We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solo Vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marshall Slocum Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Marshall Slocum Guest House to your Saves list
Marshall Slocum Guest House
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   29 Kay Street, Newport, RI 02840   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$135 Spring Special
Ranked #12 of 99 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Stockbridge, Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Solo Vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

I recently went to the Inn while on vacation on my own in Newport, the room was comfortable, the breakfast yummy and the innkeeper was very accomdating telling resturant recomendations checking to see how things were going, make converstion and on the last day when i couldn't mail the artwork i bought home cause the postoffice closed 15 min before the stated time, he offered to mail me it and it arrived a week later ( I think that makes him awesome a definate class A innkeeper). I would definatly recommend this place to stay at.

Room Tip: If you are looking for value choose the snuggery its a great room to stay in. Also take advantage o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    60
    12
    8
    5
See reviews for
22
195
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

I forgot to write up this great B&B from our stay in early December 2011. The room was charming with a very high (and comfortable) poster bed. The breakfast was great and fortified us well for our flight that morning. If we are lucky enough to return to Newport, would definitely return to Marshall Slocum Guest House.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Connecticut
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

It was easy to chose the Marshall Slocum guest house because I didn't see anything else for the price, private ensuite, queen bed, and including breakfast with outside dining in Newport, when I booked. We stayed in room 2 on the second floor, which had two windows facing either the side or backyard of the house. It was roomy, had a ceiling fan, queen bed, and all the quilts, etc that one would want. There was a closet, armour, 2 stuffed chairs, 2 night tables with lamps, rugs. The bed was firm and excellent! The windowed bathroom had a huge sink, lots of mirrors, modern toilet, and roomy tub/shower with curtain. The water was hot and good pressure. I didn't like the tub not draining fast enough to keep up with the shower water, and a couple of the vanity tiles need replacing, but otherwise it was fine. There were plenty of towels and shampoos, etc., and a hairdryer. Breakfast was cooked and served by Mark, one of the owners. We met his wife during breakfast. The first day my husband and I both had the fruit, scrambled eggs and toast. The second day we had the omelet of the day with fruit and toast. Coffee and tea is available starting at 7:30am. The other guests at breakfast included Swiss, French, and Canadians. The cars are to be parked behind the house in a graveled portion of the fenced back yard. There is a porch swing and chairs in the front. We would definitely stay again. It was convenient to walk downhill to the wharfs, and not that bad even after a full meal to walk up again. Beats $10 parking! Its $1.25/hr at the meters by the harbor. The neighborhoods around are nice and quiet; lots of old colonial period side streets to traverse, where there was little traffic to negotiate.

Room Tip: Rm #2 was the quietest in our mind. One room next to ours had the ensuite bath up a circular stair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest, Nebraska, USA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

We had intended to leave Newport during the day but decided at the last moment to stay another night. The previous evening had been a delightful stay at another B&B and we considered trying there for another night, but decided to mix it up. Innkeeper Mark gave us a great rate and helped us settle in. He also provided a map and gave us lots of suggestions for evening dining.

The breakfast menu the next morning had 5-6 selections on it and Mark cooked it up. It was delicious and sitting on the back deck enjoying the morning while eating a breakfast cooked to order was delightful.

They rent bicycles here and if we had stayed another day, we may have given that a try. HINT**** In their room info, they say there is a 5% cash discount as well as another 5% cash discount if you donate 7 or more cans of food to them that will go to the Women's Resource Center.

All in all, the room/Inn was clean. Mark was a polite host and good chef. Location was great. I would definitely stay here again. The value for the money can't be beat.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for four nights and having stayed in numerous B & Bs around the world, found this to be excellent. Mark is an excellent host and cooks a great breakfast! The location is ideal, a short work into town or for the cliff walk. There is mention of the 'dreaded room 6', well thats where we stayed and it was fine. You would need to be packing bags for elephants to find it small!! Would definitely stay again.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

Owner Mark was very rude and did not make us feel welcomed. Inn itself was great. Very clean. Some rooms seem much better than others. If inn keepers were kinder and more social, would have made for a great trip!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwilsonri, Owner at Marshall Slocum Guest House, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We strive to provide all of our guests with a warm welcome, personalized and attentive guest service, and a fond farewell upon departure. Our guests satisfaction is of the utmost importance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owings Mills, Maryland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

On our previous trips to Newport, Rhode Island we stayed at a chain hotel to accumulate points, which was located in Middletown and not close to any favorite attractions. This time a search on Trip Advisor for a nice bed and breakfast resulted in the Marshall Slocum Guest House. And it truly is a guest house: you are made to feel like a guest in someone's home. There are about ten rooms on three floors, each appointed quite charmingly. Our first night we were the only couple in the place, and the next three the place was nearly full. Every night was quiet; it was amazing how peaceful it was. What helped was the absence of televisions in every room. There is one set in the parlor downstairs, and that's it for electronic entertainment (Wi-fi is available for laptops). The breakfasts were made from scratch whenever you came to eat. We ate outside all four mornings on the deck, and the owner Michael made us feel at home. There are lawn chairs in the backyard, and the house is a five-minute walk to Thames Street and less time to Bellevue Avenue with its shops and restaurants (from downtown the walk back is uphill, so wear comfortable shoes).
We would definitely return to Marshall Slocum and forget about accumulating points at the other residence.

Room Tip: Corner room on second floor, facing backyard and facing Bellevue Avenue was quiet and had a great ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwilsonri, Owner at Marshall Slocum Guest House, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Thank you for your comments, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marshall Slocum Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marshall Slocum Guest House

Address: 29 Kay Street, Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marshall Slocum Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Historic Top of the Hill district and just minutes away from Newport Harbor, the mansions, and beaches, the Marshall Slocum Guest House is a five room bed and breakfast that has been meticulously preserved to it's original 1855 charm. Join us for exquisite breakfasts, wonderful lobster dinners and five star service while touring the beautiful city of Newport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Marshall Slocum Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marshall Slocum Guest House Hotel Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marshall Slocum Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.