We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Time Of Our Lives” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Newport Blues Inn

Save Saved
You added Newport Blues Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Newport Blues Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   96 Pelham Street, Newport, RI 02840   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 101 Newport B&B and Inns
Utah
1 review
“The Time Of Our Lives”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2008

My husband and I had the most wonderful stay at the Newport Blues Inn, located in Newport RI in May of this year 2008.
We have never stayed at a B&B before, but this one was outstanding! The rooms were emmaculate, the staff was utmost professional and very accommodating to us. The breakfast was delicious. It felt just like being at home. Thanks again for a welcoming stay and we'll be making plans to visit again.

  • Liked — warm, friendly accommodations
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    19
    9
    9
    1
See reviews for
10
47
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2008

We recently visited Newport, Rhode Island, & stayed at the Newport Blues Inn. The management & staff were very friendly, the accomodations were great (very comfortable bed), & the breakfast's were delicious & different every day. I would recommend The Newport Blues Inn to anyone who wants to stay at a home away from home.

  • Liked — Friendliness, comfort & good food.
  • Disliked — I can't think of any.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maine
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2008

What a terrible disappointment. I was welcomed by someone on a cell phone who gestured me into my room and mouthed a few things to me while holding the cell phone still to her ear. Breakfast was of very poor quality and the breakfast "galley" opens into a business office where you can see the workers sitting with their feet up and talking about who will go to do the "[--] [--] with the guests" at that nights' wine and cheese reception. Then our dirty dishes were stacked and in the same moment the hands went to take more muffins out of a muffin tin to put out. No class, no graciousness, no charm. For $250 a night I want it to be better than home not worse.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ppeck, General Manager at Newport Blues Inn, responded to this review, June 4, 2008
As General Manager of the Newport Blues Inn, I personally take great pride along with our entire NBI family, in seeing the 149 wonderful reviews by you, our guests, who speak of the amazing times spent together with us here at the Newport Blues Inn. How gratifying it is to hear when we have made such a positive impact on your vacation that you take the time to enter a very complimentary review for us.

However, here I find myself unfortunately responding to our first review that is of the opposite nature. I find myself both very upset over the comments that describe a stay experience unlike any of our other reviews and unlike our Inn and family team entirely, and so I must admit it confuses me as well.

I've always learned though that all feedback is great feedback and I'm so very thankful to have the opportunity to not only know when we have gone above and beyond, but also hear when there is need for improvement as this review has pointed out, and make any changes necessary to ensure that it's never repeated.

Thank you so much for reading and writing reviews as guests of the Newport Blues Inn. Your wonderful comments, (and constructive feedback as well), allow us to always raise the bar in continuing to provide a get-away experience that aims to exceed your vacation expectations!

Lisa, Garry and the entire Newport Blues Inn Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2008

I had booked a room at the Pearls of Newport on Expedia about a month in advance, but upon arrival was told that there was no record of my reservation (even though my credit card had been charged) and that no other rooms were available. Given that it was a long weekend (Memorial Day) I was worried about not finding other accomodations, but thankfully the Newport Blues Inn which is just a few doors up had a vacancy sign. I stopped in to inquire about the rooms and was greeted by Mary, who is very gracious and sweet. We ended up taking the Emerald Suite at the Jewels and loved it. The room is large and beautifully appointed, the bed comfortable, and the bathroom luxurious. Everyone we encountered at the Newport Blues was very friendly and helpful. I asked Gary for recommendations on activities, etc. at breakfast and he was amazing. Overall we had a great time and would definitely return to the property on our next visit.

  • Liked — Customer service, beautiful room, great location
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
294 reviews 294 reviews
224 hotel reviews
Reviews in 197 cities Reviews in 197 cities
303 helpful votes 303 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2008

It was a cold dreary day when we arrived in Newport. I was expecting a twee new England B&B with fake friendliness. I was wrong. Because they were empty they immediately upgraded us to a suite. Brilliant. The bedroom was lovely - no Victoriana in sight. You did need a ladder to get to the bed! The bathroom was first class with wonderful condiments.
Breakfasts were superb. The housekeeper cooked brilliant scrambled eggs and omelets. There was really good fresh fruit salad (wow, it was fresh!) and lovely corn bread. A real winner - just a shame about the weather

  • Liked — Breakfast!!!!
  • Disliked — A long way to good restaurants
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2008

stayed at the newport blues for my family reunion in august. and I have to admitt that I am not a big fan of B&B'S, but the Newport Blues B&B has changed my mind. what a wonderful place, great host's and we could walk anywhere we needed to go. less than 2 blocks from the downtown area. I would tell anyone that this is the place to stay while in Newport.

  • Liked — feeling of being at home
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2008

Loved the Inn! We've stayed in several places in Newport but rank this the best! Lovely room, linens, soaps, etc.

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Newport Blues Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Blues Inn

Address: 96 Pelham Street, Newport, RI 02840
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 101 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Newport Blues Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newport Blues Inn, one of Newport RI's finest Inns, offers our guests an experience of classic RI charm with a modern day style and appeal. Located a walking distance from the center of town, the beach, and the Bellevue Mansions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo and Expedia so you can book your Newport Blues Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Blues Hotel Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newport Blues Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.