We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect weekend!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Newport Blues Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Newport Blues Inn to your Saves list
Newport Blues Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   96 Pelham Street, Newport, RI 02840   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 99 Newport B&B and Inns
Norwell, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect weekend!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Just arrived home from my first weekend on vacation without the kids in 11 years! The Newport Blues Inn was just perfect! We walked to the mansions, the Cliff Walk, downtown, the wharfs,and everything Newport has to offer. Our room was comfortably appointed,immaculate, and remarkably quiet. This is the first B&B I've stayed at that had a full-sized tub in the bathroom! Breakfast was delicious and included a main hot entree, warm muffins, a variety of breads, bagels, and pastries, fresh fruit, yogurt, coffee and juice. And the price was very reasonable as compared with similarly located inns. Thank you for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    25
    13
    10
    1
See reviews for
12
58
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ocean, New Jersey, United States
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Just came back from a stay at this great B&B. The rooms were immaculate, roomy, and felt like home. The breakfast every morning was great and served with a smile. The location was probably the best in Newport. I could walk to shopping, the Mansions, you name it.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

A last minute August reservation put us in the Sakonnet Room at the Newport Blues Inn. The Blue Jewel and Black Duck look nicer. This particular inn, the Newport Blues, is average. The exterior is in need of paint and general repair. The interior needs some work as well. We were told that the keys were not easy to use, and this proved to be true. Our room was small, but adequate, and relatively clean. The window AC was functioning. The bathroom is small, could use some towel bars right next to the sink, and it would have been nice to have more than two bath towels, but it was also adequate. The bathroom door did not shut all the way but the bathroom does have a small refrigerator which was convenient. It might be a bit more appropriate to have the refrigerator in the main bedroom rather than in the bathroom. Breakfast is served in a basement dining room. The room has small basement style windows and a door leading to the patio if one wants to dine outside. Peach muffins were very good, but otherwise a nice breakfast, nothing special. This would not be a cozy place to dine on a cold or rainy day. The decor is not your typical B & B flowers and antiques, but much more simple. The four poster bed and other furniture in the bedroom is black, and could have come from Target. If memory serves, the dining chairs are folding captains chairs often found on boats. The August price of $280, which included tax, was a little high for the accommodations, but keep in mind that the hotels in the downtown area run $400 - 500 per night. The location is the best thing here. It is within walking distance to downtown and many restaurants. The Historic Hill area is quite lovely and a nice place to be. Despite being close to Bellevue Ave, it is relatively quiet. Our upstairs neighbors were heard late at night, but that is to be expected in an old house like this. Would we stay here again? Probably not. Would we recommend it to friends or family? Probably not. It was adequate, and suitable for a one night stay, but I don't think we would have wanted to stay here any longer than one night. Note that the Blue Jewel and Black Duck have parking behind the inns. We had to go up the street, a fairly short distance, to park in a private lot owned by Elks Club. Parking is only permitted until noon after your stay, so if you want to spend more time in Newport you can either take a chance and stay in the lot, or look elsewhere. We took a chance and stayed longer with no problem.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This was our first time staying in Newport, and at a B and B. We were very pleased with both. From my research the Blues Inn was one of the more moderately priced B & B's in Newport. Most of the building have a quaint look to them, reminding you of their colonial origins, but the Blues Inn exterior does not. It looks like it was built in the late 1950’s which may turn some people off, do not let it fool you. The inside is updated, and nicely decorated and the rooms we saw were well kept.

The staff was very nice, breakfast was good, and the location is awesome, just up the street from Thames St. and Banisters Wharf. There is a nice front porch where we drank wine and chatted with anyone that passed by, and a private patio you can eat breakfast on.

I would most certainly recommend this B and B to anyone and if I go back to Newport will try and stay there again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Gooseberry room, which looked a little more modern than the Ruggles room, where our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beacon Falls, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Having never stayed at a Bed/Breakfast I was little nervous when I purchased the "Living Social" online deal. The entire 3 night stay was excellent. Chef Lindsay was the best, breakfast was great every morning especially the chocolate chip pancakes. Room was clean, lucky to have 2 beds when most in the house only had one. Great Location-parking not the best . I would highly recommended staying at the Newport Blues and cant wait to stay again in the future

Deb
CT

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I stayed in the Diamond Room at the Blue Jewel Guest House with my boyfriend. It was absolutely lovely. I was originally skeptical of the Victorian decor when I saw photos (I happen to like a little more modern style, and thought of staying in one of the sister properties, but they seemed a bit plain) but I was absolutely pleased!

The best thing about the Diamond Room was the amazing bathroom--it has a huge semi-circle shower that is luxurious and different. The bed was large and comfortable and I had no complaints about other aspects of the room!

Do note that breakfast is not in this property--it is served about a 3 minute walk down the street at the Black Duck. We didn't have a problem with this but good to know.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed in the harbor room. The room was beautiful, the bathroom- elegant. Very comfortable bed. IMO, the pillows were a bit too soft. Good breakfasts two days in a row. VERY close to all the action, but far enough away that you can really relax.

Room Tip: If you have a car that is your "baby," you may want to choose one of the sister hotels (Bl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Newport Blues Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Blues Inn

Address: 96 Pelham Street, Newport, RI 02840
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Newport Blues Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newport Blues Inn, one of Newport RI's finest Inns, offers our guests an experience of classic RI charm with a modern day style and appeal. Located a walking distance from the center of town, the beach, and the Bellevue Mansions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Newport Blues Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Blues Hotel Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newport Blues Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.