We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy With Our Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN The Mainstay Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN The Mainstay Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN The Mainstay Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   151 Admiral Kalbfus Road, Newport, RI 02840-1310   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #15 of 20 hotels in Newport
East Hartford, United States
1 review
“Happy With Our Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I recently rented two suites for a bachelorette party and was very happy with our stay! It was affordable and easy to check in and out. They provided round trip shuttle service for 8.50 per person which works out to be a better deal than taking a cab.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    113
    97
    50
    49
See reviews for
84
147
12
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Myself and my bridal party had my bachlorette party in Newport. We stayed here because it was less pricey than some of the hotels right in downtown! It was a quick drive to the beach, liquor store, and restaurants on Thames street. They had a pool, but we did not go in. We did eat breakfast at the restaurant and that was good as well!

The room was clean and very big! The bathroom was large as well and good for 5 girls to get ready in! The room had a fridge and microwave as well! All in All a goof experience and would definitely stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I am a Best Western employee and I know it gets difficult sometimes to make everyone happy. Gilmore at the front desk was very kind and helpful to me and my boyfriend when checking in. Gave us good directions to the downtown area and helped me out with redeeming my travel cards. He checked us in quickly and easy. I appreciate all of his help!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewistown, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Best Hotel Ever! Great Value! Location is close to restaurants many Lancaster Outlets. This hotel is truly one of the nicest hotels I have ever stayed in.....no regrets! Comfort and Cleanliness are both A++

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoneham, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We had never been to Newport and I couldn't believe some of the prices of hotels. The Best Western was best priced I feel. The room was clean the bathroom was very clean. Didn't have time to use the pool unfortunately but looked quick looked nice. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed at the Mainstay Best Western when we travelled for a wedding. We found everything clean and in good working order. This Best Western does not include breakfast as most Best Westerns do but we found the hotel breakfast reasonably priced and a good variety of choices. The omelets and breakfast sandwiches were very tasty. The waitress we had was very good and had a great sense of humor. The Internet was included and the TV had a pretty good selection of channels. Across the street in the back of the hotel was a nice little uphill trail to a war memorial. The trail is owned by the Aquidneck Land Trust. Only drawback to the hotel was we could hear the pipes when people in other room took early morning showers.

Room Tip: A Shuttle bus was available for a fee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN The Mainstay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN The Mainstay Inn

Address: 151 Admiral Kalbfus Road, Newport, RI 02840-1310
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN The Mainstay Inn 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, HotelsClick, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN The Mainstay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western The Mainstay Hotel Newport
Best Western Newport
Newport Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN The Mainstay Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.