We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicest place I ever stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Francis Malbone House

Save Saved
You added Francis Malbone House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Francis Malbone House
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   392 Thames St., Newport, RI 02840   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 101 Newport B&B and Inns
1 review
“Nicest place I ever stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

Outstanding place, great location , great staff, great food! Our third trip and it gets better every time. Will pays attention to all the details. Common rooms are all comfy with fireplaces going all the time. Enjoyed the honor bar and ample newspapers in the morning. Good cable and Bose and Sony stations all over the place. Ample parking with a great center location. Bars and resturants in walking distance

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    554
    26
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
44
388
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Jersey City, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Very charming, we happened to stay there during the Nemo winter storm, so we got a lot of mileage out of the room it's features.

The service was excellent, even though the staff was limited because of the storm. It's in a very convenient part of the town, since we couldn't drive anywhere, we had to walk (to the places that were open, which weren't many), and we found that everything we needed was within walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I visited Francis Malbone house last Christmas with my husband as a romantic gateway. We really enjoyed the place and the food. Especially, I was very impressed when they prepared the dairy-free food for my husband as I requested. Since the place was really great and food was delicious, I visited there again with my parents recently.The service was excellent and afternoon tea and breakfast were outstanding. I really enjoyed the foods since it was not too sweat and salty. Every plates were very delicate and delicious! Also, the room was very cozy and beautiful with historic decorations. My parents really liked this place at all : ) So, I would like to recommend Francis Malbone house for family trip as well as for a couple's romantic gateway!! I will definitely stay there again if I visit Newport again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This place may seem a bit salty, price-wise, but its worth it. Great B&B with excellent service and well appointed rooms and common areas. No little kids running around or anything makes it a quiet gem.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We spent a few days in Newport with 4 other couples. Although many attractions there are seasonal, we were very pleased with the accommodations. The Francis Malbone House is beautiful and traditional as well as meticulously maintained. The breakfast was amazing and the afternoon tea an array of sweet and savory delights. We will be returning again next year with more friends. The off season special utilizing their gift certificates made for and excellent Christmas gift!

Room Tip: The web site is wonderfully done--the room was exactly as expected.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guilford, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Perfect spot for a get-a way. Well appointed, spacious immaculate rooms,comfortable beds, charm everywhere. Working fireplaces in rooms and common rooms, wonderful breakfast, friendy staff. Will return soon

Room Tip: Rooms in the front are probably noisy in season from car and pedestrian traffic. Garden rooms in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We're almost reluctant to write a great review on the the Francis Malbone, as it might encourage more people to go! Great for them but not for us, though we hardly think it is a secret. This is our third trip there and even though we've been to numerous B&Bs in this country and in England and Ireland, the Francis Malbone is without a doubt our favorite. From the moment you check in to the moment you leave, you are pampered and treated like family. The breakfasts are scrumptious and the afternoon tea is like nothing we have ever seen before( who needs lunch when you are constanly been fed with delicious homemade food).

Our first year we went by ourselves, giving our visit as a Christmas present to each other. The following year friends of ours decided to do the same thing and joined us. This year we had five couples and we all want to return again next year, probably with more of our friends!

The owner, Will, is always checking on us and making sure we are having a great time. He is very proud of the Francis Malbone (and should be) and loves to tell us about the history and the renovations they have made! If you get a chance, speak to him and he will tell you fascinating stories.

Ann Maria, what can we say about her? She is the manager and is one of the main reasons, we return! She is by far the most genuinely kind and helpful person you could ever meet. Nothing is too much trouble for her and she always has a smile on her face! When I mentioned that friends of ours were going to Ireland (she orginally comes from there) she wrote down a list of restaurants and pubs they would like near to where they are staying and not far from where she grew up. Who does that? We absolutely adore her!!

Will, you have a gem in Ann Maria and I'm very sure that you appreciate her as much as we do. If she ever left, we would be devastated! Hold on to her!

We also want to thank Elizabeth and Sue, who were also wonderful, again making our stay there very special.

Thank you again for your hospitality and we will definitely be there again next year....

Kind Regards,

Charlie & Ginger Tandoi

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Francis Malbone House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Malbone House

Also Known As:
Francis Malbone House Hotel Newport
Francis Malbone House Hotel
Address: 392 Thames St., Newport, RI 02840
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 101 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Francis Malbone House 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Colonial Mansion in the heart of downtown Newport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Francis Malbone House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Francis Malbone House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.