We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best b&b in Newport RI” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Armistead Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Armistead Cottage
Save
You added Armistead Cottage to your Saves list
55 Hunter Ave., Newport, RI 02840   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$139 Queen $159 King
Ranked #12 of 100 Newport B&B and Inns
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best b&b in Newport RI”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

For our second trip to Newport RI (a wonderfull place, have to mention) staying at Armistead Cottage was mandatory,
Romana is the best host, period.
Her smile, her stories, her breakfeasts, the rooms, he house (only a 10 minutes walk to 1st beach, wow). Everything, and everyone (Romana and Charles) at Armistead Cottage says welcome.
Tiger, again, says thanks :-)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlieandRo, Owner at Armistead Cottage, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
It is so wonderful to read you kind words, thanks again Tiger for sharing with others your stay at Armistead Cottage. It is so nice to get to talk with you and your friends and share Newport. Hope to see you next year. Wishing you all the best, Romana and Charles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    11
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
13
153
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
East Setauket, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Stayed 2 nights at the Armistead Cottage with our daughter & son-in-law ! Charles was there to welcome us with a smile at 12:30 am when we arrived..at 9:00 am Ramona, busy making a creative and delicious breakfast, took the time to say hello and right away we knew, this was our home away from home ! Immaculately clean and comfortable, beautiful & imaginative decor, not to mention the carrot room where one cannot spend enough time browsing the carrot themed surroundings. There is no place else to stay in Newport ! THANK YOU RAMONA & Charlies, for a most enjoyable weekend, Leslie & David p.s. I was thinking that Brooklyn could use a B& B
WEINER STYLE, guranteed "no vacancy" ! just puttin it out there :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlieandRo, Owner at Armistead Cottage, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thanks you so much for your kind words and sharing your experience with other Tripadvisor readers. It was so wonderful meeting all of you and talking about NYC and Whitestone. Maybe next time you come to Newport I will try to stay up late to welcome you. Thanks for the B&B idea in Brooklyn, you never know. Wishing you all the best and looking forward to your return, Romana and Charles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marblehead, MA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

well any place with a carrot museum is going to be fun. It is clear that Ramona has a real zest for life which she shares with her guests. Breakfast was great, dinner recommendations spot on.
It is a bit of a walk from the Newport waterfront and one may want to hit the beach in Middleton which is closer if you are a beach person. The place has a lot of charm which is what one wants in a B&B (well other than a bed and breakfast).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlieandRo, Owner at Armistead Cottage, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thanks you so much for sharing the experience you had at Armistead Cottage. It was nice meeting both of you and getting info on the festival, maybe next year I will try to attend. Looking forward to your return visit and wishing both of you all the best, Romana and Charles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Just back from two nights at Armistead Cottage. Thank you Romana for a great stay! Met Charles briefly when we arrived but spoke to him on the phone several months ago when booking. He was also a pleasure to deal with. You are too funny Romana and as native New Yorkers we really appreciated your quick wit! LOL

The B&B is located several blocks from town, a doable walk, a little easier going down than coming back. Approximately a 15 minute walk. After touring three of the mansions and a portion of Cliff Walk in the awful heat yesterday,went back to shower up and Romana was kind enough to drop us off at a restaurant that we had decided on for dinner, so nice of her! We strolled around after dinner and were lucky to catch a cab back to the house, only $4.50 plus tip. Stayed in the Victorian room, ample room, window a/c, private bath and very comfy bed, slept like a log both nights! Enjoyed sitting on the porch at night with a glass of wine after two busy days. Husband and I said we will definitely book here again!

Claire and Paul

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlieandRo, Owner at Armistead Cottage, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. We are so happy that we helped make your stay in Newport a wonderful one. It was nice to talk about NYC, it is a great place and I do enjoy remenicing. Hope that you stay cool this summer.
With best wishes, Romana and Charles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I stayed at Armistead from June 30 - July 2 with my Girlfriend. The home is beautiful, immaculately clean and very welcoming. The rooms are spacious and have all the amenities you could want. Romana and her husband are an absolute pleasure to deal with, having an extremely light and funny demeanor about them. The breakfast prepared by Romana was absolutely delicious. They are full of useful suggestions of what to see, and are not in any way obtrusive or imposing. I highly recommend this to anyone looking for a great weekend getaway!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlieandRo, Owner at Armistead Cottage, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thanks you so much for your kind words. It was our pleasure to host you in our B&B and to help make your stay in Newport a great one. We are looking forward to your return trip. With best wishes, Romana and charles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

Absolutely amazing,great hospitality and very accomodating.id certainly recommend this bed and breakfast!! Thanx romana for an amazing experience in newport. Cant wait to do it again

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlieandRo, Owner at Armistead Cottage, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thanks so much for your review and your kind words. It was my pleasure meeting both of you. Chris thank you for your service and the freedom you help to provide to all of us. Looking forward to seeing you both soon, have a great summer, Romana and Charles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotch Plains, New Jersey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

This was our first trip to Newport. We had originally planned to rent a condo, but when it didn't work out we found this adorable B&B. Our room was a good size for two people, (we had the Lilac Room) very clean and an overall nice space. We loved the decor of the home, and there were a lot of small personal touches. Romana takes great care of her home. She is amazing! Very funny and accommodating. She was great with recommendations for restaurants and attractions.

We loved the breakfast! It was something different and creative every day. The location of the Armistead Cottage is great! Very close the Cliff Walk and Bellevue Avenue/the Newport mansions.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlieandRo, Owner at Armistead Cottage, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words, I am so glad that we were able to make your stay in Newport enjoyable. We are so glad that you found us and we do hope that you will return to Newport in the near future. With best wishes, Romana and Charles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Armistead Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armistead Cottage

Address: 55 Hunter Ave., Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Armistead Cottage is a Victorian style bed and breakfast with two guest rooms offering elegant king or queen accommodations and all the comforts of home, such as air conditioning, private bathrooms, romantic fireplaces, flat screen cable televisions, with DVD/CD and WiFi. A full gourmet breakfast is included with your stay as well as free on site parking and more!!!! We are located within walking distance of Cliff Walk the beach and the beautiful downtown harbor with all its restaurants and shops. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Armistead Cottage Hotel Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Armistead Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.