We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury treatment and amenities” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Vanderbilt Grace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Vanderbilt Grace to your Saves list
The Vanderbilt Grace
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   41 Mary Street, Newport, RI 02840 (Formerly Vanderbilt Hall Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Newport
Gardner, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Luxury treatment and amenities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Wow! Of our many trips to Newport, we were blown away by the superior staff who were ready to meet any need at any time. The charm of the hotel was expressed everywhere with the decor. Excellent location, stunning view from the roof top deck both day and night. Walking distance from everything be it downtown, Belleview Ave, or the Cliff Walk. Try Second Beach for body surfing and swimming. Luxury, pricey, but worth it to spoil oneself!

Room Tip: Third floor, facing the harbor gives the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    57
    21
    7
    5
See reviews for
82
258
15
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely stay at the Vanderbilt Grace. Our suite was large, the amenities lovely, the service excellent. However, our second floor room overlooked a parking lot, the windows,if there had been a view, were dirty, one of the 2 TVs didn't work, dogs yapped in an adjacent room, cigar smoking made the roof deck unpleasant, but worst of all, a foghorn went off outside all night several times a minute. So, I recommend adding earplugs to the room amenities. All in all, I would recommend the hotel because the service was friendly and helpful and the location is excellent. If I were coming back to Newport I would, however, want to check other properties to see if I could get a better value.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarinaGrace, Manager at The Vanderbilt Grace, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear ChipperBunny
We are glad you were able to enjoy all The Vanderbilt Grace has to offer and we thank you for the many compliments to our staff for their service and friendly demeanor. We are a pet friendly hotel and we do try to make all of our guests equally comfortable. On the occasion that a visiting dog is a disturbance, we try to address the situation immediately as I believe we did that weekend. During foggy weather in New England, the horns will sound to ships entering the harbor for safe travels. We are close to the harbor, but some rooms have a view towards the town so should you return to The Vanderbilt Grace (which we hope you do), please let me know personally so that we can try to offer you a room on a higher floor for a better view of Narragansett Bay.
Thank you again for all your comments which we have immediately taken on board to help us improve.
Kind regards,
Allison Schumann
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I were in Newport for a wedding and really needed an opportunity to recharge and relax. The hotel is beautiful in many ways and we found the service to be impeccable. Our room however was a real disappointment (Rm 304). We paid for a Junior Suite but the layout did not lend itself to a traditional suite. The ceilings had a slant to them and we both hit our heads when moving about. The worst part was that the carpets were badly stained and in desperate need of replacement. There was also a terrible odor coming from the carpets on the Main floor as we exited the elevator. I did complain upon check in but little could be done at that point. I agree with others about the roof top deck and my husband took a Saturday morning yoga class which he enjoyed very much.

Room Tip: Don't pick 304
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarinaGrace, Manager at The Vanderbilt Grace, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Claudia2969
Thank you for the many compliments in your review. Our staff aims to offer impeccable service and attention and it is always so wonderful to hear from our guests that we have delivered that experience.
We are glad you were able to enjoy the roof top during your visit and relax with Yoga on Saturday morning.
We do regret that your room was less enjoyable than you hoped. While our architecture is charming and historic, its early century architecture does lend itself to a few smaller spaces. It was unfortunate that we did not have an available room to move you during our busy holiday weekend.
With regards to the cleanliness of your carpets, this has been addressed and the carpet has now been deep cleaned.
I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back to The Vanderbilt Grace in the future and that you might reach out to me personally when making your reservation as I would like the opportunity to help you with a room which exceeds your expectations.

Kind regards,
Allison Schuamnn
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Be very careful reading the fine print regarding cancellation policy. Following our cancellation, we had to pay 100% of stay, not just the first night, but the entire cost. When I tried to reinstate reservation or ask for credit, the management declined. This suggests the rooms were booked and that the hotel didn't lose money because of us. Why they wouldn't give us a credit is indicative of poor public relations and an example of bad management.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarinaGrace, Manager at The Vanderbilt Grace, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear LTB2013,
We are sorry to read your comments regarding the reservation process at the Vanderbilt Grace. We make every effort to clearly state the cancellation policy both on our website and in the reservation confirmation, especially due to the high demand for our accommodation during this season. Many other hotels exercise a similar policy. Nevertheless, we will review the way that our team members explain the policy to our guests and therefore try to ensure this disappointment does not happen again.
Kind regards,
Allison Schumann
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The staff at vanderbilt grace are delightful. From daily notes about the weather to answering any and all questions about attractions and restaurants, they didn't miss a beat. The loft suites are huge and luxurious and the shower is just amazing.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has great potential in terms of its physical plant and location. However it is obvious there is no coordination via management. Things are unorganized at best. Especially for a hotel charging in the $1000 a night range for a suite.

-waited 30 mins for service at lunch restaurant, eventually walked away.

-wake up call sent to the wrong room.

-wrong car brought by valet (that is when valet was even present).

-guest services over the phone can hardly understand requests (maybe a second language issue).

-over 45 mins for a cappuccino sent the room.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarinaGrace, Manager at The Vanderbilt Grace, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear LucasA86

Whilst we are delighted to hear that you appreciated the hotel with its facilities and its surroundings, it is of course extremely disappointing to read that we have not performed to our usual high standards.
We are grateful for your feedback and will take this opportunity to review every element which was not delivered. I can only apologize for the mishap caused with the car and the wake-up call, due to a simple misunderstanding between us and different members your group.
We do hope this will not prevent you from considering the Grace Vanderbilt again in the future and I would kindly ask you to contact me personally as you can be assured that we will go the extra mile to restore your confidence in us.
Kind regards,
Allison Schumann
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

There are a lot of pluses to this hotel. The location is amazing, the rooms are incredible and the common spaces beautifully decorated, very clean and also cozy because its small. The rooftop deck has a great bar and the best spot to watch the sunset. The hotel has the old colonial feel but the rooms are modern and luxurious with huge ceilings, all the amenities and the best shower, you wouldn't want to get out. The breakfast in the glass conservatory was delicious and relaxing with the view of the garden. We took a swim in the indoor pool and it was invigorating. The staff is also very nice and another plus for us- they are doggie friendly :-) also need to mention there are very nice touches- there is aromatherapy in the room and its amazing - lemongrass, eucalyptus and geranium wih electric burner plus there are lavender sashes, dean and deluca stuffed mini bar and of course the huge comfy bed. We would love to return :-)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Vanderbilt Grace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vanderbilt Grace

Address: 41 Mary Street, Newport, RI 02840 (Formerly Vanderbilt Hall Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#1 Spa Hotel in Newport
#2 Family Hotel in Newport
#3 Business Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Vanderbilt Grace 4.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vanderbilt Grace is a quintessential Newport mansion with 33 guest rooms and suites, full service spa with indoor and outdoor swimming pools, fitness center, roof terrace with amazing views of Newport Harbor and two restaurants. Muse by Jonathan Cartwright, our newly renovated fine dining restaurant as well as The Conservatory, our more casual a la carte restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. All room rates include champagne breakfast served in The Conservatory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Vanderbilt Grace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vanderbilt Grace Hotel Newport
Vanderbilt Hall Newport
Hotel Vanderbilt Hall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Vanderbilt Grace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.