We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Francis Malbone House Inn

Save Saved
You added Francis Malbone House Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Francis Malbone House Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   392 Thames St., Newport, RI 02840   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Newport Music Festival
Ranked #2 of 101 Newport B&B and Inns
Bala Cynwyd
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Stay here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Stay here if you want a perfect location for dining and shopping, a bountiful and delicious breakfast every morning, a sumptuous spread for tea each afternoon, a lovely oasis of calm and comfort, beautiful and comfortable bedrooms, public rooms and a gorgeous courtyard and an innkeeper who is knowledgeable, helpful and friendly. I can't think of a reason to stay anywhere else. The innkeeper Will makes it look easy -- but to do everything so right takes a well chosen staff and a thoughtful plan. An absolutely delightful place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    603
    27
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
46
428
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

I'm not sure what I can add to the other reviews - our stay at the Francis Malbone House was wonderful. I think there is real difference when the innkeeper is also the owner. Will has every reason to feel proud of what he has accomplished at Malbone House. Our room was beautiful and immaculate. The common rooms are lovely and beckoning, but as we had perfect weather, we preferred to spend our free time in the private courtyard. I think you get a lot of bang for your buck - in addition to a gorgeous bedroom/bathroom, you have free parking and a feast at breakfast and again at "tea". You walk out the front door and you are in the thick of the shops and restaurants and yet Malbone House is like a quiet oasis amidst all of the excitement that is Thames. It's a very shot walk to the waterfront - more restaurants, entertainment, etc. The only time we used our car was to drive to Second Beach, Fort Adams or Ocean Drive. I hated to leave Newport and can't wait to come back. We plan to stay at Malbone House (or Will's other property - Hilltop) on all of our future trips.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havertown, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

A beautiful room with courtyard, four poster bed, jacuzzi, and marble bathroom. Quiet, yet right in the midst of downtown, with a private parking lot and a beautiful open courtyard. A B & B but right up there with any of the beautiful hotels in the country. The owner/ innkeeper Will is hands on from carrying in your luggage, to serving the breakfast, and answering any questions you have - he is extremely proud of his establishment and it shows. The new AC unit is whisperquiet and efficient, the towels are actually soft, the breakfast and afternoon tea are sumptuous and varied for everyone's taste. The beauty and history of Newport were enhanced by our wonderful stay at the Francis Malbone House - we will certainly return.

Room Tip: We chose the courtyard room - first floor, no steps - fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethel, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

First class accommodations.
Outstanding breakfast and afternoon tea - delicious.
Convenient location.
Will is a gracious host who gives solid recommendations for places to dine and sights to see.
The staff is very helpful and friendly.
We highly recommend the Francis Malbone House and plan to return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamden, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Simply the best. Where else can you go and feel at home and a pampered guest at the same time! The rooms are beautiful, the breakfast is super and the staff and owners are the best. If you don't stay here you are missing a great Newport experience.

Room Tip: Stay often and experience all the rooms. All are unique!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

My husband and I have been coming to Francis Malbone House for several years now. We love the gracious hospitality of the owner, Will, and his staff. The rooms are beautifully decorated, the beds wonderfully firm and comfortable, and the food is outstanding. We began coming in the fall years ago and then decided to experience Newport in the summer. Breakfast in the courtyard of the Inn is one of our favorite things. It is hard to believe that this quiet, relaxing place, with the fountain, large pots of plants, tables, and adirondack chairs is just steps off busy Thames street. This location makes it possible to walk to almost everything you would want to see in the busy waterfront Newport area. We will be returning, again and again!

Room Tip: The courtyard suites and rooms are our favorites with plenty of room and king-sized beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Frances Malbone is a lovely welcoming sanctuary. Everyone was extremely helpful and charming. Breakfasts are somethings to look forward to and we were able to eat in the courtyard surrounded by well tended shrubs, a lovely garden and the sound of the water fountain. Our room was at the back of the house and was very quiet with good air-conditioning. Our boys were at the front and their room was lovely but the air-conditioning slightly noisier. The house is well situated minutes from very nice restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Francis Malbone House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Malbone House Inn

Address: 392 Thames St., Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 101 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Francis Malbone House Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Colonial Mansion in the heart of downtown Newport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Francis Malbone House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Francis Malbone House Hotel Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Francis Malbone House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.