We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful January Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Vanderbilt Grace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Vanderbilt Grace to your Saves list
The Vanderbilt Grace
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   41 Mary Street, Newport, RI 02840 (Formerly Vanderbilt Hall Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Newport
Wallingford, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful January Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My fiancee and I stayed at the Vanderbilt Grace during our visit to Newport in the beginning of January. When we arrived, we were promptly greeted with excellent customer service by Konstantinos. Before we sat down to check in, another employee took our bags to our room, and we were each offered a glass of champagne. Konstantinos answered all of our questions and recommended a few places to visit, which was extremely helpful considering how quiet the town is during the winter months. After checking in, we were walked to our room by the same employee who took our bags. To our surprise, we were graciously upgraded to a master suite on the second floor!

Although any room in the Vanderbilt Grace is probably beautiful, the rooms on the second floor that are part of the original mansion are stunning. The ceilings are very high, the bed was extremely comfortable, there are two bathrooms, and the general living space is very well decorated and furnished. Most importantly, everything was spotlessly clean and the amenities were well chosen and comforting.

Also, the location of the hotel is perfect. While it is not on Thames Street, it is right off of it and is in a quiet area. Thus, you get the best of both worlds, being close enough to where everything is, but far enough to feel secluded from the busyness of the day. Breakfast is offered in The Conservatory for a fee, but we did not eat there. Instead, we walked to Starbucks each morning, which, when leaving from the back of the hotel, is no more than one minute away. A plethora of lunch and dinner places on Thames and Broadway are also within walking distance.

Because of its reviews, we also made sure to make reservations at MUSE by Jonathan Cartwright. Emulating the customer service that we received during check in on the first day, Alex, the head waiter, greeted us by first name from the moment that we arrived to the moment that we left. First, when we arrived, we were given the choice of where we would like to sit. Once seated, we were offered the dinner menu as well as the wine list. Alex was very knowledgeable about each plate and wine that we asked about. From the gin poached shrimp to the stuffed french toast souffle, everything was delicious.

When we returned each evening, we were welcomed by a turn downed room and a note from staff that describes the weather for the next day and a list of events happening in town.

The Vanderbilt Grace is a wonderful establishment that played a large role in making our stay in Newport relaxing, fun, and comfortable. Though it looks a bit pricey during the peak season, it is well worth it. We look forward to staying at other Grace hotels and hope to return to the Vanderbilt sometime in the future.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    57
    22
    7
    5
See reviews for
84
274
15
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Princeville, Hawaii
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Spent a wonderful weekend celebrating our anniversary. The room, staff and ambiance were excellent! The hotel is located right in the middle of town which allowed us the flexibility to walk to most spots. We did use our car to visit some of the mansions but feel that if we were here in warmer months, we could have easily walked to most. Looking forward to returning to this lovely town again and spending another visit at The Vanderbilt Grace!!

Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My wife and I stayed in October while it was still fairly warm out, and we couldn't have had a better time. The hotel is in walking distance of most of the great restaurants and mansions in Newport. The staff was extremely accommodating, and the hotel itself is very peaceful. The spa was top notch, and the restaurant in the hotel was fantastic. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: The two level suites were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed here for a few nights between Christmas and New Years. I booked this hotel after researching hotels in the area on TA. Where to start? Check in was a breeze, hotel staff was absolutely great. They upgraded us to the captains loft suite, it was clean, spacious, and comfortable. The location was incredible. A very short walk to Thames street and you're in the heart of it all. We look forward to our next visit hopefully in the near future. Special thanks to some standout staff members: Heather, Joe and Pete always helpful and smiling. I def recommend this hotel when staying in Newport.

Room Tip: Captains loft was great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It's not often that you walk into your hotel room and are surprised at how
lovely it is. The suites at the Vanderbilt Grace certainly do that. We had a
ton of space and great facilities, from the Kuerig coffee maker to the comfy bed
(shame that there was no bath - surprising for a room of that size). You can
wander round at your leisure and even have a game of pool. It must be great in
the summer with the outside swimming pool. All in all, a great place to relax
and enjoy the sights of Newport.
PS And when the valet brought the car round for us to leave, we found two small
bottles of water - lovely touch that says a lot about their attention to service
and quality.

Room Tip: There are some rooms relatively close to the reception area on the ground floor, so make sure where...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithtown, New York, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Amazing hotel in beautiful Newport Rhode Island. Gorgeous rooms. Amazing service. Right in the middle of Newport. Many original features in the hotel from the Vanderbilt days. Got upgraded to junior suite. Big rooms. Very comfortable. Wonderful weekend. Would most definitely come back.

Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed for one night only and it felt like a real vacation. Hotel is both classic and modern - this was a Vanderbilt house and different from the other historical hotels in the city, rooms have been updated to feel more current. Rooms are very big and comfortable with high ceilings - go for the junior suite (we stayed in room 205 which I highly recommend). Staff is friendly/professional and made us feel very welcome - service is a focus for this team. If you have one day only to spend in Newport: Start out walking around ocean avenue and cliff walk; then check in to the hotel; relax in the indoor heated pool and the dry sauna in the afternoon. Have dinner at the hotel's restaurant; go to bed early and don't forget to try the in room aromatherapy - helps you have a perfect night of sleep; end your stay with breakfast in the greenhouse-like Conservatory restaurant under the sun. Newport is worth visiting even in the winter and you don't have to deal with all the tourists that the city gets in the summer. The Vanderbilt Grace is the perfect home base while in Newport - can't wait to be back and stay longer next time!

Room Tip: go for the junior suites - we stayed in room 205.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Vanderbilt Grace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vanderbilt Grace

Address: 41 Mary Street, Newport, RI 02840 (Formerly Vanderbilt Hall Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Newport
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#2 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#2 Family Hotel in Newport
#2 Business Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Vanderbilt Grace 4.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vanderbilt Grace is a quintessential Newport mansion with 33 guest rooms and suites, full service spa with indoor and outdoor swimming pools, fitness center, roof terrace with amazing views of Newport Harbor and two restaurants. Muse by Jonathan Cartwright, our newly renovated simply elegant restaurant as well as The Conservatory, our more casual a la carte restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Escapio, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Vanderbilt Grace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vanderbilt Grace Hotel Newport
Vanderbilt Hall Newport
Hotel Vanderbilt Hall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Vanderbilt Grace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.