We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent place in Newport” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center to your Saves list
Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   151 Admiral Kalbfus Road, Newport, RI 02840-1310 (Formerly Best Western)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Newport
Conway, SC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Decent place in Newport”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Hotel is definitely well used but has clean rooms and clean bathrooms and no "germ" collecting bedspreads on the beds. The pool area is good, gets a lot of use during summer months. I was especially impressed with the attached restaurant, the North End Steakhouse. They have a very extensive menu and the prices are very reasonable, especially for a place in Newport. I had the open faced prime rib sandwich and was pleasantly surprised when I received an actual slice of prime rib, about 10 ozs worth, cooked medium rare, placed over toasted bread slices. Came with lettuce and tomato and a side of french fries. I think it was a superb deal at $10.95. So, if you're looking for an acceptable place to stay without breaking the bank and without having to search for a restaurant, this is your place. There's lots of parking, too, although you can't tell with all the cars there. Lastly, this hotel is located DIRECTLY across the street from the Grand Newport Casino, so you can easily just walk across the street to go play. Just know that while the casino is open to either 1 am or 2 am depending on the day of the week, the casino doesn't open until 10:00 AM......but still a good way to kill time while waiting for your room to be ready.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    126
    114
    57
    55
See reviews for
102
165
12
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Went to Newport RI for a wedding. Made reservations 1 month in advance for 3 rooms. Everything was incorrect from the beds to the location. Nothing could be done about it according to the management because we had booked online. We booked directly with the front desk by telephone. We were told at check out everything would be taken care of. The complete bill was over a thousand dollars ($1,000.00) We were given a $25.00 discount on everything. What a joke. There was no air conditioning in hallways. The rooms were supposed to be adjoining (weren't even close.) They were to be balcony rooms (not available) The beds were to be 2 Queen size only one King (children had to share) Rooms were not done up until we called at 3:30pm and then the staff argued who should do it right in front of us. One hotel employee actually spit into room while we were opening the door. One refridgerator was so loud we had to unplug it. What could have been a great weekend was extremely stressful. Shame on them.!!!!

Room Tip: do not go to this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

The room was on the first floor older section of hotel (dungeon). Old furniture, tv was from the stone age, poor reception, no pictures on the walls. On the second day when we returned from the beach at 2:00PM, the room was never cleaned. Asked for clean towels 3 times and finally received at 7:30PM. Would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Providence, RI
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Friendly staff, nice shuttle service to downtown Newport but a very dated hotel. Old TVs, $240+ because its Newport....this hotel would be $50 in another city. My own fault for waiting too long to book this trip......plan ahead all of Newport books up real fast in the summer. Overall a very average experience.

Room Tip: Not with the outdoor pool directly outside of your ground level room window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

The rooms were very clean and the beds were comfortable. A very good restaurant on site. Really easy to get to Newport Visitors Center from hotel and they had a shuttle if you wanted to pay for it. Free wifi but I had trouble getting it in our room but our friends had not problem getting it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights in Newport for our honeymoon. We were looking for value and this place was recommended to us. The staff was helpful. The restaurant food was mediocre. We loved the value. Even with paying to park all day in town, we still saved a lot of money. If you are looking for affordable and a comfortable place to stay, this is a good place.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feeding Hills, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

as a new diamond level best western rewards holder we were upgraded to a better room. no complaints about anything. restaurant attached was great. had supper the first night and breakfast before leaving. am gonna come back next year for a longer stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 151 Admiral Kalbfus Road, Newport, RI 02840-1310 (Formerly Best Western)
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western The Mainstay Hotel Newport
Best Western Newport
Newport Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.