We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite boutique hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Vanderbilt Grace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Vanderbilt Grace to your Saves list
The Vanderbilt Grace
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   41 Mary Street, Newport, RI 02840 (Formerly Vanderbilt Hall Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Newport
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Exquisite boutique hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

This small hotel was a pleasant surprise. It is even nicer than depicted on the website. Mr. DeSavary was on the property during our stay and made us feel quite welcome. The location is great as it is a short walk to downtown newport. The rooms are spacious (with wonderful high ceilings) and extremely clean. I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for an alternative to the larger, impersonal hotels in newport.

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    57
    22
    7
    5
See reviews for
84
267
15
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

We stayed at Vanderbilt Hall after seeing an ad in the 'Exclusive Property' magazine in the departure hall of Heathrow airport. right before we flew. It looked great on paper and lived up to all expectations. De Savary was there whilst we stayed and also made us feel very welcome. Stayed at another de Savary resort (The Carey Arms in the UK) earlier this summer and loved it.
There is a stylish European feel to the hotel and the staff are incredibly friendly and polite. Cocktails on the roof terrace ... stylish and romantic; thoroughly recommend it!
All in all a very enjoyable stay and i fully intend to come back next summer for a bit longer.
.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

Tried to book rooms with the most inefficient reservation agent I have ever had to deal with. Could not get the dates, credit card, address...correct. The GM could have cared less or helped in recitifying the situation - Then it turned out they would not honor the reservations they just made because of some foul up by the res agent. realized unfortunately that their grandness has effected the hotels attitude, that is when you know they have lost their humbleness & ability to provide true guest service! What a shame.

Stayed August 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VandMgr41, Owner at The Vanderbilt Grace, responded to this review, August 12, 2010
Dear Sir:

I regret the confusion over your reservation. We were happy that we could offer you a reduced rate for the Thursday night that you booked. The reduced rate offer was only available Sunday through Thursday. You requested that the same rate be applicable on a Friday and Saturday in a suite. As you would expect, we do not offer reductions on the weekends, particularly during high season. We are sorry that you were offended at the suggestion you should pay the normal weekend tariff. It is a matter of great concern to us that anyone be upset at dealings with Vanderbilt Hall and we do regret this in your case. I offered an apology to you over the phone and also sent a written apology to you at the email address you provided. That apology included complimentary spa treatments for you and your wife on your next visit here. It is unfortunate to see this posting about Vanderbilt Hall which is not reflective of our very friendly behavior to everyone.

I must say we find your posting to be unfair. Travel forum reviews can be a wonderfully informative source of information for the benefit of a guest and the property. Sadly the threat of a negative review can also be used for negotiating purposes which is not the intent of the travel forum.

You can be assured of a very warm and friendly welcome to Vanderbilt Hall should you decide to book with us in the future at whatever the prevailing tariffs are on the dates that you request.

On behalf of the Vanderbilt Hall owner and its mangement, we deeply regret your posting on Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

Vanderbilt Hall is a gem in the middle of Newport. I've travelled often to Newport but this was the first time I've stayed at Vanderbilt Hall. Actually it was the first I had even heard of Vanderbilt Hall! I usually stay at the Viking. There are a ton of charming B&Bs in Newport of course but we prefer bigger properties. VH's location is perfect, right in the middle of town and just off Thames Street, within walking distance to so many great restaurants and shops. A five minute drive to Cliff Walk/Bellevue Avenue. It is newly refurbished hotel but retains all the charm of its 19th century origins; the decor of the common areas is fantastic and chic. Because it is in the middle of town (just where we prefer to be!) the grounds are not extensive but they are perfect and breathtaking; an utterly charming garden with lush hydrangea, a gorgeous outdoor seating area and a small but lovely pool. A sunset cocktail on the roof deck is a must: one of the most magnificent views of Newport I've seen! I loved our room, a suite with a kitchenette; it had a luxurious bathroom and we had a fantastic night sleep! Service was impeccable, friendly and professional; they really went the extra mile on several requests. There is an intimate feeling to the hotel (30 something rooms I think) without having the oppressive feel of a B&B. We totally loved it. Now that we know about it, it will be our go-to spot....it's obviously really expensive but so is Newport in general (especially in the summer). If we can, though, I will stay here on every future visit to Newport. In my opinion, it was totally worth the cost. Do note though that this is an in-town property it doesn't really have a resort or beachy vibe - if that's what you are going for, try the Castle Inn. That being said, I think Vanderbilt Hall's location is perfection. Highly, highly recommended. A treat to stay here.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Vanderbilt Hall for three lovely days in mid-July. We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone who wants quiet luxury, a friendly professional service and a simply beautiful environment to relax in. Whoever decorated the hotel knows exactly what they're doing - not only is it full of beautiful pieces of antique furniture and art but it also just feels right comfortable and opulent but not pompous or grandiose. Our room was not one of the more expensive ones but it was beautifully decorated. The bathroom was lush - acres of room, a lovely shower and aveda products. A wonderful touch is the little guide to Newport which is published by the hotel. All visitors get a complimentary copy and we made good use of ours. The people working at the hotel are really nice. Kara the Club Secretary whom we met at breakfast on our first morning gave us some really good tips on what to do in Newport. She recommended a concert at the Breakers which we attended and really enjoyed - thank you Kara. I had a 90 minute manicure and pedicure in the spa with Jomel who was delightful - really friendly and fun to chat with. The receptionist who arranged our reservation over the phone and whom we met during our visit, Tara, was also wonderful - lovely combination of warmth and professionalism - couldn't ask for a nicer welcome. The breakfast at Monty's bar was very nice - a good variety of mostly English-style breakfast dishes. The plunge pool in the garden surrounded by loungers was a lovely quiet place to relax and soak up the sun, and there was a really good indoor exercise pool in the spa.

There were a couple of little negatives which hardly mattered and certainly will not put me off staying at the Vanderbilt again but which I think it's probably useful to mention as without them our stay would have been perfect, and perfection is what the Vanderbilt seems to be aiming for. First up, my bedside reading light did not work, which put me out a bit as I had to keep the main light on to read and get out of bed to switch it off before sleeping. I told them about the problem straight away on the first evening we were there, but three days later the light was still unusable. The main light also went on the last evening, but that was just before we left so it didn't matter. Secondly the air conditioner in our room blasted out an absolute gale of cold air. We could control the temperature off a digital display on the wall, but not the strength of the fan. The unit was right next to my side of the bed so I didn't sleep as well as I could have done, both because I was in a draught and because it was quite noisy. I eventually hunted around and found a wooden panel on the unit cover under which there were some dials which allowed me to turn the fan strength down to low - it was fine after that - but maybe it should be left on low when it's so close to the bed.

But all in all, double thumbs up - we had a really nice few days of luxury and we'll certainly go back if we're ever in that part of the world again. We're thinking of trying The Cary Arms in Devon, England, at some point which is run by the same people.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

Our stay at the Vanderbilt was more enjoyable than we ever expected, not knowing anything about the hotel before we came. The hotel is impeccable! The rooms are spacious and clean and the bathrooms are fantastic. From the second we got out of our car, to the time we left, the staff couldn't be any nicer and more helpful, to make your stay enjoyable. There is a rooftop lounge that has the most amazing views of Newport and is just a pleasure to sit and relax up there. The spa is beautiful and the massage I got and the facial my wife had, were top notch. To say the least, I been coming to Newport for over 20 years and I never expected to find a place like this and so close to town.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2010

We just returned from two nights at the Vanderbilt and loved it there. The hotel is beautiful like described in all the prior reviews and the staff is excellent. We brought along our 19 month old son and had no problems with him. The staff brought us a crib and got it all set up for us. The room was huge and had a nice separate sitting area which was perfect for him to sleep in. We were able to enjoy the new outdoor pool and had it all to ourselves. We had breakfast outside one morning and the food was very tasty. We also met the owner who seemed like a wonderful man and a gracious host. Now my only complaint would be the room service. I'm still not sure if it's offered at the hotel? It is listed on the website and in some paperwork we had seen but when I inquired twice I was told that it is not offered. We would have loved to ordered in. Other than that no problems and we will be back again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Vanderbilt Grace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vanderbilt Grace

Address: 41 Mary Street, Newport, RI 02840 (Formerly Vanderbilt Hall Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Newport
#2 Business Hotel in Newport
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#2 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#2 Family Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Vanderbilt Grace 4.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vanderbilt Grace is a quintessential Newport mansion with 33 guest rooms and suites, full service spa with indoor and outdoor swimming pools, fitness center, roof terrace with amazing views of Newport Harbor and two restaurants. Muse by Jonathan Cartwright, our newly renovated simply elegant restaurant as well as The Conservatory, our more casual a la carte restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Escapio, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Vanderbilt Grace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vanderbilt Grace Hotel Newport
Vanderbilt Hall Newport
Hotel Vanderbilt Hall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Vanderbilt Grace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.