We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient for cyclists, but not pedestrians” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Mainstay Inn

Save Saved
You added The Mainstay Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Mainstay Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   151 Admiral Kalbfus Road, Newport, RI 02840-1310 (Formerly Best Western)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 20 hotels in Newport
Milford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Convenient for cyclists, but not pedestrians”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

This hotel offers good value to Newport visitors. The trade offs: you cannot easily walk downtown and the rooms feel a bit tired. The benefits: The hotel offers shuttle service to the beach and downtown plus the room rates are more reasonable than other hotels in town. This hotel is convenient for cyclists who want to tour Ocean Drive and Bellevue Avenue.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    112
    98
    51
    50
See reviews for
85
149
12
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edson
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We were happy and surprised when we arrived because we had been upgraded to a "suite" which had a sitting room separate from the bedroom. We had a beautiful view of the bridge. The mattress was a bit soft, the room was clean and quiet even though it's close to the casino. The location was quite convenient for touring Newport. Staff was very helpful with check in.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West chester, PA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I have stayed at many Best Westerns and this was just OK. A little run down, especially the carpeting. My major complaint is that the internet in the wing I was in is absolutely AWFUL and I had to sit in the lobby for several hours to complete my work. I was offered to move but no one could guarantee that access would be any better on the other side so I didn't spend the time to repack and be re-annoyed. There is no smoking in the building so people stood outside the entry door smoking and I had to walk through a cloud of smoke every time I entered and exited. People were very nice and they do have a restaurant which is convenient. Quick access to the Navy Base is the primary plus.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linden
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

After having to put off a spring trip to Newport we finally got there this fall. All I can say is every Beast Western I have been to meets my expectations. True the building seemed to have many wings / additions but where we were was clean and maintained.
Parking on the side by the restaurant got filled up each night so you may have to walk a bit if you are staying in the wing closest to the casino street. The location was perfect for visiting the casino each night. If you want action this is a very quiet location but they do have a shuttle service with a fee per person. There is a bar in the restaurant and the food was decent.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trainer,Pa
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Just got back from a week long fall vacation. We stayed our for three nights while we explored the Newport area. I was a bit worried when I started looking at the reviews but for about $72.00 a night plus tax I could not find another deal that came close so I booked. the front desk help was pleasant and efficient. Since we are rewards members we were upgraded to a suite. We had a very large room with king bed and a sitting area with couch and comfy chair. There was also a microwave and fridge. It was clean and the bed was very comfortable. We had no complaints except that one sink had a slow drain but other then that all was fine. We did use the shuttle the first night but when we found out how close we were to downtown we did use our own car. We had breakfast two mornings and found the food and service to be very acceptable. While we may have been in the playground of the wealthy we are not so this was a great option for us. We spend more time outdoors then we do in the hotel and we consider this hotel a good choice for us.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, CA
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

This ramshackle structure is easy to get lost in. It seems designed specifically to accommodate busloads of tourists deposited there each evening. It is well worn and a tired around the edges and in the middle on occasion, as well. The beds are comfortable enough. The linens and towels are fine. There is a "Steakhouse" on site that reminds those of us who remember Greyhound stations of that experience. Tried the breakfast and somehow the cook managed to get the easy over eggs served cold. The server forgot my spouse's bacon and returned with several limp and tepid pieces of soggy pork. There is nothing specific to recommend this place other than price and location for those visiting Newport. There is nothing to not recommend this place if one needs only a room for sleeping and reconnoitering the area.

Room Tip: Stay in one of the balcony rooms and you can enjoy a bit of air and a view of the parking lot; more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballston Spa New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

This place was clean, with a very good staff that fell in the category of you get what you pay for,unfortunately in this town you pay a good amount for not much.
This place was a typical Best Western, nothing wrong with it but no Hilton or Marriot either.
It was a stay that was fair but nothing memorable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Mainstay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mainstay Inn

Address: 151 Admiral Kalbfus Road, Newport, RI 02840-1310 (Formerly Best Western)
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 hotels in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Mainstay Inn 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, HotelsClick, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Mainstay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western The Mainstay Hotel Newport
Best Western Newport
Newport Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mainstay Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;