We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Find somewhere else!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN The Mainstay Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN The Mainstay Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN The Mainstay Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   151 Admiral Kalbfus Road, Newport, RI 02840-1310   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #15 of 20 hotels in Newport
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Find somewhere else!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

If you're on a coach tour etc and you don't have any say in where you stay, you could probably stick it for a night or two. But if not, find somewhere else!

The positives: The beds were comfortable. The television and fridge worked. Easy to drive to and from, but note that you can't walk into town from here. The food in the adjacent diner is pretty good and good value.

The negatives: The SMELL!! It hits you the moment you walk into the building. Old, musty, faintly nauseating. My partner suggested it was the cleaning products they used, but I didn't see any evidence of their use... The receptionists were surly and unwelcoming. There was plenty of information on Boston available in reception, but very little on Newport - ?! The room had cobwebs and I didn't dare turn on the heater as it would have blown out several years' worth of dust by the look of the thing. I had to dispose of a few insects that had somehow got into the room (not cockroaches, let's be clear there). The bathroom had quite a bit of mildew, but that's not very surprising when there was no window or extractor fan, so they should expect damp problems. The hot water supply wasn't entirely reliable, particularly in the morning. The toilet seat was also loose. Despite having the "Please do not disturb" sign on the door, housekeeping kept banging on the door from 8am.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    113
    96
    50
    49
See reviews for
84
146
12
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stay here often. it is convenient to the activities we enjoy without having to drive downtown. The Staff is friendly and kind. The rooms are clean and the beds are comfy. Free internet is nice. The restaurant is good (we usually stop in for breakfast before we leave).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Awful odor-Halls and room had a horrible musty smell. Unclean room- Bathtub had hair in it, coffee machine was not cleaned. Thin Walls- Could hear conversation, people walking, toilets flushing, and doors opening/closing all night. Overall it was just not worth it. I was with a group of people, and most stayed at another local hotel. I stay at Best Westerns frequently so i figured i would stay at this one. Never again, next time i will join my friends at the other hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Stayed here for one night earlier this month while my husband was attending a conference in Newport. Pros: moderately priced compared to other options, smooth check-in/out, quiet (our room was away from main road), seemed very clean, comfortable mattresses, decor didn't try too hard to be something it wasn't (my pet peeve). Cons: not that convenient to downtown Newport, which is so walkable. Car is a must-have as hotel is situated on a multi-lane busy road. Building layout is weird. We had to walk down a couple really long hallways to get to our room. Would be tough if you have lots of luggage and/or any mobility issues. We realized later there was a closer entrance to our room from the parking lot, but it seemed to be unsecured the couple times we used it, which certainly would be a security concern. Not enough hooks/storage in bathroom area and unflattering lighting in bathroom. Bathroom exhaust fan really loud.

Bottom line: fine for a short stay if you're on a budget. If you're looking a fun/romantic getaway that's quintessentially Newport and you can afford to pay more, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

When we pulled up for our last couple of nights in New England, our hopes weren't high. The hotel is situated on the outskirts of 'downtown' Newport, near a fairly busy highway intersection.
However, the staff were great - they sorted out changing our room (again, the holiday company had booked us twin rooms) by getting us into a king suite.
It is about a $10 taxi ride into town, but this wasn't too much of a problem to be honest.
So, if you need a hotel in Newport on a budget, then this is a good a bet as any.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

This place is a little out of town and if you have a car it is a very good choice among the budget hotels in the area. It's about a 10 minute drive to downtown Newport and 15 min drive to the coast. Doing my research most hotels in Newport were in $200/night range and some B&Bs in $150/night. If you have a car Best Western at $110/night is worth it.

Service - 5
The front desk was efficient and cordial. We don't spend much of the time in the hotel and we primarily rely on our own research so we didn't request any help from the front desk. The maids were pretty good.

Room - 3.5
Rooms are very basic and a bit outdated. We stayed in the standard room. The carpets are dark so you can't see if they are dirty, but given their age they are on the dirtier side. The pillows were very uncomfortable. Other than these negs, the room was pretty good. It was spacious, smelled fine, the bathroom was clean with no signs of molds or anything like that. The room has a TV, safe, hairdryer. Wifi was available and it worked. I was pleasantly surprised with the room.

Amenities - 3.5
You wouldn't expect much from a budget hotel, but they do have a diner on premises. Wifi is a plus. Parking in plentiful. I was disappointed that free breakfast is not included.

Location - 3.5
Not suitable if you are planning to walk to the town. Also, if you are planning to use taxi a lot, it might be better to use a hotel that's closer to the town. If you are driving, the location is great. Parking in town can be difficult, but few minutes of driving around and you'll find something. There is a SLOTS casiono right next to the hotel and provide some entertainment. It's all slot machines with an automated black jack table. There is a bar on the premises as well.

Value - 4
As i mentioned, the value is pretty good here if you have a car. If you have to travel a lot back and forth the taxi fares will add up and you might want to consider a B&B in Newport for $150+. There options that are a little further out for under $100, but i would say you are risking your stay with some of those motels and inns. Best Western has a recognized brand and they maintain the standard. Lack of free breakfast is what makes this a 4 vs. 5

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcester
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

the hotel is out of town with not a lot around it. plenty of parking. The room was large and clean, bed linen clean. Bathroom had toiletries and hairdryer.
Didnt eat in the restaurant, but menu looked good with plenty of choice

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN The Mainstay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN The Mainstay Inn

Address: 151 Admiral Kalbfus Road, Newport, RI 02840-1310
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN The Mainstay Inn 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, HotelsClick, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN The Mainstay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western The Mainstay Hotel Newport
Best Western Newport
Newport Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN The Mainstay Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.