We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WE GOT ENGAGED AT MURRAY HOUSE!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 1 Murray House Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
1 Murray House Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added 1 Murray House Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
1 Murray Place, overlooking Almy Pond, Newport, RI 02840   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 100 Newport B&B and Inns
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“WE GOT ENGAGED AT MURRAY HOUSE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

On January 1st my boyfriend popped the question at Murray House on our lovely deck overlooking the pond at Murray House. It was so romantic and beautiful. The rooms are clean, cozy and romantic and Noreen the inn keeper is an absolute doll. We will be coming back for many, many years!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    7
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
6
43
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We decided we needed a quiet holiday break before the chaos of the real holiday descended. With the pet caravan in tow, off we set to Noreen's charming Christmas grotto, and we were not disappointed. Of course it was off season in Newport, but we were delighted and surprised by how much time and care Noreen had taken to make us feel extra special. Christmas decorations, lights, a tree, cozy fireplace, presents for puppy and kitten...need I say more! We can't wait to return during warmer weather and make good use of the pool and doggy park. What a find.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranford, NJ
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

What a great find!! We were lucky to find this place and glad that we did. This B&B was located away from all the drama and crowds of downtown and located in a nice residential neighborhood. The location was only a 5 minute walk to Bellevue Avenue and even a shorter walk to a beautiful park where you could walk, play with the dog, and just relax. We stayed in the Suite and it felt like our own little home. We had our own driveway parking spot and we could walk out from our Suite to our own patio overlooking the pool. Our Suite was clean and well maintained. It was downright cozy and charming. Since we were here in mid-October, the entire premises was tastefully decorated with Halloween and Fall decor. You can tell, Noreen, the owner, takes great pride in what she does. Since we were in town for the United Healthcare Marathon, it was an added bonus that my family could walk 5 minutes and see me run down Bellevue Avenue...which happened to be mile 10 1/2 on the course. This was a great value and there is no doubt we would come back here during our next trip up to Newport.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Findley Lake, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

My husband and I were married June 22, 2013 and knew we wanted to be on the water for our honeymoon. I was turned onto flipkey.com, and I found Noreen’s wonderful place close to Newport, water, gorgeous gardens and cute rooms. We ate Lobster out; we got sushi one night and ate by the coy pond. Walked to the beach, cooled down at the pool on hot days and drank wine in the salt water hottub at night. Noreen was a wonderful host, we’re thinking about going back and always staying at the Murray House. It’s barely a mile away from down town. I would never stay anywhere else. Thanks Noreen in Newport. June 25-June 30.
Jane & John Sheehan

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My fiancee and I stayed in the water-view suite which was actually across the street from Murray House. We stayed for the long holiday weekend, and enjoyed staying in what felt like our own min-apartment. This unit has a mini-kitchen with stove top, sink and mini-fridge. We brought along some of our own food, and it worked out really well.
Noreen was very nice and not intrusive at all, we saw her once, but she checked in with us often via email to make sure all was going well. This B&B is a close 5-10min walk to the ocean and cliff paths. We walked in to town a few times (about 2miles away) and it wasn't bad at all, a straight shoot down the road and you're there if you don't mind the walk. Bars & restaurants in the downtown area are plentiful & easy to find something you'll like.
We really enjoyed the hot tub & pool across the driveway at the main house.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy Creek, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Garden Room for 5 nights for our summer vacation with our dog, Squirt. Noreen was very accommodating and welcoming. She also sent us a ton of useful information about Newport prior to our arrival. Our room was small, but perfect for us. It was very clean and the semi-private outdoor patio was great for our dog. Murray house is a beautiful property and the gardens are amazing. The location is away from the busy parts of town and we liked that. We walked every morning and could quickly get to the beach, the cliff walk, the mansions, and Rovensky park which our dog loved. Squirt also loved the treats and toys Noreen left for her! We had a great experience staying at Murray House and would definitely stay there again if we make it back to Newport.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

My fiancee stayed at Murray House for 5 nights during our summer vacation and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Noreen is wonderful and truly loves animals. We brought our puppy Lulu and Noreen was so welcoming (I think they formed a special bond). We had the garden room with a private backyard, which turned out nicely for Lulu. Coming from NYC, she was in heaven!

The property is beautiful -- it has a nice pool and really fantastic flowers. It is very close to beaches and the Newport mansions. We brought our bikes and were very comfortable exploring most of Newport that way.

We really loved our stay at Murray House and plan to return again soon!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 1 Murray House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1 Murray House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1 Murray Place, overlooking Almy Pond, Newport, RI 02840
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Newport Mansion district, just a 5 minute walk to a secluded, semi-private beach. Gourmet breakfasts served in the privacy of your charming room, private entrances and patio areas, in-ground swimming pool and hot tub, TV, VCR, A/C, small refrig, etc in room. One room even has a waterview and screened summer room. All this and at a reasonable price. Did I say private? Nice! Come to Murray House B&B. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1 Murray House Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.