We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Long Weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thames House Guest House

Thames House Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Thames House Guest House
15 Thames Street, Newport, RI 02840   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 101 Newport B&B and Inns
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The Perfect Long Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed in the Blue Suite room for a long weekend in August that coincided with the Newport Beer and Wine Festival. After renting from a different property for the last few years, we decided to try a new place, and are so glad we did.

The Blue Suite provided plenty of room for the two of us as well as a private bath. At breakfast, we were treated to a wide selection of fresh fruit as well as delicious homemade muffins and coffee cakes.

Patricia and Gary were the ultimate hosts and catered to our every need - from letting us borrow their mountain bikes, to offering up their DVD collection, to recommending hot spots that were off the beaten path. They made us feel so welcomed that it was difficult to leave after the perfect long weekend. We're already looking forward to next year and spending some more time at 15 Thames with Patricia, Gary, Kelly and Onyx!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    3
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
25
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

Thames house guest house, was very quaint and well located in the old part of Newport & 5 minute walk to the pier area. Our hosts were wonderful and respected our privacy and intimacy but were always available when we needed their suggestions. A great place to discover Newport from !

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainview, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

This guest house is an extremely warm and friendly environment. The owners of the house greet you whenever you come in and treat you like family. I really felt like I was staying with friends or family rather than a guest house. The home was very clean, the breakfast was nice, they had a nice variety of food and the bed was so comfortable! The location of the house is very convenient, it is in walking distance to town and the house has a driveway so you don't have to park on the street. I definitely recommend this guest house for your stay while in Newport!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

My Fiance and I, along with another couple stayed in the downstairs apartment off of the patio area of the Thames House. The proprietors Gary and Pat go out of their way to make your experience very comfortable and enjoyable. There are fresh berries and fruit as well as homemade muffins etc. available with the free continental breakfast. We will not stay anywhere else in Newport and we will recommend this place to all of our friends and family that are planning a visit!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

My boyfriend and I went to a wedding in Newport, and stayed at the Thames Guest House. The hotels were super expensive, and we've heard great things about this B&B, so decided to try it out. It was perfect for us--Gary and Patty (owners of the house) were amazing. The rooms were so comfortable, very clean and decorated in a New England theme. They were so gracious by driving us to and from the wedding location, recommending nearby restaurants and stores to check out (which were superb), and even gave us some background information on many of the major attractions in Newport. From now on, I'm only staying here!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Needham, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

You can't beat the location, on a quiet end of Thames and still only a few minutes walk into town . I loved the Garden apartment - it was perfect for 4 of us. The bathroom was clean, the living room comfy, bedroom on the back side of the house quiet and appealing. . I saw some of the other rooms and will say they are all beautiful!. Gary and Pat are wonderful, really made sure everything worked well for us, which it did. They put out a nice continental breakfast, with tons of fresh fruits, freshed baked goods and tons of other choices. With a range of kids aged 10 - 21, everyone was really happy - a rare accomplishment! Thank you Gary & Pat!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

For so many years we wasted money on hotels in and around Newport. The hotels were often crowded and noisy and expensive.

We decided to try a B & B. We contacted Thames House Guest House. Gary and Pat responded right away. They answered all of my questions so we booked.

This B&B exceeded our expectations. The price was reasonable. The room was fantastic. It is a short walk to downtown Newport so we didn't have to worry about parking. Gary and Pat are some of the warmest and nicest people we've ever met. Everything was clean and well designed. Breakfast was scrumptious too. We recommend this place to friends and family and are happy to recommend it to people on TripAdvisor.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Thames House Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thames House Guest House

Address: 15 Thames Street, Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 101 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A George Mason White designed circa 1863 Italianate Victorian. Located on Historic Thames Street two blocks from downtown shopping, restaurants and waterfront. All rooms have king beds and A/C, T/V private baths, sofa/sleepers. Apt has full kitchen and Queen bed, sofa/sleeper. Patio, free off-street parking, continental breakfast. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thames House Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Thames House Guest House to your Saves list