We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay on my first trip to Newport!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 1 Murray House Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
1 Murray House Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added 1 Murray House Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
1 Murray Place, overlooking Almy Pond, Newport, RI 02840   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 100 Newport B&B and Inns
Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great stay on my first trip to Newport!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

Murray House Bed and Breakfast is absolutely charming! I had a smaller room as it was only my daughter and myself, but it was roomy enough for two. Room was very clean and decorated very nicely with alot attention to detail. The private patio and pool area were beautiful. The innkeeper was very nice and her gourmet breakfasts were delicious! Overall an excellent experience and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    7
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
6
43
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2010

My wife and I spent the better part of the week at the Murray House. Accomodations were excellent! Poolside room was very comfortable and roomy. Breakfasts were spectacular--different every day. Our host Noreen was very helpful pointing out places to go and was on the money with restaurant recommendations. Really enjoyed ourselves. Noreen also delivered tremendous weather!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2010

We stayed at 1 Murray House B&B in mid-May for a short get-away weekend. What a nice find -- a B&B located very close to the Newport Mansions and the Cliff Walk area. Noreen was a pleasure to work with in making our reservations, helping us to know about great places to eat in Newport, and doing the extra effort for our special requests like extra coffee and doing some research for us when we needed to figure out an impromptu wedding gift for some friends. We stayed in the Safari room and it was comfortable. Bathroom was a nice size. It was wonderful having a mini-kitchen for snacks, beverages, and such. We would definitely stay here if we visit Newport again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2009

Murray House Bed and Breakfast introduced to me a fabulous combination of elegance and affordability. The French Cuisine was phenomonal and the decor was a pure delight to return to after a delightful day in a delightful area. So close to everything you feel a part of the history that Newport, Rhode Island offers. The pool, hot tub, and amenities were short of nothing and the treatment from Noreen was undoubtedly a TREAT! I do feel I now have a new friend! She was helpful regarding restaurants, boat tours, and many options in the immediate area! The Cliff Walks were so accessible and what a BREATHTAKING JOY! The meals were unique and so delicious with the European flare. I highly recommend Murray House Bed and Breakfast and will be returning as well as taking others that I care about to ENJOY!
W. Hartz
Murfreesboro, Tennessee

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2009

My boyfriend and I had a wedding to attend in Newport, and decided to make a weekend of it. B&B's seem the way to go in Newport, but we didn't want to break the bank. After looking around, we settled on the Murray House, because it looked comfortable, has a pool, is near the beach, and has parking, and because it was affordable. To our pleasant surprise the house is away from downtown, and in the same neighborhood as the Mansions. Our room faced the pool, but looked out on a pond, with the ocean just beyond. It wasn't warm enough for a dip in the pool (or the ocean) but after our long drive we were excited to find a hot tub on the patio ready for us.
Our hostess cooked a delicious breakfast, more than we could eat, and delivered it quietly to our room. The room itself was quite comfortable, with lots of fun little details and plenty of amenities and considerations, and two little rooms to spread out in with a balcony. My only complaint is that bathroom is pretty small, and has only a stand up shower. The outdoor area was my favorite. Around the pool and hot tub are little environments and sitting areas. In the back of the yard is a koi pond, with a path, and thoughtful protection for the fish. At night we could hear fountain in the pond, which was quite soothing. It is apparent how much thought the owner has put into creating a little oasis.
I would definitely recommend the Murray House to someone looking for a little peace and quiet and comfort, while being really close to the sites.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, MA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2008

We were attending a late night function in Newport and since we lived 1 1/2 hrs away, we decided to spend the night, but did not want to pay hotel prices with a 2-night minimum for only one night. A friend recommended we try a Bed and Breakfast and we picked Murray's hands down. Noreen was wonderful. We had our own private, gated entrance with a little patio and our own private bathroom and a small kitchen area. The room was immaculate and decorated in a safari theme, with a leopard chair, and animal print velvet comforter, safari hats hanging on the wall, bamboo curtains separating the bedroom from the small kitchen area. The green marble shower bath was larger than expected, and, again spotlessly clean. Because it was in December, Noreen had decorated the room with a little lighted Christmas tree and the small table was set with Christmas dishes. The outside patio chairs had stuffed snowman waiting to greet us. Best of all, on a freezing cold Newport night, the room was warm, and on the bed was an electric blanket to snuggle under. Murray House is near the water and close to town. I would highly recommend this Bed and Breakfast. The pictures on the website and the description of the room don't do it justice. It's so much better!

  • Liked — Very clean and comfortable. Larger than expected.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2008

The Murray House B&B was by far the nicest place we've ever stayed at. We've looked at several other places before coming across the Murray house, but none of them quite jumped out at us as much as The Murray House did. When we finally arrived we were so thrilled to see it! It made the entire trip! Not only did we have a blast going out for the day, but to coming back to a nice warm place that was so homey, and cute was extremely relaxing. The Murray House was far more than what we were expecting. But not only was the place clean and tidy, and not only did everything match (very Cute!), the room had tour guides incase you've never been to Newport before. There were a couple different albums that had places to go, and they were nothing but the best! And there were even games incase you wanted to hang out and relax! And to top it off, You could not find a nicer greeter than Noreen. She knows a lot about the area, where everything is and even how far. And She made everything so easy! In the morning we took pictures of the breakfast she made because we've never seen it made as cute as the way she had it! Flowers and everything!!! :)

If you are hesitant about a few of the reviews, don't be! You won't be disappointed, I assure you that it will be wonderful memories you'll never forget at Murray House! And you may reserve a room figuring it will just be another place to stay at, but when you get there you're going to feel like your at a home away from home. You wont want to leave, and the room will have you wanting to come back year after year! I know we do! :)

  • Liked — Very Friendly environment, could be relaxing, and also had plenty of things to do! :)
  • Disliked — Nothing. No complaints. We loved everything. :)
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 1 Murray House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1 Murray House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1 Murray Place, overlooking Almy Pond, Newport, RI 02840
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Newport Mansion district, just a 5 minute walk to a secluded, semi-private beach. Gourmet breakfasts served in the privacy of your charming room, private entrances and patio areas, in-ground swimming pool and hot tub, TV, VCR, A/C, small refrig, etc in room. One room even has a waterview and screened summer room. All this and at a reasonable price. Did I say private? Nice! Come to Murray House B&B. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1 Murray House Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.