We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For college students and admirers of 1970's decor and odors” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center to your Saves list
Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   151 Admiral Kalbfus Road, Newport, RI 02840-1310 (Formerly Best Western)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Newport
New Milford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“For college students and admirers of 1970's decor and odors”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2008

We thought* we had booked a room for the Best Western in Middletown which is lovely and close to the Cliff Walk. Not the case!

1) Room smelled like a smoky cat box
2) Looked like it hadn't been updated since 1974
3) A bit scared of the sheets
4) Not that close to town.

Stay here if you don't have a ton of money and really don't care about your hotel room. This is a place for the college crowd.

There are better places to stay in the Newport area ..

Basically, I didn't want to take off my shoes the entire time we were there.

  • Liked — our bikes fit in the room ... good thing... I would have been concerned to leave them locked on the rack
  • Disliked — smelly room with horrid decor and dirty ... YUCK
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    131
    120
    59
    56
See reviews for
105
175
12
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
242 reviews 242 reviews
135 hotel reviews
Reviews in 139 cities Reviews in 139 cities
468 helpful votes 468 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2007

Found the hotel no problem and, although it's a few miles away from the historic centre of Newport, it's an easy enough drive in and out following the map provided by the hotel. First impressions were the the hotel was full to capacity with some sort of convention, but this had little impact on us apart from slightly noisy party one night (though this finished by 11:30).

The first room we were allocated was OK but had two beds instead of the king we had reserved. A quick call to the front desk and - to our surprise - we were immediately upgraded to a HUGE suite with 2 large bedrooms, both well furnished and spotlessly clean.

Out of all the places we visited in New England, Newport was the best and we will definitely consider staying at the Best Western when we do.

  • Liked — Great value for money
  • Disliked — nothing in particular
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2007

We booked 2 nights stay during our tour of New England, upon arrival there had been a mistake with our booking and it had been inadvertantly cancelled. They sorted things out quickly and gave us a suite room which was lovely, for the money ($75 ) per night this hotel offers excellent value.

The meals are fine nothing special BUT the Breakfasts are fantastic (you have to pay as a free b'fast is not in rate) the pancakes were yummy. good portions and lots of choice.

We stayed at some very expensive hotels (not through choice, just availability) that though in better condition with more amentities (which you don't always need but have to pay for in higher rate) that £ for £ this is better value.

Just dont expect a 4* hotel, keep a realistic attitude and this hotel will not disapoint.

I was very worried about some of the hotels as some peoples comments are really horrible, but some comments are nit picking a best and as they say you can't please all of the people all of the time.

  • Liked — Breakfasts the restaurant is right next to reception in Lobby very easy to get to
  • Disliked — Mattresses too hard for me but i do like them very soft
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2007

We were in Newport, Rhode Island to visit a time share at the Wyndam. The Wyndam paid for us to stay at the Best Western for 2 nights. The room was wonderful. We were in the new part on the second floor. I never seen a room this big for a regular hotel room.

We ate dinner at the restaurant at the hotel the first night there. There was a bar inside the restuarant. There were several people around the bar area playing Keno. There was a casino directly across the street from the hotel but we never got a chance to check it out.

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, NY
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2007

Easy to find and plenty of parking for our truck and trailer. We arrived on Monday Aug 20 and I had reserved a room directly but found that the online rate was lower than the hotel regular rate. The manager was accomodating and made an adjustment to the rate for a lower price, which I thought was nice. The room on first floor was quiet, clean & comfortable, king-size bed was very comfortable. Good water pressure in shower w/ lots of hot H20. Lots of channels on tv. Staff friendly, bartender mixes a good malibu & coke! We ate in the restaurant due to late hour arrival. food is barely average but hey, it was better than fast food. Service was prompt & friendly. Would definitely stay here again, it's an average place but we like to spend our money doing things & not on pricey hotels and this fit the bill perfectly. Not within walking distance to shopping & mansions, but only a couple of minutes by car, motorcycle or bike. Excellent value.

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2007

At first we planned on staying at the Coutyard in Middletown where we had resverations, but when we changed the dates there was no availabilty, so the best we found was the this hotel, that we avoided at first after seeing some grim reviews, but ended up really loving and enjoying it. it's very well located,and closer than most other middletown hotels since its Newport and very close to downtown, and as oppused to the courtyard it's in middle of some action but still quiet. if your lucky to get a front room in the right wing you'll have a beutiful view of the bridge and the area since it's a bit on a hill, you will also enjoy this view when sitting out in the patio in front of the hotel; but all other rooms also have nice views of trees or the quiet road in the back, thats very pleasent, some rooms even have porches, you can see that the hotel was recently renovated, the right wing where I stayed at was very clean and quiet(sounded nicer then the left wing) , the room itself was very big,spacious and clean, looked new, as well as the bathroom, and a closet, two chairs and a table, nice furniture, altough lacking a sofa chair or couch that would fit in perfectly, only annoying things was the bug we saw 3 times, and the noise of people walking in the hallways, and some opening and closing doors, but except that everything was very good, we really enjoyed the reaturaunt and Bar thats open till 1 am, as well as the patio outside with tables and chairs and gardens nearby, where we could eat lunch etc.(you can eat there your own food) and just sit out and chat. there is a decent lobby and outdoor swimming pool to enjoy, as well as a fittness room that serves it's porpuse, the Grand casino across keeps the area lively, another great thing is the nice shopping center a minute away with a Wal-mart and Stop a shop, where we were able to buy things we forgot at home, OVERALL we really enjoyed it and would recommend, its probably the best value you can get for your money if your looking for a good 2 star (or even 2 and a half) hotel in Newport in the summer season, simular and worse hotels charge moch more, BTW staff was very freindly and helpful, and they also provided me with a fridge for an extra $10 ONE THING YOU SHOULD BE AWARE OF is the 3 story left wing does not have an elevator so if you have a lot luggage make sure they dont give you a room there.

  • Liked — Location, outdoor chairs and tables
  • Disliked — no couch or sofa in room, noise of people walking in hallways.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hackensack, NJ
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2007

we just got home from a great vacation in newport, and i must say that the comfort and value that we had at the best western newport easily ranks high on the highlights of our vacation...the room was spotless when we arrived (and was available before 3pm checkin) on the first day and on every other day after maid service...we had ample storage room for our clothes, as we were provided with a dresser and closet for clothes. i would definitely suggest a stay at the bestwester mainstay, as it has a great location just outside of scenic newport and ALL AAA MEMBERS, check the back of the aaa book for r.i. and get a 3rd night for free midweek.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 151 Admiral Kalbfus Road, Newport, RI 02840-1310 (Formerly Best Western)
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western The Mainstay Hotel Newport
Best Western Newport
Newport Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.