We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasons to Return” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 1 Murray House Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
1 Murray House Bed & Breakfast
Save Saved
You added 1 Murray House Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
1 Murray Place, overlooking Almy Pond, Newport, RI 02840   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 101 Newport B&B and Inns
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Reasons to Return”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2008

Should one ask why we keep returning to Murray House B&B, I hope they have a cup of coffee handy and no where to go.
We discovered Murray House through a web search. Affordable, nice location and doggie friendly. We loaded up the car and one very chilly December day ventured to Newport, to what was to become our Home away from Home.
Comfort, Cozy, Adorable kitchenette and room themes, Ocean breezes, Warmth,Convenient, Welcoming, Safe, A Summery Garden filled with delights for all the senses, a refreshing pool, a bubbly romantic jacuzzi tucked in a corner, a koi pond, benches and chairs. Off season a warm room, holiday touches, small "get in the mood" electric fireplace , reduced rates....privacy and respect.
As I read through the the guest book I learned if it wasn't there, and you needed it all you had to do was ask. The owner would step above and beyond to make sure your stay was as best as possible.
My family returns to Newport and Murray house several times throughout the year. When we settle into the room even our dog breathes out a small sigh of comfort.
We love to experience each season on that Island. The architecture, the beaches, the shops, mansions, walking through history, Holiday events, Summery Outings and hidden gems along the way.
But I must admit the most treasured gem is Murray House. And often we venture no farther than the beckoning patio behind the garden gate.

  • Liked — Individual rooms and entrances, your own outside sitting area, pet friendly
  • Disliked — the flowers don't bloom all year round and the koi pond goes to sleep
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    7
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
5
43
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2008

I was just reading some of the reviews on Tripadvisor.com and was SHOCKED to see a negative review of Murray House B&B. My husband and I have stayed in many B&B's all over New England, and Murray House is certainly one of our favorites! We went up this past August for a friend's wedding, and had a wonderful time. Our room was beautiful, immaculately clean, plenty of clean towels were left each day, and a DELICIOUS breakfast delivered to our room each morning, beutifully presented. We brought our little dachshund along and he is a little fearful and quite spoiled. We left our cell phone numbers with Noreen (the owner) any time we left just in case he barked or cried or disturbed anyone. Instead of calling us, she opened the curtains to her apartment so Max could see her and came in and talked to him, gave belly rubs, etc. Needless to say, Max was just fine with Noreen! She just went above and beyond anything we could have hoped for.
We have recommended Murray House to many of our friends...those who have dogs and even those who do not, because it is just a charming place to stay.
Maybe the person who wrote the negative review got up on the wrong side of the bed that day! LOL!
I HIGHLY RECOMMEND Mrray House B&B!
Patricia Hund
New York City

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2007

Negatives: Upon first entering this property, we were slightly confused. Our door was left open, unlocked, for really anyone to go inside. We got in and the carpet was noticeably damp everywhere and there was a strong musty odor. Food was okay, but later found out "fake ingredients" were used, like splenda and egg beaters. I prefer natural foods, not over processed packaged food, especially when I'm promised a gourmet breakfast.

Positives: Owner of the property was friendly. We were allowed to bring our dog. Decent location, close to downtown and quiet.

  • Liked — This is one of the few places in Newport that allows dogs.
  • Disliked — It smelled bad and was damp.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2007

Having just stayed here, I can tell you that I was disappointed. Our room was DIRTY; it had not been vacuumed or dusted. The windows needed to be cleaned, there was a musty odor, the dishes that were set on the table had a layer of dust on them and there was pet hair on the comforter and most notably, the pillowcases! When our room was made up the second day, none of these things had been done again AND the dirty towels that I had left on the floor were hung up again!!! Yikes.

  • Liked — quiet location
  • Disliked — it was dirty
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2005

My wife and I stayed at MURRAY HOUSE B&B sept. 5-7. We have stayed in quite a few b&b's, but none as nice as this! Everything about it was so special - a cozy, clean room, our own private patio, a beautiful pool(which we always had all to ourselves!) and last, but certainly not least, the best breakfasts we've ever had at a b&b - by far! We also loved the grounds and the friendly cats. We can't wait to return!!

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2005

My girlfriend and I recently took a trip to Newport, RI and stayed at the very lovely Murray House B&B. I must say that the whole trip was fantastic, and we were very happy with our choice of lodging. Our well-appointed room was very cute and comfortable, and the breakfast, brought right to our room, was excellent...each day a new treat greeted us: stuffed french toast, amazing quiche and "window pane eggs" were complimented by fresh fruit salads and other delectable delights. I was very impressed with the beautiful gardens surrounding the house, and our host, Noreen, was lovely to talk to, and yet respectful of our privacy.

All in all, our stay at the Murray House was a very enjoyable experience. Thanks Noreen!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2005

The following is an excerpt from an email we had sent to the B&B owner after our trip. This B&B is away from the downtown/harbor area, and IS indeed only a 5-7 min walk to a lovely private beach....

"...what a wonderful (but too short) trip we had earlier this week, MUCH
of it due to your wonderful B&B and hospitality...
truly the best B&B experience we have had...loved
the room and having a kitchenette and the private
patio... our quick swim in the pool the 1st evening was a great
relaxer, an added plus. How many B&Bs offer such privacy and a POOL?!
Newport is certainly a place to return for a
getaway. I'm sure you'll be hearing from us again!"

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 1 Murray House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1 Murray House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1 Murray Place, overlooking Almy Pond, Newport, RI 02840
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 101 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Newport Mansion district, just a 5 minute walk to a secluded, semi-private beach. Gourmet breakfasts served in the privacy of your charming room, private entrances and patio areas, in-ground swimming pool and hot tub, TV, VCR, A/C, small refrig, etc in room. One room even has a waterview and screened summer room. All this and at a reasonable price. Did I say private? Nice! Come to Murray House B&B. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1 Murray House Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.