We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Reed Rose Cottage

Reed Rose Cottage
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Reed Rose Cottage
8 Loyola Terrace, Newport, RI 02840   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 101 Newport B&B and Inns
Warrington, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

We by chance found this perfect little gem on the internet. Charron and Jim, the owners are very personable and welcoming. The property is clean, quiet, quaint and very convenient to everything you want to do in Newport. A worthwhile place to put on your list.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    2
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Annandale, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

This bed and breakfast is truly unique. The cottage has a beautiful bedroom and bath and a small kitchen area. The breakfast items are brought to your room and the coffee pot is ready for you to flip the on switch in the morning. Breakfast selections include hot entrees and a more than ample supply of hot and cold cereals are stocked in the room. Each day there was an assortment of fresh fruit and fresh pastries. You can dine on the porch off the bedroom after taking a dip in the pool that is immediately outside the cottage. There is a pool house and grill that we did not have time to use -- much to our regret. Oh, I almost forgot to mention that lovely complimentary bottle of wine provided by our gracious hosts.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Rochelle, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

We have been vacationing in Newport for about 30 years, have stayed in MANY B&B's and hotels but now that we found Reed Rose Cottage it's the only place that we choose to stay when we visit the area. It's quite, cozy and the owners always make us feel welcome!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colville, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

The property is quaint. The grounds are well kept. Neighborhood is quiet. We stayed in the Lavender Room. It was antiquated but clean. Some fixtures in the bathroom were broken but operational. The breakfast part of the bed and breakfast was very disappointing. A small refridgerator and a toaster oven with a small continental breakfast is not my idea of a bed and breakfast. Definitely not worth what we paid. I would not stay here again or recommend it to a friend.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, West Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2009

My mom, myself, and a family friend stayed at Reed Rose last weekend for a wedding. I had the Country Queen suite and they had to 2 bedroom suite. We all fell in love with it! The 2 room suite had a great little kitchen with stove, fridge, etc-a great sitting room and 2 cute bedrooms. The Queen Suite, was perfect for me, but would be really romantic for a couple. The bathroom was so pretty, and there's also a small fridge, microwave, closet, TV-very cozy, and wonderfully decorated! The grounds are really pretty as well-the pool was covered since it's winter, but I imagine in the spring and summer, this place is just stunning! Service was really great too-our hostess left museum tickets (for the mansions), flowers in the room, candies, muffins and cake, and stocked the fridges with diet cokes, beer, juice, milk, fruit plate, and quiches. This was all in both of the rooms! The cottage is close to the Cliff Walk (which we didn't have time to do), the mansions, and quite a few restaurants and bars. It was a such a wonderful place-we had a great experience and didn't want to leave! I am hoping to get back and stay here when it's warmer!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xxxxx
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2008

We booked both suites as we are a couple that travels with my mother. The queen suite was perfect for her. Extremely clean! Pool is just steps from the suite with amazingly beautiful grounds to relax in. My husband and I stayed in the 2 bedroom unit. It was great for us and has a full kitchen with dining area. We could see fireworks from our windows, quite a treat !

The owners were good to deal with and went above and beyond for us. Great communication on the reservation process. We did not need breakfast so requested a rate excluding the breakfast, therefore, I cannot comment to breakfast. However, Charron did leave us a quiche which was very generous and unexpected and also very tasty. Excellent suggestions for our stay including recommendations on restaurants, and even our side trip to Boston and New York. They were also concerned for us when we arrived back late from NY. They even called to tell us that we left behind a bag of laundry we forgot and mailed it to us!

The quarters are close as the units share common walls with the owners and noise can be heard at times, but this is nearly the norm in b&b's I have stayed in. Some things to be aware of: There is a curved set of stairs leading up to the 2 bedroom unit. At the time of our visit there were no phones in the units, this was a surprise to us. The owners did make reservations for us at dining and tea establishments and took messages for us. One thing to note about Newport, the residential roads are narrow. We had a trailer with us and just was able to make it with parking the trailer. This is not a problem for most travelers. Vans, cars, pickups will be just fine.

Location of B&B is very central to all things Newport. It is a wonderful area. Also as a side note the hospital is located just a few blocks away and they run very efficiently....found this out due to sprained ankle.

I would recommend making reservations early especially for fall.

  • Liked — Location/Grounds
  • Disliked — No phone service @ time of my stay, but did have internet access
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2008

We (my spouse and I, our 13-yr-old son, and our beagle) stayed there for 3 nights in Spring. The suite is very well maintained, simple yet cute and charming. The location of the cottage and its pet-friendliness worked out very well for us. Charron and her husband are wonderful hosts. We plan to return to enjoy Charron's roses and the pool.

Stayed April 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Reed Rose Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reed Rose Cottage

Address: 8 Loyola Terrace, Newport, RI 02840
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 101 B&Bs / Inns in Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Reed Rose Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Reed Rose Cottage to your Saves list