We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value in Newport” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Mainstay Inn

Save Saved
You added The Mainstay Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Mainstay Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   151 Admiral Kalbfus Road, Newport, RI 02840-1310 (Formerly Best Western)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 20 hotels in Newport
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best value in Newport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

It was difficult to find a hotel in Newport for a decent price. Almost everything right in Newport is well over $200 per night. This hotel is not fancy, but I give it a "very good" rating because it is a great value and a great location. It's about a mile from downtown Newport. We had a standard room with a Kingsize bed. The room was quite spacious, but could have used a few more furnishings. It was very clean and had a refrigerator, a microwave and a very comfortable bed. We were excited that they had an outdoor pool, but it turned out that the pool was in the middle of their parking lot and not very appealing. Other than that it was perfect for a reasonably priced hotel, close to the action. They do have an onsite restaurant that is convenient, but really just average. There are many better dining options only a mile away. They also run a shuttle into Newport.

Room Tip: The King room was great, but ask for one on the second floor and not facing the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    69
    116
    101
    52
    52
See reviews for
91
153
12
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tarrytown, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I stayed here during my precious Rhode Island summer vacation. The room was beautiful, clean & all appliances were functioning well. This place was very reasonable and is dead close to all the attractions Newport has to offer. I would definitely recommend this to all my friends out there that don't have globs of money to waste.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms that have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This was the only option left for a last minute stay in Newport. Given this, was pleasantly surprised. Overall the room was incredibly spacious (somehow got a suite with a pull out couch) and was clean. Furniture was a little dinged up but functional. They had a shuttle in and out of Newport downtown that we didn't use but seemed like a reasonable deal given parking rates if you plan to be in town most of the day.

We had friends that stayed at the same hotel - despite paying the same price, they got a smaller room. Not sure how that happened, but surprised that they paid the same price and had about a quarter less of the space. Just something to check in the details of what you are booking.

Overall, if I am planning a trip, I would probably try to stay somewhere else, but would be fine staying here again if there were limited options or if rates compatible with alternatives made sense.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas City, Texas, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is my third time to stay at the Best Western in Newport RI for attending the Jazz Festival. I like it because of the value and closeness to the city and jazz festival location of Ft. Adams. I recommend the suite for lots of space, refrigerator, microwave, safe extra room during an extended stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eldersburg, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was the worst hotel I have ever stayed at. The room smelled of cat urine. I called the desk and they moved me to another room without all the amenities of the other rooms my family was staying in. Once I called, the staff brought me a fridge but dropped it on the floor and left. I called about linens and the staff came and dropped a plastic trash bag filled with towels, blankets and pillows. I cannot believe the staff would not put me in a nicer room for the amount of money we paid to stay there. I am sad that the bride picked this place out to stay at and maybe if she was shown the rooms her guest were staying in she would have changed her mind. The wedding was beautiful at the Cliffs on August 1. If and when I go to Newport again I will not stay at this place.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel needs updating in its decor, and it had a smell in the hallways. It was a "no-frills" experience, which matched the rate in comparison to the hotels and B&B's that were local to Newport. You had to drive into town and pay for parking, or pay to take the hotel's shuttle into town. The accommodations were adequate. The staff was pleasant and professional. There was no complimentary breakfast (which we knew when booking) as there usually is with Best Westerns that we stay at. We got what we paid for.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a suite on the top floor the room was clean, fresh and spacious, the desk staff were very welcoming and helpful whatever our request. We had breakfast in the resurant every day and nothing was too much trouble for them we ate dinner twice in the restaurant and again the food was good and well cooked. The pool area could do with a refurbishment but it was adequate.
The other facilities were as we expected for a hotel in this budget. The shuttle bus was very handy 20 minutes to downtown and ran regularly.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Mainstay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mainstay Inn

Address: 151 Admiral Kalbfus Road, Newport, RI 02840-1310 (Formerly Best Western)
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 20 hotels in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Mainstay Inn 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Mainstay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western The Mainstay Hotel Newport
Best Western Newport
Newport Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mainstay Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.