We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center to your Saves list
Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   151 Admiral Kalbfus Road, Newport, RI 02840-1310 (Formerly Best Western)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Newport
Winooski
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Good location, across from casino. Room was great, the BEST bed I have ever slept on! Did not have a chance to try the restaurant but the menu looked appetizing with reasonable prices. Ifyou have mobility problems make sure your room is on the elevator "level."

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    126
    114
    57
    55
See reviews for
102
165
12
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the best western over the mothers day weekend. The staff was very helpful and full of energy. We twice ate in the hotel restaurant and enjoyed good meals at a reasonable price. The room was neat and clean and very quiet. An excellent value for the money. I would recommend this hotel to my family and friends.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverhill, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

We stayed 2 nights while we went to a conference at the Hyatt on Goat Island. The Best Western was not the Hyatt but we were glad we stayed there. Great Price, Great water pressure in the shower and very comfortable beds. We paid half of what the others paid at the Hyatt. The first night was loud with voices and heavy foot steps- the second night we put the fan on and we slept like babies!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brick, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Not up to Best Western standards. No continental breakfast like in most Best Westerns. Restaurant breakfast food was terrible and staff was not very helpful in finding hotel amenities like ice machine which was very hard to find.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

This is at best 2 stars. The rooms are very old decorated and basic, the bathroom wasnt the best cleaned either. The drapes were very dusty. The bed was a bit aged as well, not as comfortable. Noisy in the morning. It is across the street from the casino, and 10 minute drive to the center. The staff was friendly. It does have a pool, but we didnt try it. It is a good stay for anyone who doesnt want to pay an arm or a leg in Newport Center

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Park, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

This hotel is a gem for an overnight or weekend. It is located just outside downtown Newport and is across the street from a casino. The hotel has a restaurant that is very good and the staff are friendly and accommodating. It has been remodeled recently so decor is nice. Staff are friendly and helpful. There is a lot to do in Newport and while location is not in "downtown" area, I'll take the much more reasonable price for convenience. We look forward to getting away Newport every year and this hotel will always be our only choice for stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Appears to be a group hotel - there is no sound proofing whatsoever to drown until all the revelers returning home from 1am to past 3am. Was kept awake until after 3 and had to be up early the next morning. Was not asked at checkout how my stay was - maybe they don't expect repeat customers. Would not recommend if you want to get any reasonable amount of sleep. If you are a person who will be out late partying, the bed was comfortable and the rooms were clean. The hotel itself had a mildew smell which carried into the room.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 151 Admiral Kalbfus Road, Newport, RI 02840-1310 (Formerly Best Western)
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western The Mainstay Hotel Newport
Best Western Newport
Newport Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.