We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant 3 nights stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Historic Hill Inn

Save Saved
You added Historic Hill Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Historic Hill Inn
105 Pelham Street, Newport, RI 02840   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 101 Newport B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A pleasant 3 nights stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Stayed in the king size room for 3 nights. An excellent location close to shops, water and restaurants. Richard and Donna are very helpful and friendly hosts.

Room Tip: Recommend the large bedroom
See more room tips
Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    12
    1
    2
    4
See reviews for
10
36
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
N Caldwell, NJ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

Donna and Richard are wonderful hosts. Our room was large and comfortable and the inn is located close to the center of town. We were able to walk to restaurants and not have to worry about parking. We have traveled to Newport for about 25 years but this was our first time at a B&B and we really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

We have never stayed at a B&B and it was a great place to be so close to Newport center.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine Bush, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

This was our third Visit to the Historic Hill Inn. The hosts Richard and Donna are wonderful people who we look forward to seeing each year. They are both friendly, pleasant, very accomodating and quick to help with any needs that may come about. Their knowledge about the surrounding area has helped us in planning the places we wanted to visit. We also love the location because it is walking distance to the places in Newport we like. The private parking lot at the Inn provides a secure place to park our car so we don't have to worry about issues with the car and driving. The Inn is clean, comfortable and nicely decorated. Breakfast offers a vast assortment of baked goods, fruit, cereal, juice etc. and every visit has afforded us great conversation with the other guests. We will be looking forward to returning again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lees summit
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

We stayed in the back king-bed room again. This was our fourth time. We like the closet space, the comfortable bed, the cleanliness, and the spaciousness. And we have found no hosts more gracious than Richard and Donna.

Our activities revolved around the Casino for the tennis and the Hotel Viking for meetings. The Inn's location shortened the walk to either. We recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

To get the boring stuff out of the way first - we had absolutely no problems with the property. It was clean, well maintained, the room was wonderful. At the time of the review Richard is currently pulling his kitchen apart, but it already looks great - good luck to you on that one!

The part, in my opinion, that made our stay though, were the hosts, Donna and Richard. Only truly wonderful people would entertain my predilection for political talk to the extent that they did, such that we spent hours talking the paint off the walls! It goes without saying that they were always supremely helpful, never hesitating to suggest good eats around town and suchlike.

As for the breakfast, I certainly never wanted for anything. Coffee, tea, cereal, toast, bagels and fresh fruit - and if you want anything more fancy you ought to be looking for a Sheraton or something to bend over further backwards for you.

All in all, highly recommend the place, and would visit again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hempstead, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

Stayed one night on our way back from a trip to Maine, also spent a couple of nights in August of '09. Donna and Richard are wonderful hosts, felt like they were old friends that I've known for years. They were very helpful with their knowledge of Newport for activities and places to eat. Richard does all his own renovations and even gave us some ideas on things we can do to our old house. Brownie the dog was cute as a button and my daughter fell in love with him. Bannister's Wharf and the Black Pearl are a short walk away, a great town and B&B, i highly recommend!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Historic Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Hill Inn

Address: 105 Pelham Street, Newport, RI 02840
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 101 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Historic Hill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Historic Hill Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.