We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for overpriced Newport” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Mainstay Inn

Save Saved
You added The Mainstay Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Mainstay Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   151 Admiral Kalbfus Road, Newport, RI 02840-1310 (Formerly Best Western)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 20 hotels in Newport
East Providence, RI
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Ok for overpriced Newport”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Friendly staff, nice shuttle service to downtown Newport but a very dated hotel. Old TVs, $240+ because its Newport....this hotel would be $50 in another city. My own fault for waiting too long to book this trip......plan ahead all of Newport books up real fast in the summer. Overall a very average experience.

Room Tip: Not with the outdoor pool directly outside of your ground level room window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    112
    98
    51
    50
See reviews for
85
149
12
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, NY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

The rooms were very clean and the beds were comfortable. A very good restaurant on site. Really easy to get to Newport Visitors Center from hotel and they had a shuttle if you wanted to pay for it. Free wifi but I had trouble getting it in our room but our friends had not problem getting it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights in Newport for our honeymoon. We were looking for value and this place was recommended to us. The staff was helpful. The restaurant food was mediocre. We loved the value. Even with paying to park all day in town, we still saved a lot of money. If you are looking for affordable and a comfortable place to stay, this is a good place.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feeding Hills, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

as a new diamond level best western rewards holder we were upgraded to a better room. no complaints about anything. restaurant attached was great. had supper the first night and breakfast before leaving. am gonna come back next year for a longer stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts, USA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel with a large group attending a wedding. The front desk was very accommodating. The rooms are very dated and contain old square non-digital TV's. Water pressure was fine, which is always a plus. Corridors were clean and odor free. We didn't eat there except for a brunch that was hosted by the wedding party. The food at the brunch was good and plentiful, the coffee however was very slow to come. When a few of us congregated in one of the rooms for an impromptu after party, security came with a police officer and herded us down to the bar. This was rather surprising because it was a very cordial get together. Since it wasn't that late, the bride asked the manager why they were having a problem with us in a room, he actually had the nerve to start screaming at her until someone intervened. His comment was that they were not equipped to handle groups. I think this hotel is OK to stay at in a pinch for an individual but I would caution you strongly about bringing a group.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed at the Mainstay Inn for a weekend wedding in Newport. The positive points are that the hotel had comfortable beds, a clean room, and the staff was friendly. However, for nearly $200 per night, it was a very basic hotel with amenities that were, quite simply, nothing special. The room was a little tight in its size, but had a good sized bathroom. After having lunch, room service, and brunch from the restaurant, I would certainly choose another restaurant if I returned. The food simply was not very good. I will corroborate what others have said that the cleaning staff are quite noisy in the a.m. We found it simply to be an okay place to stay but it was clearly overpriced.

Room Tip: Our room faced the smaller access road behind the hotel -- not a great view by any means but quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, NY, United States
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I have stayed at the Mainstay several times. Each time I say it is my last time. The hotel is old and smells musty. The owner has several other hotels in the area and they are very nice, I don’t know why he doesn’t upgrade this one. He also owns two of the nicest restaurants in Newport. I stay here because it is so convenient for my business. And the price is very cheap (you get what you pay for). So, if you have to have something cheap, this is probably the cheapest around.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms are the nicest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Mainstay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mainstay Inn

Address: 151 Admiral Kalbfus Road, Newport, RI 02840-1310 (Formerly Best Western)
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 hotels in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Mainstay Inn 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, HotelsClick, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Mainstay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western The Mainstay Hotel Newport
Best Western Newport
Newport Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mainstay Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.