We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Armistead Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Armistead Cottage
55 Hunter Ave., Newport, RI 02840   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$149 Queen $169 King
Ranked #15 of 101 Newport B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I stayed at Armistead Cottage for a winter weekend get away and had such a wonderful time! Romana & Charles were awesome – warm & friendly with fun quirky personalities! They were full of helpful information (and deals) for local attractions and places to eat and places to shop.

I travel several times a year and have high expectations when it comes to my hotel (in this case B&B) and I couldn't have asked for anything better! I had a super comfortable Queen bed that offered me the best sleep I have had in a long time - it was really peaceful, warm with an awesome fireplace and not just the bedroom - but the whole house was unbelievably spotless! The décor is vintage ornamented and quite adorable!

The B&B was on a quiet residential street close to local attractions (Cliff Walk & beach, the Wharf & Thames Street shopping and the Mansions) and the neighborhood seemed very safe.

I will definitely be visiting again and will definitely be staying at Armistead Cottage with Romana & Charles!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    191
    11
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
10
146
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I’ve stayed at the Armistead Cottage twice and both times were perfect vacations. Romana and Charles are two of the nicest people you will ever meet. The food was excellent, the hospitality was exceptional and the ambiance is something you must see for yourself to believe. Do yourself a favor and book your stay here if you are planning to see or return to Newport.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hartford, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Armistead Cottage was our first B&B experience as well as our first trip to Newport 4 years ago and we've been coming back ever since! We love everything about Newport but we wouldn't even think of staying anywhere but Armistead Cottage as it is part of the Newport experience that we love so much. Romana is the perfect hostess! She has never steered us wrong in her suggestions for dinner, various attractions and exploring. Our trip in Oct. was for our honeymoon and we never even considered going anywhere else! We love the charming house and large porch and always book the same room which is beautiful. Delicious breakfasts made with fresh ingredients from her garden is yet another delightful experience. We look forward to our week in Newport all year!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

You cannot stay anywhere better in Newport for Bed & Breakfast than Romana's Armistead Cottage.

Welcoming and truly helpful and caring hosts, good food, great location. Rooms are perfectly clean and tidy with a homely atmosphere. Romana knows Newport inside out and only recommedns places she knows and loves from personal experience.

Of course there is the added bonus of the personally guided tour of the Carrot Museum, a truly unique experience, ANYWHERE in the world.

Room Tip: Wherever Ro places you, you will not be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

BOOK IT IF YOU CAN GET IT !!!!! : ). Staying at the Armistead Cottage will be one of our favorite memories of our first trip to Newport. You will not find a more accommodating, helpful, welcoming hostess than Romana. She recommended the best places to eat and visit from a priceless locals perspective, and nailed it every time. The cottage is an easy walk to great sightseeing when the weather is right but start your sight seeing right there. Her impeccably neat home is furnished creatively and artistically with spectacular antiques. Do NOT short yourself time to REALLLY look through the carrot museum. Yes, you heard me. Her seemingly effortless breakfasts were delicious, and the conversation always warm and funny. We highly recommend staying here, and will be back for sure.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

What a great stay we had here. Romana is the most friendly of hostesses, even providing home made cookies in the bedroom, and we felt really at home for the 4 nights we stayed at Armistead Cottage.Beautiful property both inside and out. Delicious cooked breakfast, which varied each morning. Good location as easy 10 minute walk into all amenities of Newport, including the Mansion Houses which are not to be missed. Lots of shops and restaurants in town and at the harbour area. Would love to return.

Room Tip: Lilac Room was a good choice, beautifully decorated and furnished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

we felt welcome the minute the door opened and romana greeted us...it was as though we knew her forever and were so impressed with their home...the great breakfasts and spotless house was over the top....met charles, also, and had a wonderful time chatting with him..how lucky we were, on our first trip to newport, ri...to find such a lovely place to stay and terrific couple that sure takes pride in making everyone feel at home.. thank you both for everything

Room Tip: i would absolutely recommend staying at armistead cottage..its like a home away from home
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Armistead Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armistead Cottage

Address: 55 Hunter Ave., Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 101 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Armistead Cottage is a Victorian style bed and breakfast with two guest rooms offering elegant king or queen accommodations and all the comforts of home, such as air conditioning, private bathrooms, romantic fireplaces, flat screen cable televisions, with DVD/CD and WiFi. A full gourmet breakfast is included with your stay as well as free on site parking and more!!!! We are located within walking distance of Cliff Walk the beach and the beautiful downtown harbor with all its restaurants and shops. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Armistead Cottage Hotel Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Armistead Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Armistead Cottage to your Saves list