We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bird Song Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bird Song Cottage
Save
You added Bird Song Cottage to your Saves list
10 Ellery Road, Newport, RI 02840   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 100 Newport B&B and Inns
Newton, MA
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Comfy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

June is a great hostess. She knows so much about Newport,and her B&b is really special. We stayed in the third floor and loved the privacy. It is a traditional New England home so the third floor has sloped ceilings,but it didn't bother us. The shower is a bit tight and you need to bring your own shampoo. I liked staying away from the water and downtown because it was loud down there. The breakfast is simple and delicious and healthy.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

We were celebrating our 5th anniversary and it was a our 2nd stay at BirdSong Cottage. Our stay was fr May 31st t-June 2nd. Price was right and in a quieter area of Newport. Very clean and quaint home with light and tasty breakfast. June, the inn keeper was great, givings us tips and restaurant suggestions and really took care of us. We actually had the whole place to ourselves. We stayed on the 3rd flr which is more private, simple no frills furnishings. 1 queen bed with two small bathrooms, one w/ a shower and sink. The other w/sink and toilet. Also we had a living room area with TV and french doors which led into the bedroom. Also note 3rd flr has sloped ceiling for those who are 6ft or taller. 2nd flr has two bedrooms which share 1 bathroom and a sitting room furnished. The 2nd floor had more of an antique feel to it.

Location was GREAT- 5 minute drive to Easton Beach-we happen to go there after 4pm and missed the $20 parking fee. June even loaned us her beach chairs. 15min walk to Thames st. and all the shops and restaurants. Would not suggest walking from home at night since the nearby streets are not well lit. We definitely will be returning!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forfar, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights during the memorial holiday weekend and had a great time. The accommodation is very sweet and well kept. The host, June, was very welcoming, attentive and good at recommending places to visit. Breakfast was a great selection of cereal, fruit, breads and yogurts, which we couldn't fault. The cottage wasn't too close to the main harbour area, a good 20 minute walk, so it is located in nice quiet surroundings. We would most definitely stay again if we ever return to Newport.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Ariel, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed last year. We were in town for a wedding. The inn keeper is just terrific and very accommodating. We felt as if we had our own private home. Nice location away from the touristy crowed areas but close to the mansions and beach.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Station, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for a week. It is absolutely perfect--stylishly decorated with antiques, quiet, clean and in a beautiful residential neighborhood walkable to downtown Newport. There is an outdoor garden for sitting and relaxing. There are two floors only, so its very private and homey. what we liked about it is that it is small. The continental breakfast was just enough for us--fresh fruit, breads, hardboiled eggs, yogurt and the coffee is great! Our hostess was very accommodating. Perfect small B&B..

Room Tip: Both the second floor rooms and the third floor rooms are lovely, better than the photos show.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2008

Birdsong Cottage is a lovely little inn that is very well located - a close walk to Cliff Walk and Bellevue Avenue (Tennis Hall of Fame). Also not too far from the bustle of downtown.

The cottage is very homey, with a lush and enchanting garden surrounding it.

We stayed in the Cottage Suite, a light and airy room on the top floor. The shower was large, and there were two sinks in different bathrooms - very convenient for getting ready in the morning!

June was very nice and very helpful in getting us there. Our only complaint was that the breakfast was just average, but other than that, this was a very comfy and enjoyable stay!

  • Liked — Charm
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bird Song Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bird Song Cottage

Address: 10 Ellery Road, Newport, RI 02840
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bird Song Cottage is a newly restored 1920's house with an award-winning garden. Nicely appointed with period furnishings that are comfortably elegant. Centrally located in one of Newport's nicest residential neighborhoods,it is a short walk to Newport Beach, the Cliff Walk and the busy downtown waterfront.Rooms offer queen beds,private baths, cable television, and have air conditioning.A large continental breakfast is complimentary. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bird Song Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.