We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Time Staying at a Bed Breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Newport Blues Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Newport Blues Inn to your Saves list
Newport Blues Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   96 Pelham Street, Newport, RI 02840   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 99 Newport B&B and Inns
Beacon Falls, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“First Time Staying at a Bed Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Having never stayed at a Bed/Breakfast I was little nervous when I purchased the "Living Social" online deal. The entire 3 night stay was excellent. Chef Lindsay was the best, breakfast was great every morning especially the chocolate chip pancakes. Room was clean, lucky to have 2 beds when most in the house only had one. Great Location-parking not the best . I would highly recommended staying at the Newport Blues and cant wait to stay again in the future

Deb
CT

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    25
    13
    10
    1
See reviews for
12
58
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I stayed in the Diamond Room at the Blue Jewel Guest House with my boyfriend. It was absolutely lovely. I was originally skeptical of the Victorian decor when I saw photos (I happen to like a little more modern style, and thought of staying in one of the sister properties, but they seemed a bit plain) but I was absolutely pleased!

The best thing about the Diamond Room was the amazing bathroom--it has a huge semi-circle shower that is luxurious and different. The bed was large and comfortable and I had no complaints about other aspects of the room!

Do note that breakfast is not in this property--it is served about a 3 minute walk down the street at the Black Duck. We didn't have a problem with this but good to know.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed in the harbor room. The room was beautiful, the bathroom- elegant. Very comfortable bed. IMO, the pillows were a bit too soft. Good breakfasts two days in a row. VERY close to all the action, but far enough away that you can really relax.

Room Tip: If you have a car that is your "baby," you may want to choose one of the sister hotels (Bl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

The room was okay, some of the linens were stained. The air conditioner had a loud flapping sound and that was a bit annoying. The bathroom was ectremely narrow and small. The food was good and the afternoon snacks were a nice addition.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed for four nights in the Diamond room at the Blue jewel Guest House this past weekend. It's a nice old Victorian house in a perfect location in Newport-an easy walk to Thames street with its shops and restaurants and a long walk/short drive to the mansions of Bellevue yet it's on a quiet street of other historic inns and private homes. The room itself was medium sized and quite pretty with a comfortable bed and a nice en suite bath with marble floors and a neat half-circle shaped tile shower. The room and bath were clean though towards the end of our stay we did have some trouble with a number of tiny ants that were in both bath and bedroom. We mentioned it to the staff person there and she said they do have exterminators come out to the house on a monthly basis, but apparently they didn't get the problem completely under control. Nothing too bothersome but it was a little off-putting. We also were annoyed that there was no WIFI the first three nights, but I think that was a problem with their internet provider and not really with the Inn. There is a window air conditioner/fan unit which provided a welcome relief as it was very hot while we were there, though it is quite loud. The breakfasts were a short way down the street at the Black Duck Inn (another sister property) and were very nice-a great way to start each day. Overall it was a good experience though there were some minor inconveniences/issues. We would stay again.

Room Tip: The Diamond was very nice. It's at the front of the Inn but as it's a quiet street this wasn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
250 helpful votes 250 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

Like everyone has said, the location is very nice, being just a short walk from restaurants and shops. We checked in at 3 at the Blue Jewel, and were told we got an upgraded room in the Newport Blues Inn. We were on the 2nd floor, with a nice bay window. Room was very plain, nothing special at all. There was only 1 bedside table, with a light so dim it was hard to read. The TV was a small older type, located behind doors in an armoire. There was a decent amount of storage space in the closet and armoire. Bathroom was just ok, with plumbing issues right away. Walls were also very thin, as would be expected from a house this old.

When we went to bed at night, we pulled back the comforter to find a large area of blood stains and what looked like urine. It was so disgusting that we had to take it off the bed, and being a B&B, there was no front desk person to contact that late at night. I did email a picture of the stain to the management and got no response.

We also weren't told at check in about wine and cheese being offered between 5-6. I found this out from another guest.

The breakfast in the morning was really good.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blues966029, Manager at Newport Blues Inn, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Thank you for your review. We would like this opportunity to apologize for the issues you experienced during your recent stay. We constantly strive for the highest standard but in this case we have fallen short. Unfortunately housekeeping over looked your main issue. We are here to make your stay as pleasant as possible. The Innkeeper on duty 24 hours day. She would have been more than happy to come to your room at any hour. We do hope you will give us another chance to make a better impression.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I got a Groupon for a 2 night stay at Black Duck, Blue Jewel Guest House, or the Newport Blues Inn and my boyfriend and I ended up at the Newport Blues which turned out to be a great choice! Location is PERFECT, within walking distance to all the popular areas (except you may need a bike or car to get to the cliff walk & mansions). On street parking was available right in front of the inn; we came in the off season so no restrictions or parking pass needed. My room was huge, clean, comfortable bed, huge bathroom, and it had a mini fridge, which was a nice surprise. Only con I could say about my room was the tv, it looked like a laptop screen was mounted on the wall, it was so tiny lol. The staff was also very friendly and had a nice variety of breakfast items. Having coffee, tea, and cookies available in the lobby was also a nice touch. I would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Newport Blues Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Blues Inn

Address: 96 Pelham Street, Newport, RI 02840
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Newport Blues Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newport Blues Inn, one of Newport RI's finest Inns, offers our guests an experience of classic RI charm with a modern day style and appeal. Located a walking distance from the center of town, the beach, and the Bellevue Mansions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Newport Blues Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Blues Hotel Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newport Blues Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.