We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect place to stay in Newport” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marshall Slocum Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Marshall Slocum Guest House to your Saves list
Marshall Slocum Guest House
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   29 Kay Street, Newport, RI 02840   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$135 Spring Special
Ranked #12 of 99 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Yorktown Heights, New York, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The perfect place to stay in Newport”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

My wife and I just got back from our first trip to Newport and our first time staying at a Bed & Breakfast. We weren't sure what to expect from either but we were blown away by the town AND the B&B. First off the overall inn was large, beautiful and charming. Our room (The Rose Room) was comfortable and super clean. The inn supplies off street parking, free wifi and you truly feel like you are away when sitting on the back porch eating breakfast in the morning. As for breakfast it was great, the owner (Chef Mark) makes a mean omelet and amazing french toast. The staff was friendly and accommodating and helped us out with great recommendations. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwilsonri, Owner at Marshall Slocum Guest House, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Thank you for your kind words Adam. I enjoyed spending time with you and your wife and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    60
    12
    8
    5
See reviews for
22
195
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
huizen
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Marshall Slocum Guest House is one of the best in New Port, 5 minutes walk to the harbor. Mark the owner is very helpful and kind and prepares a wonderful breakfast. The house is very tasteful decorated. We stayed with our family and I absolutely recommend this place!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwilsonri, Owner at Marshall Slocum Guest House, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you for your kind review and feedback. We enjoyed having you at the Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

My husband and I stayed here in early August and loved it so much we are returning in October! The staff was very friendly and helpful. Mark, the innkeeper, was a wonderful host. His breakfasts were just delicious, even the presentation was great. He took the time to say hello each morning at breakfast to see how we were doing. We felt welcomed and comfortable and we really appreciated the consideration and class with which this B&B is run. The Snuggery and Cottage were fabulous uses of space. Everything was immaculately clean, the beds (and rooms in general) were incredibly comfortable. We could not have been more pleased with our choice. The Marshall Slocum definitely lives up to its positive reviews (which is what lead us to choose it for our August trip). We were hoping for a quiet location just a little off the beaten path to avoid the late night hustle and bustle and this was perfect. A close walk to the main drag but far enough away that it's quiet, and no street noise that we heard (and I am a very light sleeper!). Can't wait for October!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwilsonri, Owner at Marshall Slocum Guest House, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you for staying with us, we enjoyed having you stay with us and look forward to seeing you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

The Marshall Slocum was in a great location and overall was a good b and b. We however, got the last room (the Post Card Room) during a busy time in Newport and found it to be overpriced. The Inn is in a great location, the staff is nice as can be and the other rooms that I saw as the maid tidied up, were very nice and much larger than ours. I would recommend the hotel, just not that particular room (for the price).

Room Tip: Don't book the Post Card room. It's much smaller than the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwilsonri, Owner at Marshall Slocum Guest House, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
The Postcard Room is one of our smaller rooms, thus the name, and is priced accordingly. The bedroom measures approximately 400 square feet and the bathroom has a four foot walk in shower which is standard for showers. Rates for the Postcard Room range from $125-$255 per evening and include a full breakfast and onsite parking. This particular guest paid $195 for a stay around the Labor Day weekend. Visit our website for a full photo montage of the Postcard Room as well as our other rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

The Marshall Slocum was perfect for our trip to Newport - its ideally situated for walking into town but is quiet and peaceful. Our room was large, very clean and comfortable. Service was excellent; free iced water, tea and coffee are provided, and the porch and deck areas are great for sitting and relaxing. Breakfast was very good too.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the Marshall Slocum House. We have nothing but wonderful things to say about our experience. We really loved the cottage that we stayed in. It was very clean, comfortable, cozy, and quiet. It's very convenient that the house has a large parking lot on the property. We were very impressed with breakfast each morning. We had delicious eggs, pancakes, and french toast. It was so nice to sit on the deck each morning and enjoy it.

Mark provided top notch service throughout our stay and also gave some great recommendations as to what to do in and around Newport.

We stayed at a B&B several years ago in Newport and the Marshall Slocum House far exceeded that experience. If you stay here, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fl
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We stayed a few nights to do some mansion-seeing in Newport before going to a wedding in a nearby town. The guest house was a bit out of the way and not so easy to find but one we arrived, we were happy to find a big parking lot.

Upon entering the establishement Simple and classic furnishings and clean.

Getting around the main area of Newport was several blocks from the house so remember to pack a pair of comfortable shoes.

Like any other B & B, they offer breakfast. Actually, breakfast was my favorite experience. We were offered several choices and one word, delicious. Coffee and tea are available throughout the day.

Bedding was in good condition. The towels were plush and soft. Remember to bring your own toiletries though. It was a pleasant experience and I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms had a fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwilsonri, Owner at Marshall Slocum Guest House, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
All of our rooms are outfitted with Gilchrist and Soames amenities which include shampoo, conditioner, body lotion, shower gel, and bath and hand soap. In addition, guest rooms have terry cloth robes and hair dryers. IPads, iron/ironing board, shaving kit and laundry service are also provided upon request.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marshall Slocum Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marshall Slocum Guest House

Address: 29 Kay Street, Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marshall Slocum Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Historic Top of the Hill district and just minutes away from Newport Harbor, the mansions, and beaches, the Marshall Slocum Guest House is a five room bed and breakfast that has been meticulously preserved to it's original 1855 charm. Join us for exquisite breakfasts, wonderful lobster dinners and five star service while touring the beautiful city of Newport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Marshall Slocum Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marshall Slocum Guest House Hotel Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marshall Slocum Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.