beyond) allowed us to fill our days enjoying all Newport has to offer. I recommend this B&B as a classy and unique way to experience Newport.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeper02840, Manager at Francis Malbone House Inn, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
So glad that you enjoyed your time with us here at the Inn - doing some work doesn't seem nearly as bad when you can do it in the courtyard!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Inn

Kind Regards
Anne Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Francis Malbone House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Malbone House Inn

Address: 392 Thames St., Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 101 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Francis Malbone House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Colonial Mansion in the heart of downtown Newport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Francis Malbone House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Francis Malbone House Hotel Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Francis Malbone House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.