We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bouchard Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Bouchard Inn to your Saves list
Bouchard Inn
505 Thames Street, Newport, RI 02840   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 100 Newport B&B and Inns
KINGSTON, NEW YORK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

The Bouchard is a French Inn in a wonderful section of Newport, Rhode Island. Beautiful room, comfortable bed, wonderful simple breakfast. Walking distance to everything you want to do on Newport. Will stay there again!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    32
    8
    1
    3
See reviews for
12
61
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hoboken, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

We typically do not enjoy a traditional b&b experience with flowery wallpaper, overfurnished rooms, and chatty owners. This inn was perfect for us. A comfy bed, great location, modern clean amenities. Breakfast snack delivered to your door in the morning, kuerig coffee in the room. We wil recommend this place to family and friends.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okemos, Michigan
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

The room was great, cheerful and clean. The pastries were fabulous! Getting ice was always a bit of an ordeal, especially on Tuesday night when the restaurant was closed. We often felt like we were getting in the way of the restaurant staff. Construction was being done by the inn door and we had to come and go through the restaurant, yet every time we came through we were made to feel like we were intruding. Tuesday the restaurant is closed and the owners were out for the night we had trouble with our air conditioner and did not know how we were going to get some assistance. The owners were not out too late so we weren't in a hot room for too long, but there was potential for a long hot wait that evening. We spilled some tonic water on the table the first night and cleaned it as best we could with a wash cloth. The third morning we noticed that the spill had never been cleaned by the housekeeping staff. The refrigerator in the room barely kept things cold. No screens in the windows.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 4, the Rose Room. It was bright and cheerful with lots of windows, but no screens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, CT
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

The Bouchard Restaurant is excellent, but the Inn is not up to the level of the restaurant. I've stayed in numerous B&Bs all across America and the Bouchard Inn is not a B&B in the traditional sense. A B&B should ideally have at least one "common" room and maybe a place to eat breakfast--this inn does not. There is also no outside space or garden or view. I found the staff here is focused on the restaurant exclusively and the guests of the inn treated like second class citizens--in fact, one of the staff bordered on brusque and dismissive.

In addition, the rooms are bizarrely different in size, furniture, accessories (not in a quaint romantic way--more like in a "what's left in the basement" way)--and worst of all, the bed and bath linens were mismatched, pilled, and tired; they looked dirty, but were just old. The breakfast, as other reviewers have mentioned, is placed outside your door at around 8:00 am. It comes in a paper bag with two fresh pastries, yogurt mixed with fruit, two worn cloth napkins, and utensils--that's it. No pretty basket, no pretty cloth--no plates. Why not include a simple roll or croissant? Juice and coffee are provided in the room along with a microwave and mini-frig. With rates up to $345 per night--I expect more from my lodging than feeling like I spent the night in someone's spare guest room.

It would not take much effort on the part of the Inn to upgrade the things they can control--not the lack of common rooms and gardens--but things like new, fresh white linens, more attention to making the decor cohesive, upgraded bath products (not used Breck shampoos and Dial soap), an added roll or two for breakfast, and a professional Innkeeper to focus on their guests.

On the plus side, the location is very good--on the south end of Thames Street, and there is off-street parking. In the end the Bouchard Inn is in Newport where rooms are scarce; that is why we stayed there--location, parking, and they had a room available when others did not.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, AL
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed at the Inn last weekend. Very comfortable and nicely decorated suite with small kitchen and living room (#10 Eve room). Great location-walking distance to all restaurants and shops. Breakfast pastries and yogurt were delightful. They left them at the door. The inn offers a lot of privacy which we prefer.

Room Tip: We recommend #10 Eve room, however, it is probably most expensive, but worthwhile to have a mini apa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Bouchard Inn and ate at the restaurant on Memorial Day weekend 2013. Everything was outstanding! The room was beautiful and recently updated in a tasteful manner. The bathroom was spacious and updated, as the was the room. The bed was a king size and was very comfortable. The location was central to shops and restaurants and a five minute drive from The Breakers.

Breakfast was brought to us every morning and left on our door handle in the hall. The breakfast was yogurt parfaits and pastries. There was a keurig in our room and plenty of k-cups for coffee and tea, as well as bottled water and OJ.

Parking was easy and free.

We also ate the restaurant, which was absolutely fantastic! We had lobster and filet mignon, which was delicious! For a birthday dessert, they brought us champagne and a wonderful chocolate dessert. The service was outstanding!!

We would definitely come back on our next Newport trip!

Room Tip: We stayed in the more modern looking rooms next to the Inn. These rooms are updated and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We travelled around New England for a week, and I booked our first night here from abroad.
The Inn is in a good location, not far from the town"s center. The room was nice and with a view of the sea.It is located in a high first floor, and can be reached only by external stairs from the parking lot itself.There is no lobby or reception desk, only the restaurant in the ground floor,which is closed most of the day, so there is no way to contact the service team then.Breakfast is brought to the room at the same time to all the guests, no choice for you.
I cannot comment on the restaurant, we did not eat because of the prices.
Compared to other lodgings we stayed at during the same trip, this one is overpriced and we obtained much better deals at better prices.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bouchard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bouchard Inn

Address: 505 Thames Street, Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy all the intimacy of a Boutique Inn with the privacy and services of a hotel, all in the heart of downtown Newport and less than 1 block from the harbor. All of our guest rooms feature private baths and sitting areas for relaxing before or after a long day on your feet exploring Newport. From our front door, just about everything is within walking distance, saving you the trouble of traffic and finding parking. Also, our Restaurant has been featured as the #1 Restaurant in Newport here on Trip Advisor for the past 4 years. It would be our pleasure for you to come to Newport and let us help you share the experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Bouchard Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bouchard Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.