We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter in Newport RI” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Francis Malbone House Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Francis Malbone House Inn to your Saves list
Francis Malbone House Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   392 Thames St., Newport, RI 02840   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Midweek January - March
Ranked #2 of 100 Newport B&B and Inns
Ellington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Winter in Newport RI”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

There wasn't much to do in Newport as many things were closed. It was cold outside, but the Malbone house was cozy and comfy. We had dinner at the White Horse Tavern which was a great place for a winter dinner...very dark and warm fires in the fireplaces. the food was good too. Our room at the Malbone H.was lovely with a nice fireplace...on the first floor, right inside the door. It would be nice in the warm weather as there is a little courtyard. However, my husband and I both prefer the old part of the Inn. Breakfast was wonderful and so was tea....a lovely place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    683
    31
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
55
487
5
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Trumbull, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

As always, the service was impeccable, the staff extremely friendly and attentive. The house is spotless, the breakfast and tea was scrumptious. the Irish coffee served parade side was a welcome treat. thank you once again. will definitely return!

Room Tip: All are perfect, unless stairs are a problem for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeper02840, Manager at Francis Malbone House Inn, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Karen & Kevin,

I had such a lovely weekend with you and all your family memebers, it was so lovely to be with lots of Irish people to celebrate St. Patrick's Day.
The Irish Coffee really do hit the spot while your are taking in all of the festivities.

See you soon.

Kind Regards
Anne Maria & Will
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

With our numerous trips to Newport, RI, we had stayed at several of town's B&Bs. While each has been nice, my husband and I always come back to the Francis Malbone House. From the staff, to the comfy accomodations and impeccable service truly reminding you that you are away from home, to the yummy breakfast and tea time, Newport stays are made more more memorable by spending your "down" time a the Malbone.

Thank you to my hubby and to the staff at the Malbone for making my birthday stay a real pleasure.

Room Tip: there are no elevators so if you do not like steps ask for the 1st or 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeper02840, Manager at Francis Malbone House Inn, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
It was so nice to have you both return to the Francis Malbone House and of course to celebrate your birthday made your visit extra special.

We just love welcoming returning guests, it makes the Inn feel like home for us all. We hope to see you and your husband at the Francis Malbone again soon.

Kind Regards
Anne Maria & Will
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walpole, ma
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This was our 4th stay at the Francis Malbone House and once again we had a wonderful time. The afternoon tea and deserts were home made and incredable! Breakfeast was great too.

The staff is great. Check out Zeldas for dinner. Very romantic!

Room Tip: Get a room with a double jacuzzi and bring a bottle of champain
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Of all the inns in New England that we have visited, I think that Malbone House is our favorite. We recently stayed at the Mabone House for the second time in January. We love the Newport area in the off season with the lack of crowds and, of course, the off-season rates. On both visits, we really had a wonderful time at the inn. We find everything very enjoyable. Our favorite, perhaps, are the wonderfull public spaces in the original house. We take particular pleasure in coming back to the inn in the afternoon, partaking of all the delicious baked goods in the dining room, and relaxing in one of the several common rooms in front of the fireplace while reading and enjoying a drink. The staff is always very welcoming, helpful, and pleasant. We also appreciate the beautifully appointed rooms and the wonderful breakfast. We will undoubtedly come back again and again to enjoy the warmth, comfort, and hospitality that this inn provides.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cohoes, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I love everything about the Francis Malbone!! The classical music, ambiance, common rooms, bedrooms, the breakfast dining room, afternoon tea, the location, the staff etc.... Will and Ann Marie are the best!! Our pampering at breakfast by Sue and her sweet personality!! I can't think of anything to complain about!! We return year after year!! We are never disappointed!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are gorgeous!! We have stayed in almost all of them at one time or another! No matter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeper02840, Manager at Francis Malbone House Inn, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Mr. & Mrs. Jordan,

Thank you so much for your very kind words and compliments about the Francis Malbone and our team. We try very hard to make every guest's stay with us a memorable one (especially after all these year's!)

It is always a pleasure to have you stay with us, getting a chance to chat a catch up on the year's events is a delight - our New Year would not be the same without your visit.

We look forward to seeing you both again next year.

Kind Regards
Anne Maria & Will
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Ridge N.J.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Super clean. Very courteous staff, friendly and helpful. Centrally located. Great breakfasts and afternoon tea. Highly recommend. Will visit again. Ann Marie was very helpful and made us feel very welcomed. The large common rooms with fireplaces blazing in the afternoon with a very delicious tea, hit the spot after a day of sightseeing, especially in February!

Room Tip: Room with a fireplace on the first floor with a private garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeper02840, General Manager at Francis Malbone House Inn, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Nancy & John,

Thank you so much for your gracious compliments about the Francis Malbone House and our team.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay here with us; it was a pleasure speaking with you and getting to know you a little. Your children are absolutely right - they are very lucky to have your help!

As you found out: Newport has so much to offer even in the off season, even though I think that is difficult to stay away from the cozy fireplaces!

We hope to see you sometime in the future at the Inn.

Kind Regards
Anne Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Francis Malbone House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Malbone House Inn

Address: 392 Thames St., Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Francis Malbone House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Colonial Mansion in the heart of downtown Newport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Francis Malbone House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Francis Malbone House Hotel Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Francis Malbone House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.