We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, charm, & hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Historic Hill Inn

Save Saved
You added Historic Hill Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Historic Hill Inn
105 Pelham Street, Newport, RI 02840   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 101 Newport B&B and Inns
New Haven, Connecticut
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Location, charm, & hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

This place has it all! It's a very short walk to the heart of town, but quiet at the same time. There's a large backyard, a charming feel, and owners who take the time to welcome you. Another plus is that many Inns in Newport do not have innkeepers present all the time. Not only are the owners available, but there is also a private number they provide just in case you get locked out after 3 a.m. What more can you ask for?

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    12
    2
    2
    4
See reviews for
10
36
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Madrid
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We booked this accommodation about two hours before we arrived in Newport. It was well located and the hosts, Donna and Richard were extremely helpful with advice about where to eat and what to see in the short time we were there.
The continental breakfast was excellent. A highlight for us was Brownie, the beagle. He was very well behaved, friendly and bought back memories of our own beagles.
The room was spacious, clean, and the whole place had an interesting old fashioned feel.
Certainly value for money.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

An excellent location in one of Newport's Historic areas. On arrival Donna gave my wife and I the lowdown on where to go,how to get there, and why we might like it. Extremely helpful as we had only 2 days in town. Donna's care and attention made our trip something special. Our room though small,was comfortable and cosy although it lacked a chair to sit and read hence 4 stars. The bed was very comfortable and and everything worked as it should. Breakfast was very good,a help yourself with a selection of cereals,toast,juices not cooked but that was all we wanted. We would certainly return and maybe go for a bigger room.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, Rhode Island
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Our hosts, Donna and Richard, along with their friendly puppy, were wonderful! The bedroom was small-ish, but the size and amenities in the tiled bathroom (with Jacuzzi tub) made up for it quickly. The bed was comfortable and toasty warm. The Inn, located on an off-street in downtown Newport, was clean and beautifully decorated with period furniture, art works and knick-knacks. We came to Newport for the annual St. Patrick's Day parade. It was a quick 2-3 block walk to all the shops and main streets in Newport. I believe we stayed in the "Budget" room, which someone wrote negatively about, but the only thing budget about it was the price! Breakfast was all you could ask for with fresh pastries, fruit, coffee, tea, OJ, etc. We're happy we stayed and will return again! Definitely a place to think about if you want to spend a nice weekend in the City By The Sea! Thanks Donna and Rich!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We visited the Historic Hill Inn over this past winter, and stayed in the "Budget Room", which amounted to about 120 square feet of a bed, an old CRT television (without working cable) on a dresser, and a bureau with some antique knick-knacks. When we arrived we meet the innkeeper, who offered to upgrade us for an additional charge as there were several rooms empty. Her upgrade pitch seemed well-practiced, and I got the sense that many guests had been disappointed by the Budget Room. We opted to forego the paid upgrade, and settled into the tiny, dingy room as best we could. Unfortunately the bathroom, which was separate from the room (something the innkeeper warned us about during her pitch), was equally small and dingy (see photos.)

I would suggest you pay attention to the other sub-par reviews for this property, as I can confirm the following:

- The house was very loud at night and in the early mornings, with a lot of loud talking, door slamming, and stair stomping. Apparently the innkeeper and her family had guests staying over, and they sat in the downstairs living room (directly downstairs from our room) visiting loudly until about 1 am. And when I say “visiting”, I really mean drinking wine and shouting at each other. At one point we actually thought there was a fight going on downstairs, as two of the women were literally screaming at each other.

- The breakfast was not really up to the standards of most B&Bs that we have stayed at. During our visit, breakfast consisted of bread, jam, instant oatmeal, sticky buns, granola, strawberries/blueberries, tea, and fruit juice. Some of the food was not replenished during our stay so the selection became more limited each day.

- The dog, although cute, begged aggressively from us at the breakfast table. The innkeeper did not stop him from doing this even when she was in the room, and after we walked away from the table, I looked back and saw him with his head on the table, eating off of our plates. The rest of the breakfast spread is easily within his reach, and I have no doubt his nose is frequently touching the food.

As I mentioned, during our stay the innkeeper had some friends or relatives staying, which lead to some loud “visiting” downstairs, and the kitchen was under construction, with the workmen going in and out through the breakfast room. Given these two situations, I really don’t think the innkeeper should have rented any rooms during this period. Overall we were very disappointed with our visit, and will not be returning.

Room Tip: Avoid the "Budget Room". It's little more than a walk-in closet with some furniture ja...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, Owner at Historic Hill Inn, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
We regret that this reviewer did not enjoy the same positive experience as the vast majority of our guests. We appreciate the opportunity to correct the inaccuracies put forth. Lets begin with the facts, none of which the reviewer disclosed.
The reviewer booked our least expensive room online where the size & amenities are described in detail, along with photo's .No one had to "warn" the guest that the bathroom was outside the room. This was known prior to arrival. During check in, we offered a larger room with an en suite bathroom for an additional $10, or a Deluxe room for + $20. This was not a "pitch" as the review claimed. It was a sincere effort to offer the best accommodations available .We explained that since it was Valentine's Day Weekend these rooms would book quickly, which they did. The reviewer declined stating "I'm used to camping. The room is fine'
You can find several favorable reviews & guest photo's of this same room. It's nice, cute & cozy, albeit a bit small. The low pricing reflects this. It's comparable to the type of small pensione type rooms one find in Europe. Fine for a day or two for those on a budget. It's not for everyone. We encourage those whose budget allows to choose a more Deluxe room. The price difference is minimal. However, during these challenging economic times we realize that for many, every penny counts as it obviously did for this reviewer. My sense is that being accustomed to campground rates, they overextended their budget, then expected to get a "free" upgrade. Hence the sour grapes.
Upon arrival each guest is given our phone #.This ensures that we can bee contacted anytime, 24/7 should there be a problem. It also serves to invalidate false, misleading reviews such as this due to the fact that we always available to resolve any issue whatsoever. Our job is to keep people Happy. Nowhere in this review will you find mention of a complaint being made to the Innkeepers during their stay. Why is that?
Ask yourself this: If you didn't like your room, if there was loud visiting, people screaming, doors slamming, workers stomping through the guest areas, non working TV's, diminishing food selections at breakfast, a dog aggressively begging & eating food off your plate, while the Innkeeper nonchalantly looks on, wouldn't you voice a complaint? Especially if you were staying 3 days as this reviewer did? (factoid: the "aggressive" dog is a small 14 year old Beagle who can barely get out of his own bed.) What about all the other guests at the Sold out Inn? Wouldn't they notice any of this? Wouldn't they complain too? How could a place like this stay in business for 19 years? How could they receive even 1 positive review, let alone dozens & dozens? This is where reviews like this lose all credibility. To achieve believability, it has to be at least somewhat real.
The only factual statement contained in this review is that the room is small. This was well known in advance. When given the chance to upgrade, the reviewer declined because they are budget travelers accustomed to camping. This is not our fault. We wish it turned out better.
Fortunately, situations like this are a rare anomaly we seldom encounter. You can see this for yourself by reading the overwhelmingly positive reviews. 99.9% of our guests are wonderful people, many of whom have become repeat customers. This is what makes our business so rewarding. We hope you agree & consider us when planning your next trip to Newport.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

I've stayed here every time I come to Newport (about 4 times) and I absolutely love it. The location can't be beat and the hosts, Richard and Donna are both wonderful people-very welcoming, friendly, helpful and gracious. The Inn itself is beautiful and the rooms are very comfortable. Also, a really nice selection of breakfast items. Highly recommended. Actually my only hesitation in recommending them so highly is that I'm afraid I won't be able to get a room for myself next time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

The Historic Hill Inn is a funky and friendly bed and breakfast in the center of Newport. My wife and I arrived to a huge room, with a wonderfully comfortable king-size bed, period and mixed bric-a-brac galore, an old-fashioned 26" tv, and a bottle of champagne nestled in an ice-filled champagne cooler (it was my wife's birthday). This room had a large and clean private bath.
If you are looking for an expensive, state-of-the-art and perfectly manicured B&B, The Historic Hill Inn is not for you. For the rest of us, who are looking for a warm, relaxed experience, with two of the more interesting hosts you will find, don't hesitate to book the Historic Hill Inn. Maybe we will see you there on our next Newport overnight!

Room Tip: Master King room was huge and has a private bath. A great deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Historic Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Hill Inn

Address: 105 Pelham Street, Newport, RI 02840
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 101 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Historic Hill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Historic Hill Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.