We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed for a friends wedding” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center to your Saves list
Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   151 Admiral Kalbfus Road, Newport, RI 02840-1310 (Formerly Best Western)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Newport
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Stayed for a friends wedding”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2014

I chose this hotel as it was the least expensive choice for my friends wedding. It is not located in downtown Newport, but just off the highway. Finding the hotel was easy. The hotel itself is not luxury, but certainly was fine for a place to stay after the events of the weekend.

The room was clean, and the staff was nice and helpful. The restaurant was good.

The pool was very cold, but I was the only person lounging which was nice.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    126
    114
    57
    55
See reviews for
102
165
12
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2014

We got a great deal on the room with a Groupon, and saw that their summer rates are very high, so assumed we just got a pretty good price on Groupon. However, the hotel was not the best. The rooms were old, not updated, and had black mold at the seam where the bathroom walls meet the ceilings. Everything still says Best Western (room numbers, garbage can, ice bucket, pens and paper) but is no longer affiliated with the chain. It was very noisy and you could hear neighbors walking, showering, and chatting. The hallways smelled a bit musty, and the towels were rough. The rooms on the lower floors were under renovation (12/6/14) so the hotel may be in the process of improving. We only had to stay one night, so we opted to skip showering and just hit the road home. There was limited lighting in the parking lot as well, so we made sure to park near one of the functioning streetlamps. However, the staff at check in were friendly, the beds were comfortable, and the sheets seemed clean. It was also right near the highway and we were able to leave without much traffic. We could do this for one night, but stayed out of the room as much as possible and would probably not go back.

Room Tip: ASK FOR ONE OF THE UPDATED ROOMS. As of 12/6/2014 the second floor of the back part of the hotel was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2014

While it could use some updating, it was clean. I felt very comfortable in this room. I could hear some noise upstairs and next door during the early evening but I am a sound sleeper so none at night. It had all my basic needs: mini fridge, small microwave, 32" TV and comfy beds. I was assigned room 206 which was a lengthy walk from front entrance but had an amazing view of the bridge with the sunset. I paid $43+tx with my Groupon during off-season. It would pain me to pay alot more during peak season but I would understand why they'd charge more. Newport is lovely.

Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, New Jersey, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2014

Stayed only for 1 night for a short weekend trip, and was very satisfied.
Spacious and clean room and bathroom with a comfortable bed. Good location, close driving distance from downtown.
The restaurant was very good, although a bit expensive for breakfast (since it's not included in the room rate). For the price, it's totally worth it staying in this hotel. If I go back, I'll stay there.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

Fall is here/day trips/weekend trips can be done at a good price. Booked Mainstay from Sunday(2 nights) .Got a king room at a great rate-had a good time. Staff was great again .Restaurant was jammed one night with a local Veterans group honoring some of their own.Bar and restaurant personnel did a good job taking care of everyone's wishes-food and/or drink.Front desk-Kathleen and Samantha good at what they do.An hour and a half drive from home for a getaway trip isn't that long.Keep up with the Jones and stay in town OR be real and try the Mainstay Inn.

Room Tip: Breakfast not included/restaurant staff very good/I prefer fl1 either wing/king nonsmoking and usual...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014

Very nice clean room, comfortable bed. Great rate of $53.00 if you have a Newport Grand Card. Love the twin lobsters and steak at restaurant. With drinks bill was $65.00. Newport Grand is across the street so no driving necessary and they have a shuttle downtown. What else can you ask for. Will return many times this winter and take advantage of this good deal. In the summer this hotel is $100-$300 a night!!

Room Tip: Rooms have coffee in them as well as a fridge/microwave
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

We read some reviews and were a bit concerned about this hotel but had no need to be. It is big and has been a Best Western so is a bit soulless, but everything else is very good. Reception was friendly and helpful. Our room had a nice view over a wooded area and had everything we needed including 2 queen beds, fridge, microwave etc. Only a short drive to Newport, a lovely haqrbour town with interesting shops and restaurants. A very popular cruise ship stop so often crowded. A shuttle bus runs from the hotel which is much cheaper then parking in town. There is a restaurant in but not of the hotel which serves good food at reasonable prices with efficient, friendly staff.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 151 Admiral Kalbfus Road, Newport, RI 02840-1310 (Formerly Best Western)
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Groupon, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western The Mainstay Hotel Newport
Best Western Newport
Newport Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.