We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent, Economical Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN The Mainstay Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN The Mainstay Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN The Mainstay Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   151 Admiral Kalbfus Road, Newport, RI 02840-1310   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #15 of 20 hotels in Newport
Rockville, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Decent, Economical Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel several times while visiting the Newport area. It is located close to the bridge and other areas, and it is definitely the right price. Everything is very clean and comfortable, and the staff is friendly. This trip, we were upgraded to a larger room, and it was very nice, separate living space from the bed area, lots of space. The bed and linens were EXTREMELY comfortable. Slept wonderfully. The reason this hotel only gets a 3 is really because of 2 factors. One is that it's a bit outdated. Some of the amenities and structures have never been updated, older TV, thermostat, etc. The other reason is comfort. While the bed and the cleanliness were excellent, the temperature of both the room and the water is very hard to control. This visit (and all previous visits) were in cold climates and when we arrived the heater was not on in the room, so it was frigid in the rooms. You have to crank the heat as you fall asleep and then wake up sweltering. The AC/Heat unit is old, so it's hard to control. I'm sure it saves money (and therefore costs) to keep the heat off, but perhaps they could warm up a room if they know a guest is going to arrive? This has happened on several visits. Also, it takes a long time to get warm or hot water. I'm not sure if this was distance to the water heater or age, but we had to let the water run for several minutes so it wasn't freezing. Not ideal on a 40 degree day. Once it warmed up, it was fine, but it's definitely not the most modern of conveniences. Again, this is a very decent, clean hotel and a great way to save money for other things, but not a top of the line place if that's what you're looking for.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    113
    97
    50
    49
See reviews for
84
147
12
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Best Western Mainstay Inn, Newport, Rhode Island.
Perfect place to stay, close to family, easy to find. Very clean, restaurant in hotel. Great deal for what we got.

I gave it an overall average rating, because it was basic. However, for under $50.00 a night it was an excellent choice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This hotel had one of the best rates for the Newport, RI area. The rooms were clean and the bed comfortable. The wi-fi which is free was not working, The hallways are dirty, and look old and worn. No breakfast is served because they have a restaurant on site that is over priced. The people at the front desk were always to busy to try to be helpful. Despite the price, I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

This hotel offers good value to Newport visitors. The trade offs: you cannot easily walk downtown and the rooms feel a bit tired. The benefits: The hotel offers shuttle service to the beach and downtown plus the room rates are more reasonable than other hotels in town. This hotel is convenient for cyclists who want to tour Ocean Drive and Bellevue Avenue.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edson
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We were happy and surprised when we arrived because we had been upgraded to a "suite" which had a sitting room separate from the bedroom. We had a beautiful view of the bridge. The mattress was a bit soft, the room was clean and quiet even though it's close to the casino. The location was quite convenient for touring Newport. Staff was very helpful with check in.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West chester, PA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I have stayed at many Best Westerns and this was just OK. A little run down, especially the carpeting. My major complaint is that the internet in the wing I was in is absolutely AWFUL and I had to sit in the lobby for several hours to complete my work. I was offered to move but no one could guarantee that access would be any better on the other side so I didn't spend the time to repack and be re-annoyed. There is no smoking in the building so people stood outside the entry door smoking and I had to walk through a cloud of smoke every time I entered and exited. People were very nice and they do have a restaurant which is convenient. Quick access to the Navy Base is the primary plus.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN The Mainstay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN The Mainstay Inn

Address: 151 Admiral Kalbfus Road, Newport, RI 02840-1310
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN The Mainstay Inn 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, HotelsClick, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN The Mainstay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western The Mainstay Hotel Newport
Best Western Newport
Newport Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN The Mainstay Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.