We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent deal for the price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center to your Saves list
Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   151 Admiral Kalbfus Road, Newport, RI 02840-1310 (Formerly Best Western)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Newport
Newport
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent deal for the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Best Western Mainstay Inn, Newport, Rhode Island.
Perfect place to stay, close to family, easy to find. Very clean, restaurant in hotel. Great deal for what we got.

I gave it an overall average rating, because it was basic. However, for under $50.00 a night it was an excellent choice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    126
    114
    57
    55
See reviews for
102
165
12
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This hotel had one of the best rates for the Newport, RI area. The rooms were clean and the bed comfortable. The wi-fi which is free was not working, The hallways are dirty, and look old and worn. No breakfast is served because they have a restaurant on site that is over priced. The people at the front desk were always to busy to try to be helpful. Despite the price, I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

This hotel offers good value to Newport visitors. The trade offs: you cannot easily walk downtown and the rooms feel a bit tired. The benefits: The hotel offers shuttle service to the beach and downtown plus the room rates are more reasonable than other hotels in town. This hotel is convenient for cyclists who want to tour Ocean Drive and Bellevue Avenue.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edson
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We were happy and surprised when we arrived because we had been upgraded to a "suite" which had a sitting room separate from the bedroom. We had a beautiful view of the bridge. The mattress was a bit soft, the room was clean and quiet even though it's close to the casino. The location was quite convenient for touring Newport. Staff was very helpful with check in.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West chester, PA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I have stayed at many Best Westerns and this was just OK. A little run down, especially the carpeting. My major complaint is that the internet in the wing I was in is absolutely AWFUL and I had to sit in the lobby for several hours to complete my work. I was offered to move but no one could guarantee that access would be any better on the other side so I didn't spend the time to repack and be re-annoyed. There is no smoking in the building so people stood outside the entry door smoking and I had to walk through a cloud of smoke every time I entered and exited. People were very nice and they do have a restaurant which is convenient. Quick access to the Navy Base is the primary plus.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linden
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

After having to put off a spring trip to Newport we finally got there this fall. All I can say is every Beast Western I have been to meets my expectations. True the building seemed to have many wings / additions but where we were was clean and maintained.
Parking on the side by the restaurant got filled up each night so you may have to walk a bit if you are staying in the wing closest to the casino street. The location was perfect for visiting the casino each night. If you want action this is a very quiet location but they do have a shuttle service with a fee per person. There is a bar in the restaurant and the food was decent.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 151 Admiral Kalbfus Road, Newport, RI 02840-1310 (Formerly Best Western)
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Groupon, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western The Mainstay Hotel Newport
Best Western Newport
Newport Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.